$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine College Mom
Business
Brewer, Maine
May 25, 2013

Close to Herald Square

Room was very spacious for the city -- and clean. My biggest complaint would be that smoking is allowed and the hallways were unbearable at times. Also, don't count on the concierge for accurate information...we knew more than she did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colin Caster
Business
Michigan
Jun 23, 2013

Good value, excellent location

Previous reviews here capture this hotel very well. Great location, close enough to Penn Station to walk if coming in by train with a roller bag, and nearby subway stops to go up and downtown. 15 minute walk to Times Square. Lots of European guests, which is fun, and friendly, helpful staff. Free muffins and coffee in the morning. Rooms are old but have character. By NYC standards a bargain. Downsides: no restaurant, so you need to hunt out some favorites. We also had smoky neighbors, so our room was also occasionally stinky despite ours being a nonsmoking room. We did not have trouble with the wireless internet that some here have mentioned. Hated to pay for it, of course, but we were able to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Martinique, a block up on Broadway, was our favorite stop for lunch or dinner.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rule23
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jul 10, 2013

Good night's rest

Comfortable beds though TV was situated on side of bed instead of at the foot of the bed. Air conditioning has to be turned on and off manually, but functions well. Bathroom is spacious and clean. Location is close to many fantastic tourist attractions. Free coffee and muffins are a plus in the morning. The friendly concierge services in the lobby were able to answer all of my New York attraction questions. I was able to buy Lion King Broadway tickets and Empire State Building Observation Deck tickets directly from the concierge. The pay-to-use computer and printer in the lobby made it a cinch to print my airline boarding pass for my return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are third party companies outside the Empire State Building Observation Deck entrance advertising a way to pay to bypass long waits in the normal first come first served line. You can visit the Empire State Building early in the morning and avoid long lines without needing to pay more money.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gizzy
Business
london uk
Jul 10, 2013

not as good as they think they are

This is an average hotel, nothing more, I was unable to get a hot drink at any time other than at breakfast . I was told I could ask at the desk for tea at anytime, when I did ask I was told it was not something they can usually do...but they did give me a paper cup of hot water, a teabag but there was no milk! The reception staff gave incorrect information about buying phonecards, if they don't know its better to say they don't know! When I asked for a taxi to be called I was told I could walk as it wasn't far...in fact it was several miles! Not a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Edmonds
Business
North Yorkshire
Sep 21, 2013

Fabulous position

The location is excellent, within walking distance of most of the tourist spots and only one block from Empire State Building, so if you are in a room at the front of your hotel thats the view you get. Room was spacious by New York standards the only recommendation I would make to hotel is to have a choice of drinks at breakfast and also offer other snacks as a muffin is not to everyones taste. The staff were really helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Book a meal at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square, the food is average but you are 48 floors up and the restaurant revolves so you get spectacular views especially at sunset, pricey but nice.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BOUDICA
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 4, 2013

New York Trip

The front desk gentleman was less than friendly when we checked in and became surly with my husband from start to finish - we did not need this after a 5 hour flight. This is our 6th time staying at the hotel and have always had a good experience, but a few times it's been dicey with front desk personnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to everything which is the reason why we keep returning to this hotel.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Osprey
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Oct 13, 2013

Extraordinary Breakfast

I enjoyed their signature muffins and coffee on the continental (complimentary) menu. Location was great also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JR Explorer
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 18, 2013

Nice room good value.

One bedroom and one living room each quite small but together decent size. Old style bathroom and old bulky TV. In general great staff, good value and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keats
Business
cork ireland
Nov 2, 2013

small room, tiny bathroom. even by ny standards.

good location, friendly staff but thats as good as it got. small bedroom, tiny bathroom, stayed 3 nights on loq floor on roadside, so very noisey. didnt find it worth the money we paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woking Kay 53
Business
Surrey, UK
Dec 10, 2013

GOOD BUDGET MID TOWN MANHATTAN

FRIENDLY, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND GREAT LOCATION. A BIT DATED AND WOULD HAVE PREFERRED TEA MAKING FACILITIES BUT IT HAD AN IRON, HAIRDRYER AND FREE SAFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top