$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
438 out of 438
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Lis
Business
MA
Dec 16, 2013

Weekend Away

It was an old hotel. The room was clean and warm. Subway was near by but it was not far to walk to several attractions. There were several types of muffins, coffee and tea for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFWS
Business
Glenelg, MD
Dec 13, 2013

Older but great staff

Hotel a bit South but close to Herald Square and subway. Staff wonderful . Brought us a refrig.when we asked for a place to store our doggie bags. Asked for extra washcloths and they brought us eight. Yummy complimentary gourmet style muffins in AM. Old but clean and worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Love Carmine's....must make reservation

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cryd
Business
Austin tx
Dec 16, 2013

Good but could have been great

The hotel is a beautiful old ornate hotel that was a good buy for the money for NYC. The staff was helpful though businesslike. Location was good very near Madison Squ Garden and Empire State Bldg. We felt very safe there. The things that detracted from our experience were: hotel rooms were uncomfortably warm even when the maintenance men turned off the radiator, which knocked loudly at times making it difficult to sleep. We slept with the air conditioner on though the highs were below freezing and it was snowing. However, it blows right on your head at night so we had to put a chair in front of the window a/c to divert the blowing air at night. There is not much insulation between rooms so we heard doors slam all night. We were close to the cleaning closet and elevators as all junior suites are in the middle of the hotel so we would recommend a room further from the center hallway. Showers went from scalding hot to cold when another guest must have flushed or run water, so we took tub baths. Free coffee tea and muffins each morning was nice though they were exactly the same muffins every day of five, which we wondered why they couldn't rotate another choice occasionally. No cream for coffee, just weak skim milk, so that could easily be fixed too at little cost to the hotel. And one of our guests didn't drink tea or coffee so juice or better milk would have been welcome. Beds slept well, towels were nice and fluffy. If the hotel can fix these items, I would have rated them 4 or 4 1/2. Even just whole milk or cream for coffee, more variety of muffins, and maybe a juice choice would have made a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Martinique on Broadway was a great experience. Good value, variety and excellent food.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pleased NYC Traveler
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2009

great location, great price, great stay

A decent hotel in NYC can cost a pretty penny, this hotel, on the other hand, was very well priced and exceded my expectations. The staff was very helpful. They allowed me to store my belongings safely before I was able to check in so that we did not miss our show. The room was very clean and the size was similar to a basic room at a Holiday Inn. I would aboslutely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea Miami
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 5, 2010

Great location in the heart of Manhattan

The hotel is located in the heart of manhattan, just a few steps from the Empire State Building and is conveniently located close to several subway stations. The room was nice and clean, however the bathroom was really too small!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8acwm
Business
Budapest
Aug 31, 2010

Wolcott2010

Check in takes long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarion, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Clean, convenient, economical

Convenient location for both activities in Midtown and easy subway access for lower Manhattan and Greenwich Village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurants just a block away

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inferno
Business
San Antonio
May 16, 2014

Great Location

Great location and great staff. The bathroom was little bit small but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, Ca
Aug 29, 2010

My First Time In New York City

The Wolcott Hotel was a fun place to stay at. It wasn't so busy, I felt comfortable. Also, it was near time square and many convenient locations, such as restaurants, shopping center, and the subway stations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
el paso tx
Aug 7, 2010

Nice hotel great location friendly

Had two twin beds in one room and another twin bed in the other room each room had own tv alarm clock dresser and closet...Less than two blocks to the empire state and a combation of dunkin donuts subway and baskin robbins accross the street...also 4 blocks to penn station which was great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top