$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
472 reviews
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
BUCKS COUNTY, PA.
May 17, 2010

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

GOOD THING IT WAS ONLY 1 NIGHT. COULD NOT SLEEP FROM THE NOISY (IN WINDOW) A/C UNIT. TV WAS SCANNING CHANNELS CONSTANTLY, TURNS OUT THE JOY STICK THAT WAS PROTRUDING FROM THE WALL WAS PRESSING ON THE BUTTONS ON SIDE OF TV. THE NEXT MORNING COULD NOT CHANGE CHANELS AT ALL!! SHOWER MAGICALLY CHANGES WATER TEMP.WHEN SWITCHING FROM SPICKET TO SHOWER HEAD. COULD NOT ADJUST!! VERY SMALL BATHROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING IS NEAR BY. RESTAURANTS, COFFE SHOPS, CAN WALK TO EMPIRE STATE BLDG/ ROCKEFFELER CENTER AND LOTS OF SHOPS.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san antonio, texas
Jan 20, 2011

could not sleep

We were at this hotel for 2 weeks, and it was almost impossible to sleep. The beds were great, the rooms were roomy enough, they gave us a fridge and heated up our leftovers for us, so they tried. But it was so noisy with so many clicks, rattles, doors banging, LOUD pipes, and even though it was January we were hot in our room unless we opened the windows, which of course made the noises even worse. We have never been in such a noisy hotel. No sense getting another room because our compadres in the elevator all said the same thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Earplugs aren't enough. Location is perfect if you can sleep through extremely loud noise.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Owen super dad
Long Island NY
May 5, 2014

Nice midtown NYC hotel

This hotel is in a fantastic location in midtown but the room was very dated and the bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe-trotting
Denver, CO
Aug 19, 2009

Not so good...

We booked two rooms with two separate beds in both. Our rooms were located on the other side of two doors that went to a stair case. First; it was hard to get the luggage through the self-closing doors that opened up onto each other. Second; the rooms looked very dingy and so did the bathrooms. We don't think that they had been renovated like the ones we peeked into next to the elevator. We tried to change rooms, but there were none available. After a couple of nights in NYC, we left town. When we returned to NYC for one more night, we stayed at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill, best man/maid of honor
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Basic sleeping needs, only!

Visit was for a wedding. The bathroom was filthy and I could not sit on the toilet because the 4 inch sink was in my lap! I will be much pickier when I book another hotel through a service. The only convenience was the location and even there I could have done better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spartacus
Chester U.K
Jul 10, 2013

Weekend in New york

Hotel is ok. Rooms are gloomy. The Hotel over charge for everything. e.g $5 for 30min wi-fi conection. 50c for luggage locker very time you open the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

hard as a rock

So the price was reasonable. And usually people put if you are only going to sleep there than it is a good value. This is not one of those hotels. Check in was excellent, they had our room ready before check in time. The problem comes when it is time for bed. The bed was so hard. The people I stayed with, we actually fought over who was going to get to sleep on the couch! After spending all day walking around the city a comfy bed is all I wanted. The room itself was nice and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The only other big problem I had was that they do not hold your luggage for you. They have a place, a locker, that you can pay for, but they do not hold your luggage like all the other hotels in NYC do. For the same price, and usually less, you can stay somewhere else that has a much more comfortable bed and they hold yoor luggage until you are ready to leave the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2011

Definitely not modern

Had trouble finding the place due to all the scaffolding obscuring the front of the building. The lobby is really nice, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time there. The room was tiny, just slightly larger than the double bed in the room. Everything in the room... bed, carpet, furniture, curtains, wallpaper, was quite worn and shabby. The bathroom didn't look like it had been updated since at least the 1960s. For the price and the amount of time I was staying (1 night), it met my minimum requirements, but I doubt if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc travel
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 22, 2010

forgetable

Room was tiny with no desk and a barely functional bathroom. Tub dripped all night, the fitness center was even more of a drip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jackndc
Business
washington, DC
Jun 25, 2010

dated but they block some cable news

I called this hotel to see if they carried FoxNews and they said they did so I made a reservation. When i checked in, they had blocked all but the local Fox broadcast station and when i asked about it, they said their management didn't want to carry non-liberal news so they blocked Foxnews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top