$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
353 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colin Caster
Michigan
Jun 23, 2013

Good value, excellent location

Previous reviews here capture this hotel very well. Great location, close enough to Penn Station to walk if coming in by train with a roller bag, and nearby subway stops to go up and downtown. 15 minute walk to Times Square. Lots of European guests, which is fun, and friendly, helpful staff. Free muffins and coffee in the morning. Rooms are old but have character. By NYC standards a bargain. Downsides: no restaurant, so you need to hunt out some favorites. We also had smoky neighbors, so our room was also occasionally stinky despite ours being a nonsmoking room. We did not have trouble with the wireless internet that some here have mentioned. Hated to pay for it, of course, but we were able to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Martinique, a block up on Broadway, was our favorite stop for lunch or dinner.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigeastvisitor
DC
Mar 11, 2012

Location location

positive - old property, but clean and quiet. You cannot beat the location for MSG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danile53
Miami, FL
May 31, 2010

A bed to sleep

This hotel must be seen just as a bed to sleep. The location is great. The Empire State is just 2 blocks away and you can walk to Times Square. The staff is unfriendly and bitter, I recommend avoiding them. Compared to other 3 stars hotel I have stayed, the hotel and the rooms have the same amenities and comfort but the staff is quite unfriendlier. Ah, they did have muffins for breakfast in the lobby, that was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palo Alto, CA
May 9, 2010

Great location

Great value and central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great vegetarian restaurant nearby.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Lis
MA
Dec 16, 2013

Weekend Away

It was an old hotel. The room was clean and warm. Subway was near by but it was not far to walk to several attractions. There were several types of muffins, coffee and tea for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DennisB6060
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Decent value, but that's about it...

This is a very nice, clean, older hotel in a good spot near Macys and Madison Square Garden, and within quick walking distance to the Flatiron and Gramercy areas. It tends to attract younger and foreign groups travelling together as I witnessed during my stay. My room was very small but quite usable for sleeping and not much more. They gave me a high floor so it was fairly quiet. The bathroom sink and shower were very slow to react. And I was disappointed that the room lacked free internet. I'd recommend this to someone who needs very basic rooming for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valencia, Spain
Sep 21, 2009

perfect location

We went to New York for our honeymoon and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quite good if you take into account the price and the location but some of the facilities haven't been renewed for a while, such as the carpets or the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel if you just want a place to sleep and you want it in the city center for an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLCT
Business
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Feb 10, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, but too old school for me

The location, its grand lobby, and helpful staff are the best parts about the Wolcott. I think it had good enough value, but I doubt I'll stay there again. The problem was the room: the radiators, while charming, clanked; the shower had scalding water I couldn't control, so I resorted to taking a bath; and the TV was not HD. I know this last part sounds stupid, but I the blurry images were a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
klmertins
Houston
Feb 11, 2013

3 Star Hotel, Great Location

The hotel is as advertised, a 3 star hotel. The staff was very nice. No hotel bar or restuarant but very close to both. Great location as it was easy to get around the city. Good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ayza is right across the street. Great food and wine!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob and Sara
Christchurch, UK
Jan 21, 2013

Good Budget Hotel for Sightseeing

Booked as a budget hotel as all we needed was a base as if your in New York you won't have time to be in your Hotel. It delivered a no frills experience which was all we expected. Customer Service varied dramatically based on which colleague you dealt with, some really great - others didn't even look at you when talking. Prior to going my wife requested a room with Empire State view as advertised on their website and pleasingly got an immediate response confirming they would look into it, dissapointed when arriving to a room with a view of next doors brickwork. Coffee and muffins in the morning were great as was the ability to store your luggage after checkout and the little essentials shop on site had a really friendly colleague working in it. Be wary of the discounted theatre tickets as they're still much cheaper in TKTS in Times Square if u can wait till the last minute. Free Wi-Fi would be a great bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book a hop on hop off bus tour.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search