$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pleased NYC Traveler
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2009

great location, great price, great stay

A decent hotel in NYC can cost a pretty penny, this hotel, on the other hand, was very well priced and exceded my expectations. The staff was very helpful. They allowed me to store my belongings safely before I was able to check in so that we did not miss our show. The room was very clean and the size was similar to a basic room at a Holiday Inn. I would aboslutely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea Miami
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 5, 2010

Great location in the heart of Manhattan

The hotel is located in the heart of manhattan, just a few steps from the Empire State Building and is conveniently located close to several subway stations. The room was nice and clean, however the bathroom was really too small!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8acwm
Business
Budapest
Aug 31, 2010

Wolcott2010

Check in takes long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarion, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Clean, convenient, economical

Convenient location for both activities in Midtown and easy subway access for lower Manhattan and Greenwich Village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurants just a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inferno
Business
San Antonio
May 16, 2014

Great Location

Great location and great staff. The bathroom was little bit small but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, Ca
Aug 29, 2010

My First Time In New York City

The Wolcott Hotel was a fun place to stay at. It wasn't so busy, I felt comfortable. Also, it was near time square and many convenient locations, such as restaurants, shopping center, and the subway stations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
el paso tx
Aug 7, 2010

Nice hotel great location friendly

Had two twin beds in one room and another twin bed in the other room each room had own tv alarm clock dresser and closet...Less than two blocks to the empire state and a combation of dunkin donuts subway and baskin robbins accross the street...also 4 blocks to penn station which was great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BOUDICA
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Fall New York Trip

We have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times now and the staff at the front desk is really hit or miss. Typically upon checking in from an all night flight we have had historically a grumpy person at the front desk ~ the hotel management needs to work on that. The bathroom on this particular stay was less than desirable and only one person could be in the room at once and you had to watch yourself and not hit your head on the sink when using the toilet. It seems that they got the coat closet and the bathroom measurements mixed up. You also had less than a foot between the bed and TV, therefore had to clomb over the bed to get to the other side of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good shopping for accessories in the area that are comparable to the stores on Fifth Avenue, so you can save some money by starting out on W. 31st St. instead of buying at Bloomingdale's, Bendel's or Bergdorf Goodman. Even souvenirs are reasonable the closer you get to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, KS
May 24, 2010

Great location but serious water problem

The water temperature in the shower is VERY dangerous as it goes from ice cold to scalding hot (without changing the setting) - hot enough to cause serious burns! The hot temperature could cause serious injury to someone unable to move out of the shower spray such as an elderly person or child. The hotel staff were less than receptive when we voiced our concerns. The bathroom sink is about the size of a sink in an airplane lavatory so it is very difficult to use without getting water everywhere. That said, this hotel is in a great location, it is clean and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A walking food tour of Greenwich village was a highlight and although it is a long walk from this hotel, we did it in about 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 29, 2010

In a pinch when you're pinching

When my first hotel didn't meet my expectations and I needed to move, I found this hotel. It was classic in its period style, the only complaint I had was that there was an odor in the hallways. Smelled like someone was cooking a bad meal.. The location and cost couldn't compare to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top