$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine H.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Great Service in an Excellent Location

The hotel met all of my expectations. Assisted by friendly staff throughout my stay. Room was clean and spacious. Only complaint is that traffic was pretty audible from my room at night which was a quick fix with ear plugs as most of downtown NYC is pretty noisy. Would definitely recommend to friends and/or visit the Wolcott Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emir
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

ideal choice

The location was safe and central - very close to subway at 34th St and/or 28th St. and near enough to Penn Station for the LIRR and Airtrain from JFK. Staff very full and professional. room cosy with great bathroom. Lobby very striking and historic. Strange, understocked shop needs upgrading. We loved the muffins at breakfast. Super value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip H.
Business
Houston
Mar 4, 2015

Great location

A good value for NYC during Memorial Day Weekend. Great location - close to a lot of bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emir
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

ideal for first visit to NYC

We had a cosy room with no view and great refurbished bathroom. Staff, including concierge were professional and efficient. We loved the historic foyer décor. We found the room cleaning excellent. the location was safe and not too far from subway and attractions. The only strange thing was the hotel shop which could be turned into a positive amenity but now is understocked and often with nobody serving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russophile
Business
New London
Mar 12, 2015

decent hotel

the hotel's location is perfect for me - very close to Penn Station and a block away from Koreatown. The room has an interesting decor, but is spacious for New York. Shortcomings: no free wifi and the heater makes funny noise at night. Overall, it's a decent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David M.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Superb Location

Lovely old hotel with stunning features, would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kedo
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Great value, great staff, great location

This hotel has bags of character and really good staff. It's in midtown Manhattan - literally a block away from the Empire State Building and just round the corner from Macy's - in a safe location. More than 100-years-old, its glory days were probably decades ago and if you are looking for luxury, modern or chic hotels this one is not for you. The lobby is impressively ornate, the rooms have seen better days - threadworn carpets, dull decor, heavy brown furniture and enamel-chipped bathroom fitments. But the rooms are big for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff are impressive - on two occasions I had minor problems in the room (the TV and the security safe) on both occasions there was someone from maintenance at my door within 5 minutes of phoning reception and sorted out the problems quickly and efficiently. The amenities are fairly standard for a 3 star hotel - there is a TV, iron, safe, basic toiletries. No mini bar/fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, you pay extra for wifi - and it is expensive for what it delivers (about $9.99 /24hours for average speed). They serve muffins and tea/coffee every morning in the lobby, which is a nice way to start the day, and more than you'd expect from a 3 star. The heating was a bit of an issue - it could get very hot or quite chilly during the night. There is no climate control in the rooms (although there were extra blankets). But it was really just a minor point. Overall, this is a safe, great value hotel in central NYC with pleasant, efficient staff. I'd recommend it and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda M.
Business
Aptos
Mar 23, 2015

NYC getaway

Older hotel with lots of charm. Great location and value. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise E.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Teenage shopping trip!

Good location right near Macy's . Good value for money n friendly staff n nice to have coffee n muffins am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil
Business
Durham
Apr 7, 2015

Trip to hear granddaughter sing the lead in an opera at Loew's Theater

We easily achieved our primary purpose of seeing our granddaughter sing the lead role in the NYU production of the opera Cendrillon and met with numerous members of our family and friends. We also did a bit of site seeing, but this was a quick trip and was limited somewhat by my wife's physical limitations. It was also the weekend of the Final Four, so I got to watch that also and since my team won, it was great! We found the hotel to be very clean, convenient, with an impressive lobby and very friendly and helpful staff. It met our needs quite well and we would be pleased to go back there again. I did not rate the wifi service since we did not use it, but if I am required to rate it anyway in order to complete the survey, I will rate it as good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top