$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
392 reviews
3 night trip to New York

When we first arrived at the hotel, i thought that it was a little run down. the room that we had... See full review

  • Gemma S.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected.... See full review

  • Martie H
  • Mar 24, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 392
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Josh from NYC
Business
Bronx
Mar 19, 2015

Money-Grubbing and Arrogant

Here goes -- our view outside the window was of a garbage disposal and dirty bricks, the heater was busted and turned on and off randomly, we had to call down multiple times for towels and soap, and there was an odd odor on the floor. But the kicker was the mandatory $3 charge for printing literally two pieces of paper. When I mentioned that the charge was quite excessive the man behind the counter, in a condescending manner, basically told me if I didn't like it I could take my business elsewhere. So I shall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walden Puddle
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Served it's purpose

Good midtown location. VERY comfortable bed. Bathroom/shower/towels also very nice. Bed/pillows/linens also very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets in the closet when needed. But, in spite of all that..... It was hard to get a good nights sleep because the ancient heating system was clanging and banging loudly through the pipes all night long. Besides this, the hotel is a nice economical NYC alternative. The free coffee was good quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry P.
Business
Chelsea
Dec 29, 2014

Son Visit

Great location and an interesting historic hotel. Rooms are a good size though dated in some areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meditating on Margins
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2014

One Night In New York

I was only in NYC for a Saturday evening, and all I needed was a place to sleep. I prepaid for my room, so I wouldn't have a wait at check-in. When I checked in at 3pm, there was a line and a wait, even though there were 3 people on duty at the desk. After check-in, I went up to my room on the 6th floor and the hallway smelled like raw sewage. My room smelled fine, but the hallway was almost unbearable. The twin beds were something out of "Leave it to Beaver", so my 6'4" frame didn't get any rest that night. The toilet in the bathroom was so close to the wall, I had to sit on it almost sideways. The sink was like one in an army barracks; there was no room for any toiletries. Oh, and if you want ice or a vending machine, you have to take the elevator back to the lobby and descend stairs to the basement for the lone ice machine. ESPN didn't work on the tv. And they charge you $20 for 24 hours of internet. The sale price for this flop house was $130 for the night. I've stayed at a Motel 6 for $40 that was waaaaay better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
driftingtraveler
Business
Syracuse, New York
Sep 2, 2014

Great!

I booked this hotel because it was the cheapest on the list -- staying in NYC can be really really pricey. I actually really liked the room! It was clean, water pressure was good, and the bed was comfortable. It was a 5 minute walk away from the Empire State building and 5th Ave. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vale12
Business
College park, MD
Aug 12, 2014

Great Location

The location is the main strength point of the hotel. Very close to Time Square but in a quite street Good price for Manhattan. Helpful and warm staff. Defect: WiFi is not free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Lyric
Business
NJ
Jul 14, 2014

Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lake land terrier lover
Business
Chevy chase md
Jun 2, 2014

Weekend in NYC

Great value. Nice staff, very quiet room with plenty of space. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Afonso Barros
Business
São Paulo, Brazil
May 22, 2014

Great location

Very nice hotel, clean, comfortable, friendly staff and in a perfect and great location in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irvioooo
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2014

Great for Price/Location

This was a a decent hotel. It was very affordable and close to everything in Midtown. You are a block behind the Empire State Building. The rooms were a little small. The staff was friendly. The hotel does have a vintage feel to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top