$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 25, 2009

What a treasure!

Walking distance from Penn Station, the Wolcott lobby took us swiftly across the ocean to grand hotels of European cities. Gracious room, wonderful light (3 windows, beautifully dressed), lovely linens, pleasant staff, yummy Continental breakfast served in splendor, all in a most convenient location in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 22, 2008

You can't go wrong!!

Unless you plan on spending your time in New York lounging around in your hotel, the Wolcott is your best choice!! Friendly and helpful staff, perfect location, clean and well maintained premises! You couldn't ask for more! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many choices within short walking distance. Easy access to subway very close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 7, 2007

would recommend it

The wolcott was definitly a good place to stay & i would definity recommend it to others. In Manhattan it can be pricey to find a clean room with your own bathroom. The wolcott was in a good neighborhood just blocks from time square. The hotel room was clean & the beds were very comfortable. I will be staying there again next time i go to New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the heart of manhattan, just blocks from Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Aug 20, 2010

perfect for the simple traveler

My teenage son and I wanted to experience New York. The rooms offered two twin beds in turn was perfect for us. (He cringed at the idea of sharing a bed) The location was a block away from the Empire State Building and subways were only a block or two away as well. The concierge at the hotel were wonderful in informing us what train to take to each destination. We even spent a day at Coney Island and swam in the ocean. The hotel is very ornate and simple, but the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. For you coffee drinkers, there is a Dunkin Donuts/Subway across the street. It was the first thing I made sure, that coffee was near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I usually take a cab from LaGuardia airport, but a person on the plane that lives in Manhattan said to take the "Manhattan Express" bus to Grand Central station and then a cab to our hotel. The cab ride would have been $50, the bus was $10 each person and the cab ride was $6.00. To get back, the hotel offered an airport shuttle from the hotel to La Gauardi airport for $38.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dewitt
Nov 12, 2008

Very,very clean

The rooms are very well maintained and extremely clean which was important to us. If you are a walker-we are-the location is fine. There is dining in the area, not in the hotel. We did not realize we would have a separate sitting room. Staff was very helpful in getting us to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is very near 5th Avenue and all the big stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apache Junction
Sep 16, 2008

Great location; clean and comfortable

The Wolcott Hotel is less than three blocks from the Empire State Building, and within easy walking distance of Times Square, Grand Central Station, and Central Park, with the inexpensive city bus and subway lines very nearby for travel greater distances. The hotel is charming, beautiful in an old-worldly style, clean and comfortable. The breakfast muffins and coffee/tea are a delighful way to start the day, with a chance to meet other guests from far-away places. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. When I developed an infection from a minor surgery I had before travelling, the desk clerk called a physician's assistant who makes house calls, and she was there to see me within an hour, after 10 pm on a Sunday night! I was able to obtain a prescription from an all night pharmacy and continue my tour uninterrupted the next day. The room was quite small, but adequate, and the bathroom was roomy and the beds comfortable. I would love to visit again some day soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the many attractions within easy walking distance, don't hesitate to use the inexpensive subway system and city buses, which run within a block or so of the hotel. They are fast and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
May 13, 2007

great location with atmosphere

The Wolcott Hotel has one of those superb/beautiful lobbies that you can spend time in without pressure. It has a very classic feel to it and the hotel guests were quite diverse, with many languages spoken. If you're looking for a hotel, for entertainment, I cannot speak to that, but the location is excellent for seeing all of NYC and having a great place to relax after a long day. After one day I felt like a resident New Yorker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the Empire State Building and just off 5th Avenue. A few blocks to Grand Central Station for many choices for dining. Very accessable to subway & buses for short ride to Times Square, FAO Schwartz, and just about anywhere in Manhattan in under 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scunthorpe
Sep 7, 2008

Great Location

This was my first trip to New York and America in fact. The location was the definately brilliant, not too far from anything and the fact that you're only 2 blocks from the Empire State Building where everyone gives you bus pass tours etc was fantastic. The hotel was reasonably priced for what they offered you and the rooms were comfortable and much bigger than I thought. Ok the views wasn't fantastic it was a brick wall but its a city what do you expect?! The fact that Madison Square Garden, 5th Ave, Macy's are all with 5 mins walk from the Hotel was just brilliant. There were some great restaurants near the hotel again only 5 mins away if you were tired and didn't want to go as far as Times Square/Broadway for a meal out. Would definately stay there again and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 31, 2007

Classic Old Hotel

I loved tha ambiance of this beautiful old hotel. The lobby was the wonderful Victorian decor. The gilted wood trim was beautiful. The hotel was old but updated and nice. The location was off 5th Avenue and quiet. The room had a separate bedroom from the livingroom. The TV was new. The towels were fluffy. The free coffee and muffins were a nice surprise every morning in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I thought the souvenir stores around the corner were reasonable! I got I Love N.Y. T Shirts for $1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Very beautiful lobby

The Wolcott Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel!! The staff was so friendly when we checked in (at 9:00 am) and was very gracious. The 2-twin bed room was clean and roomy. The location was perfect as it was the Empire State Building that we definitely wanted to experience on our short trip of only two days. I look forward to my next trip to NYC and will check into the availability of the Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top