$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
355 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Proudly celebrating its 110th anniversary in March 2014, The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York; three blocks south of the Empire State Building on 31st Street between 5th Ave. & Broadway. Walkable to many attractions including the United Nations, Macy's, Chelsea, Circle Line Boat Cruise, Flatiron, Meatpacking and Highline neighborhoods, Broadway theater district, Times Square and all public transportation. The Wolcott has been offering clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices since 1904. In fact the lobby and many of the guest rooms still retain their original architectural detailing. The Hotel has been written about in many domestic and international guides.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (355)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 355
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Traveled
Business
Savannah Georgia
Aug 5, 2011

Well Traveled here!

The hallways stunk literally. The ac in the room was old,, and I came down with allergys that ended me up almost in ER before leaving. I would sneeze when in the room,, and eventually came down with closed ears,, and very swollen throat. Water puddled in the tub shower window. Otherwise the bed was very comfy. I have stayed in many other hotels for same price with much better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for buyers in the wholesale area of accessories. Not much restaurant choice in the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bizz Traveller
Business
Sweden
Dec 8, 2012

5.12.2012

Worn down hotel in small side road of 6thAve. Has certainly seen better times - maybe 70 years ago. Room micro small. Bath room at least warm water but sink was made for dwarfs. Heater in the room was a one hot iron piece from 1930's that started to make music with 10 knocks every 1 hour. Good night sleep guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy in NYC
Business
Denver
Dec 10, 2012

Needs a freshining up

We reserved a non-smoking room, however, upon checkin were told that "non-smoking" was merely a REQUEST and not a given. We were placed in a smoking room and the lingering stale tobacco got to be just too much. We were then placed in another smoking room (they didn't have any non-smoking rooms available) which didn't smell as bad. Unfortunately at 6 am we smelled aweful, ethnic food odors wafting up the central air shaft and permeating our room. I went down to the front desk and was informed that not only were about half the floors in the hotel dedicated to smokers, but they also had permanent residents and it was likely one of them cooking. They did eventually change our room to a non-smoking room, facing 31st. Despite the significant street noise (we slept with the TV on) and the difficulty regulating the temperature in the room, we were so elated to have a room which was palatable. I would be hard pressed to stay there again tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jackndc
Business
washington, DC
Jun 25, 2010

dated but they block some cable news

I called this hotel to see if they carried FoxNews and they said they did so I made a reservation. When i checked in, they had blocked all but the local Fox broadcast station and when i asked about it, they said their management didn't want to carry non-liberal news so they blocked Foxnews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc travel
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 22, 2010

forgetable

Room was tiny with no desk and a barely functional bathroom. Tub dripped all night, the fitness center was even more of a drip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
May 8, 2009

Smelly, delapadated overpriced.

Too smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World Travel Bug
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2013

Budget-friendly but missing key perks

Staff were nice and liked they offer coffee and muffins each morning. You cannot beat this location - it is perfect and allows you to walk everywhere. My disappointments were that the room was out of date and felt musty and old, there were crumbs in one corner of the room. Also didn't like that wifi is an extra charge when so many hotels in the same neighborhood offer for free. Surprised that upon checkout they don't keep your bags free of charge but instead you have to pay for a locker - first time I've ever seen this in any hotel. My room also faced inside so no nice view or natural light. Won't go back because I like my perks and for the same price I can get a much cleaner room with a nice city view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stampede
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Last resort

I'm a business traveller. stayed here to save money during the busy holiday rush when the typical room was 2X what I typically pay. Room was tiny, but clean. bathroom was almost too small to stand in, and I'm not a big guy. I was on the top floor, but the street sounds make it seem like I was on the 2nd floor. location is OK. near the subway but not walkable to mid-town offices. walkable to penn station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 29, 2010

In a pinch when you're pinching

When my first hotel didn't meet my expectations and I needed to move, I found this hotel. It was classic in its period style, the only complaint I had was that there was an odor in the hallways. Smelled like someone was cooking a bad meal.. The location and cost couldn't compare to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search