$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc travel
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 22, 2010

forgetable

Room was tiny with no desk and a barely functional bathroom. Tub dripped all night, the fitness center was even more of a drip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe-trotting
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 19, 2009

Not so good...

We booked two rooms with two separate beds in both. Our rooms were located on the other side of two doors that went to a stair case. First; it was hard to get the luggage through the self-closing doors that opened up onto each other. Second; the rooms looked very dingy and so did the bathrooms. We don't think that they had been renovated like the ones we peeked into next to the elevator. We tried to change rooms, but there were none available. After a couple of nights in NYC, we left town. When we returned to NYC for one more night, we stayed at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meditating on Margins
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2014

One Night In New York

I was only in NYC for a Saturday evening, and all I needed was a place to sleep. I prepaid for my room, so I wouldn't have a wait at check-in. When I checked in at 3pm, there was a line and a wait, even though there were 3 people on duty at the desk. After check-in, I went up to my room on the 6th floor and the hallway smelled like raw sewage. My room smelled fine, but the hallway was almost unbearable. The twin beds were something out of "Leave it to Beaver", so my 6'4" frame didn't get any rest that night. The toilet in the bathroom was so close to the wall, I had to sit on it almost sideways. The sink was like one in an army barracks; there was no room for any toiletries. Oh, and if you want ice or a vending machine, you have to take the elevator back to the lobby and descend stairs to the basement for the lone ice machine. ESPN didn't work on the tv. And they charge you $20 for 24 hours of internet. The sale price for this flop house was $130 for the night. I've stayed at a Motel 6 for $40 that was waaaaay better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
te2211
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jan 17, 2014

Clean and Quiet, Near Penn Station

I enjoyed staying in an old hotel with an ornate lobby and a friendly staff. My room was small, but comfortable. The location, near Penn Station, was perfect for this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ansam
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2014

A pleasant experience

Although the hotel was very pleasant, clean and well positioned I found the facilities basic. I found it difficult to get used to the cardboard cups for coffee and eating breakfast in the lobby amongst the hustle and bustle of tourists coming and going. However I did enjoy my stay I particularly found the hotel very convenient for accessing the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colette super woman
Business
Dublin , Ire
Mar 26, 2014

couples get away

ideal location , 2 blocks from statue of liberty and just off 5th ave.we up graded to a junior suite and well worth the extra. staff always very friendly and helpful. the free muffins and tea or coffee in the morning were a treat. we stayed in N.Y last summer in an apartment but further downtown, here we found you were no more than 10 to 15 mins walk to all main attractions, we really enjoyed walk over Brooklyn bridge and the highline, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try " rattle and Hum" on 33rd or oReillys on 35th for great food and drinks.!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jasongn
Business
NYC
Apr 21, 2014

great value and location

clean rooms, friendly staff, fantastic location and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irvioooo
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2014

Great for Price/Location

This was a a decent hotel. It was very affordable and close to everything in Midtown. You are a block behind the Empire State Building. The rooms were a little small. The staff was friendly. The hotel does have a vintage feel to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retirees
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 7, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

Our days were spent sightseeing and touring. The hotel room was perfect for a nice shower and a quiet restful sleep and fresh coffee and muffins in the morning. Good value for the price and a very convenient location for walking to and from the many "got to see N.Y sights" and famous shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building, Time Square, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Grayline Hop on and off bus, Intrepid, Pier 38 Harbor Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
He who loves.
Business
Chilliwack, British Columbia
Aug 29, 2009

The location was nice!

I ate like a prince! the restaurants were good, and so were the wine lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top