$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
470 reviews
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Re mouse in lobby

On my last nights stay I was sitting in lobby at approx midnight when I noticed a mouse running... See full review

  • He sepoy
  • Jun 6, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san antonio, texas
Jan 20, 2011

could not sleep

We were at this hotel for 2 weeks, and it was almost impossible to sleep. The beds were great, the rooms were roomy enough, they gave us a fridge and heated up our leftovers for us, so they tried. But it was so noisy with so many clicks, rattles, doors banging, LOUD pipes, and even though it was January we were hot in our room unless we opened the windows, which of course made the noises even worse. We have never been in such a noisy hotel. No sense getting another room because our compadres in the elevator all said the same thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Earplugs aren't enough. Location is perfect if you can sleep through extremely loud noise.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
stamford, ct
May 29, 2010

Ehhh... ok.

Served its purpose for traveling on a low budget with friends. More spacious than other hotels I've stayed in in NYC. Very old, kind of felt dirty/dingy but I do believe it was clean. The rooms were pretty terribly decorated and kind of creepy. We had a significant amount of luggage that we hoped to keep at the hotel while we walked around but they only had a small room with small lockers. Not only was our luggage too big for the lockers, but all the lockers were taken so we couldn't store our luggage and had to haul it around the city... AWFUL! overall, it served its purpose and was clean but i couldn't wait to get out of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Sep 7, 2009

Not the best, not the worst.

The good news is that it is walking distance to the Mid-town sights and theatre district. The bad news is that it is on the edge of a tougher neighborhood. It is a very old hotel, which has its charm, but its problems as well. Small rooms with very old bathrooms. The window AC unit was so loud it made normal conversation difficult. On the other hand, it drowned out street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is nice, go up the Empire State Building at night- really spectacular and only 2 short blocks from hotel.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc travel
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 22, 2010

forgetable

Room was tiny with no desk and a barely functional bathroom. Tub dripped all night, the fitness center was even more of a drip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fashionably LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Did What It Needed To

My brother and I got the junior suite because we thought it would give us each a bit of private space, until we entered and realized that there was no door in between the two rooms and that you could see directly into the other person's room. Therefor it made dressing just a difficult as if we had shared 1 room. The walls are paper thin and my room was just off of the elevator so the children in the hallway were my alarm clock every morning. Then, when I needed to print my boarding pass at the end of the trip their computer ate my money and the very unfriendly staff finally showed me where the free computer was (that didn't work). When I needed a cab to the airport they kept pushing me to use this van, so I did. The van did not have working seat belts, was dirty, made way too many stops, had a very unsafe driver and blared very religious music at me the whole ride there. Overall, the hotel's location was in a good spot and provided a somewhat clean room and a bed to sleep in, but nothing more then a hostel does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe-trotting
Denver, CO
Aug 19, 2009

Not so good...

We booked two rooms with two separate beds in both. Our rooms were located on the other side of two doors that went to a stair case. First; it was hard to get the luggage through the self-closing doors that opened up onto each other. Second; the rooms looked very dingy and so did the bathrooms. We don't think that they had been renovated like the ones we peeked into next to the elevator. We tried to change rooms, but there were none available. After a couple of nights in NYC, we left town. When we returned to NYC for one more night, we stayed at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Sep 7, 2009

Not the best, not the worst.

The good news is that it is walking distance to the Mid-town sights and theatre district. The bad news is that it is on the edge of a tougher neighborhood. It is a very old hotel, which has its charm, but its problems as well. Small rooms with very old bathrooms. The window AC unit was so loud it made normal conversation difficult. On the other hand, it drowned out street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is nice, go up the Empire State Building at night- really spectacular and only 2 short blocks from hotel.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
May 8, 2009

Smelly, delapadated overpriced.

Too smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
May 8, 2009

Smelly, delapadated overpriced.

Too smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World Travel Bug
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2013

Budget-friendly but missing key perks

Staff were nice and liked they offer coffee and muffins each morning. You cannot beat this location - it is perfect and allows you to walk everywhere. My disappointments were that the room was out of date and felt musty and old, there were crumbs in one corner of the room. Also didn't like that wifi is an extra charge when so many hotels in the same neighborhood offer for free. Surprised that upon checkout they don't keep your bags free of charge but instead you have to pay for a locker - first time I've ever seen this in any hotel. My room also faced inside so no nice view or natural light. Won't go back because I like my perks and for the same price I can get a much cleaner room with a nice city view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top