$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
433 reviews
great location!

We loved our cute room. They held our bags do we could go shopping before we traveledon. Loved our... See full review

  • Tori the Teacher
  • May 12, 2015
3 night trip to New York

When we first arrived at the hotel, i thought that it was a little run down. the room that we had... See full review

  • Gemma S.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 433
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pusspuss
Business
Cork, Ireland
Jan 23, 2013

You get what you pay for

I think anybody who would voice criticism about this hotel would be sadly lacking. If you want five star standard, then be prepared to pay five star rates. The hotel claims to be a 2 to 3 star and that is the standard it has set. In fact, in my opinion it is a 4 star standard. The foyer is impressive with old fashioned carpet complimenting the magnificent ceiling. The bedroom is small, but adequate. The bathroom is small, but again adequate. The bath is for bathing, not luxuriating in, in other words it is too small to lie within. The room is not sparkling clean, but is certainly acceptably clean. Travelling on my own, I felt safe in the hotel and the surrounding area. In fact I walked from Grand Central to the hotel at 11pm. on a Friday night. The two lifts are located directly beside reception, which gave me the feeling that nobody would have access to the lifts without being noticed. This helped me to feel secure. There are muffins and coffee/tea served in the foyer in the morning, for which there is no charge, so I certainly hope that nobody would have the nerve to be critical about any aspect of this service. There are two lifts, both are small, there is no dining room, the bedroom and bathroom are not big, but if you choose to stay in an inexpensive hotel, then you get inexpensive standards. I have stayed in other hotels in New York, one being THE LONDON HOTEL. Superb hotel with superbly high rates. You get what you pay for, please remember that. All in all, the Wolcott was superb value for New York and I most definitely would recommend it to anybody that isn't picky and silly about where they stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunty Melvina
Business
new Zealand
Aug 17, 2013

an oasis of calm and Olde worlde charm

From the first moment I walked in the door I felt comfortable. Fantastic foyer, friendly helpful staff and on site information desk where you can book discounted shows and various sightseeing options. The room was lovely;spacious, clean and homely. No fridge or coffee machine however. But that is minor. Complimentary muffins and coffee served in the morning. Location top notch, right on 5th Avenue and close to many attractions and subway. Would thoroughly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glenn Beloso
Business
Bridgeport, CT
Nov 9, 2013

Midweek getaway

Location: Great location. Just 3 blocks from the Empire State Building. Convinient garage parking right infront of the hotel. Close to everything. Dunkin donuts at the corner. Room: spacious. Got three twin beds, i was looking forward to a king or queen since im by myself. The third bed is on a "separate" room. Like you have your own private oasis. It has its own tv. No view on both windows. Service: fast check-in. No drama when it come to check in time. Once theres a room available, you can get it. Breakfast available. Coffee and muffins. Good enough to start your day. Gym needs to be updated. Note: funny smell on the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks north Empire State Few walks to the west are Macy's and Madison Square Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
briblack
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 14, 2013

ultimate crash pad

Stayed one night after the office party. Woke up had the free coffee muffin walked to work. Perfect. What a lobby! Like a walk back to the 20th c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Lyric
Business
NJ
Jul 14, 2014

Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hottahada
Business
Baltimore,MD
Jan 20, 2014

Great room, location, price!

I was upgraded to a jr. Suite. Room was excellent for the price . The muffins in the morning were excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Herald Square (Macy's )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikita
Business
London
Sep 4, 2009

Happy with the hotel

I was very happy with the service and extremely happy with the location - I think the hotel is value for money as it is based centrally but doesn't put your bank account on fire! My room was cleaned every day and I found the staff helpfull and polite. Maybe one thing - the hotel is aging a little bit but then again I would always stay there next time in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue with ESB, Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil Barreras
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 21, 2010

Good stay and location for the price

Walking, sightseeing and shopping. Also I visited my daughter that live nearby the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I visit around the 20th street a restaurant that serve fondue and you can bring your own bottle of wine and eat fondue and drink wine until midnight with my daughter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckets
Business
ireland
Jan 31, 2013

central

very close to everything. could not be in better location..From JFK airtrain and subway to hotel 1hour45mns price $7.50 Great value..Bus back $30..Great time and staff very good........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Potsebo
Business
DE
Feb 10, 2013

The hotel is a good value.

I will stay there again. I would like a room a bit larger, but it was adequate. The staff helpful. The room and bath clean . I was there during the blizzard but able to catch cabs as needed. I would have liked a small coffee shop in the Hotel. The coffee and cupcakes on Sat. AM was very nice. I don't know if that is served everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top