$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
397 reviews
Great location

This hotel can improve a few things but not its location. Lots would say it's dated looking but I... See full review

  • PHIL SWAN
  • Aug 26, 2015
Great time

Great hotel. Clean rooms i would love to stay again See full review

  • Christopher C.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Location
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Highlights
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Policies
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★
$83
2.6 / 5 1,014 reviews
★★★
$118
4.2 / 5 205 reviews
★★★
$134
4.2 / 5 285 reviews
★★★★
$107
4.2 / 5 90 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.2 / 5 151 reviews
★★★★
$135
3.9 / 5 318 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.1 / 5 99 reviews

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 397
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nelli B.
Family
Lancaster
Aug 4, 2015

2 night stay

Our stay was for two nights - for the weekend. We had 3 people adn were happy to see that the room we booked Junior double actually had two adjacent rooms: in one there was a sleep in couch and in another the Queen side bed. Was pretty good size for New York, especially the bathroom size. We have stayed before in a 4 star hoter but the bathroom had a rdiculous size, especially the sink that was a size of a shoe box. The only one think we did not lik that there was no toiletrees provided and they did not clean really the bathroom after the first night. However, I wil stay again there considering convinience of having two rooms and a good size of bathroom.Complimentary Coffee and muffins in the morning were nice to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAFEES R.
Family
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Enjoyable Family Trip

Even though, the rooms were smaller, but overall it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AKUPPER
Family
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Great centralized location

Great Midtown location from which to explore New York. (Shame about the penny pinching Wi-Fi charging.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leslie C.
Family
seattle
Jul 26, 2015

Noisy

We were awakened every morning by the sound of the hot water running through the pipes. For being on west coast time, this was EXTREMELY early and not a good way to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hope A.
Family
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

Terrific Time

It was my elderly mom's first time to NYC and the Wolcott was centrally located to all of the action- cabs, public transportation was easy accessible. During our stay my mom got sick and the staff assisted her while I was out on business. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Famfun
Family
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Classic and beautiful look. Comfy. Delightful

The most beautiful hotel with a classic look. Devine. Staff were pleasant and courteous. My first choice hotel on my next trip into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kthom
Family
Philadelphia
Jul 7, 2015

Nice hotel in a great location!

I got this hotel for a deal and was a little concerned since I paid such a small amount but I couldn't of been happier when I arrived. I booked the twin bed room and it was spacious for New York standards. The room and the bathroom was spotless. The location is awesome! Close to Macy's, Empire State Building and loads of subway lines. The only thing I can really complain about is that the staff weren't super nice but they were helpful and that wouldn't deter me from staying there again. Lovely hotel and I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie S.
Family
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Fantastic trip for my daughter grand-daughter and I

I have stayed at the Hotel Wolcott before so new it was very good. We had a triple room which was excellent for 3 adults (my grand-daughter is 18) It was very clean and had air-con. The bathroom was quite small but it wasn,t a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries. We were on the 10th floor looking out onto the street so the view was very good. Hotel very close to Broadway, Seventh Ave, so walking distance to Times Square, Macys and Empire States. My only 2 negative would be that there isn't any tea and coffee making facilities in the room although every morning in the Foyer they had coffee plus muffins for the guests. There is a Subway (Dunkin Doughnuts) nearly opposite the hotel which is ideal for breakfast. Also you have to pay for WiFi but Subway has it free. So I would recommend this hotel for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
natalie b.
Family
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

A brilliant hotel

The hotel met and exceeded my expectations- clean and comfortable plenty of muffins and coffee at breakfast- friendly helpful staff- they even took our baggage on the last day free of charge Perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian H.
Family
N/A
May 29, 2015

Birthday trip

Convenient location, window view of Empire State , room big slept 3 people , clean, beds comfy. Complimentary muffins and coffee in the morning. Great resturant around the corner called Harold's does pancakes to die for....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top