$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
356 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Proudly celebrating its 110th anniversary in March 2014, The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York; three blocks south of the Empire State Building on 31st Street between 5th Ave. & Broadway. Walkable to many attractions including the United Nations, Macy's, Chelsea, Circle Line Boat Cruise, Flatiron, Meatpacking and Highline neighborhoods, Broadway theater district, Times Square and all public transportation. The Wolcott has been offering clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices since 1904. In fact the lobby and many of the guest rooms still retain their original architectural detailing. The Hotel has been written about in many domestic and international guides.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (356)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trey72
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Traveled
Business
Savannah Georgia
Aug 5, 2011

Well Traveled here!

The hallways stunk literally. The ac in the room was old,, and I came down with allergys that ended me up almost in ER before leaving. I would sneeze when in the room,, and eventually came down with closed ears,, and very swollen throat. Water puddled in the tub shower window. Otherwise the bed was very comfy. I have stayed in many other hotels for same price with much better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for buyers in the wholesale area of accessories. Not much restaurant choice in the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
polkatulk
Business
san jose, california
Aug 28, 2013

gross

Cost over $200 for one night in a tiny, cockroach infested, poorly-lit, musty room with an uncomfortable bed and the charm of a turn-of-the-century haunted nursing home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

stay somewhere else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Candace Barth
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2007

very small room

Regarding the hotel room: There was not even enough room to change your mind. We asked to upgrade to a larger room even if the price was more, and were told we HAD the largest room. O and the view two run down sky scrapers so no natural light. Just felt trapped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not a bad location right in the heart of Mid town Manhattan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2008

Hotel staff just didn't care...

I was in NYC for the US Open and chose the Wolcott Hotel because of its close proximity to Penn Station. I stayed there for 4 days, 3 days too many. Upon arrival, the staff clearly didn't care to help you with anything. It wasn't so much that they were unfriendly, but more, they just didn't care about you or providing you with a good stay. I asked for directions and was given a map only, nothing verbal. I asked for 2 wake up calls and didn't get either one. When asked what happened, the desk person just shrugged his shoulders. Our room was not ready by 3pm, time of check in, and they made me feel like it was my fault for staying at the hotel. How dare I choose the Wolcott Hotel. Well, I won't be staying there every again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catmandoodoo
Business
NY, NY
May 12, 2010

"THE SHINING" IN REAL LIFE

My wife and I spent a night there after a concert in the city. Where do I begin? First, the guy at the reception desk was stoned-faced and kept minimum eye contact. Way to welcome your guests! The women were friendlier but seemed out of it. The room was cold, depressing with really thin blankets. In the early morn a weird noise emanating from somewhere woke us up along with the cold room temperature. The original molding on the ceiling was perhaps once beautiful but now it was covered with so many layers of paint that it looked like it was constructed by a mentally-challenged ape out of play-doh. The bathroom is big enough for two wheelchairs and there's a bench in the bathtub. My wife discovered that one of the wrapped soap was wet and used. The general vibe of this place is that of a retirement home. Definitely not recommended for anyone under 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Owen super dad
Business
Long Island NY
May 5, 2014

Nice midtown NYC hotel

This hotel is in a fantastic location in midtown but the room was very dated and the bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kibao
Business
ex Mombasa, Kenya
Jan 13, 2012

Needs drastic improvement in terms of hospitality and more attention to customer needs

The Hotel location is ideal for business people but the staff are not friendly/helpful and have very little time to listen to customers. I did not like the hotel as my room was not what I requested for and when I enquired, the response was not encouraging and I let it stay. Cannot be a repeat customer nor recommend the hotel to any one. No meals offered at the Hotel or at least we were not told of the existence of such facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MikeyH
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Eh, it's fine if you don't plan on spending any time in it

In Hotel Wolcott's favor, they did let us check in several hours early, free of charge. This was a lifesaver as my wife and I and just gotten into town on the redeye and felt terrible. However, everything else was either mediocre or just plain annoying. Reasonably close to the subway. Nothing in the bathroom worked well. The wifi was overpriced and only usable on one device and one location. The bed was extremely hard. No thermostat controls. Windows in our 12th floor room opened easily and had no screens. Only one nightstand. There were three electrical sockets in the bedroom, two of which were inaccessible and the other was as far from the nightstands/desk as it could get. We'll be trying someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HHHRC3
Business
Chicago
Mar 27, 2012

Make sure you don't get the handicap accessible room

Without being told ahead of time I was given a room with a handicap accessible bathtub/shower. It was very annoying to have to hold the shower nozzle that sprayed water while I was showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy in NYC
Business
Denver
Dec 10, 2012

Needs a freshining up

We reserved a non-smoking room, however, upon checkin were told that "non-smoking" was merely a REQUEST and not a given. We were placed in a smoking room and the lingering stale tobacco got to be just too much. We were then placed in another smoking room (they didn't have any non-smoking rooms available) which didn't smell as bad. Unfortunately at 6 am we smelled aweful, ethnic food odors wafting up the central air shaft and permeating our room. I went down to the front desk and was informed that not only were about half the floors in the hotel dedicated to smokers, but they also had permanent residents and it was likely one of them cooking. They did eventually change our room to a non-smoking room, facing 31st. Despite the significant street noise (we slept with the TV on) and the difficulty regulating the temperature in the room, we were so elated to have a room which was palatable. I would be hard pressed to stay there again tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top