$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
470 reviews
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Re mouse in lobby

On my last nights stay I was sitting in lobby at approx midnight when I noticed a mouse running... See full review

  • He sepoy
  • Jun 6, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Den Chlo Kim
UK
Jan 16, 2014

Feedback

Hotel great, works well for what we wanted, staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikoletta
Europe, Lithuania
Aug 14, 2010

Fabulous stay!

We did a lot of sightseeing. In comparison to the previous stay in February which was in Chinatown, 91 Hotel Wolcott's location (on the corner of Broadway and 5th avenue) was time saving as a great many attractions are a stroll away (Empire, Broadway theatres). However, if you wish to go further (Metropolitan museum, for example, or the Statue of Liberty)a subway (line B and D) is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's shopping mall. We were lucky to see the presentation of Madonna's new collection Material Girl at Macy's. The hotel has convenient lockers (for 50 cents) so if your departure is after check-out time(11am)you may leave your suitcases in the lockers and explore NY. Complimentary coffee and muffins in the morning is a nice addition if you want light breakfast. And most important, the staff was awesome!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2007

Nice place, very nice value

The Wolcott was the perfect choice for our first stay in Manhattan. It was clean, has a beautiful lobby, the room was larger than expect and the staff was helpful and friendly. Located only a block or two from both the Empire State Building and the subway system, and an easy walk to Times Square, the Wolcott was convenient for getting to just about anything. I would stay here again when we next visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trey72
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Jul 5, 2007

Good for the money

For the location and money, great deal! Staff was very friendly, rooms CLEAN!!! Needs some upkeep work. Some quarks with the building being so old, but no big deal. Only thing that frustrated me was that the concierge had only been in the country for 2 weeks. Why did they give her that job? So she couldn't help us. Very comfy though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We could see the Empire State Building from our room. Close to everything!!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 16, 2010

An Excellent Value

I stayed at this hotel because New York was extremely full for Fashion Week and it was the only hotel around Midtown that I could get for less than $600/night. I am a business traveler and accustomed to staying in fairly high end hotels. The Wolcott worked out great for me. This is not a luxury hotel for sure, but it was super clean----none of those critters that have been plaguing NYC lately! I am in my 40's, but the hotel was somewhat nostalgic for me, as it was packed with European backpackers--The lobby was often filled with young people talking and it reminded me of my own travels around Europe with a backpack when I was much younger. The hotel is no-frills, but the lobby is exquisite---a reminder of a period gone by in NY. Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Macy's famous store, Times Square and many other attractions are within easy walking distance. My meetings at Lexington and 49th were a pleasurable brisk walk away. The gym was small, but the Europeans don't seem to like to work out and I worked out all three days and only saw only one other person. Wi-Fi is provided for free and the hotel has a nice continental breakfast with muffins, bananas, other fruit and coffee provided free each morning. If you are a prima donna and are used to the four seasons don't stay here. But if you are on a budget and want to spend time in new york, this is an absolutely excellent value and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking Garage on 32nd street 25 a night with validation from hotel!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macsk
Toronto, ON
Sep 4, 2010

Nice hotel with great service

After reading some awful reviews about the state of the rooms and the service, I must say that I was a bit apprehensive about booking the hotel. But being on a budget, we could not pass on the special price of $115 for a junior suite (1 queen and 1 sofa-bed) in such a great location.The 3 of us arrived at the hotel at 7:00 a.m after a long bus ride from Toronto. We thought we could just leave our luggage somewhere in the hotel and then come back to check in later in the afternoon. To our surprise, the extremely helpful front desk person (thank you, [...]) let us check in. He even invited us to have some breakfast in the lobby. The suite was small but clean as was the bathroom. We did not expect anything fancy and therefore were not disappointed with it. We did not spend any time in the room except to take a shower and sleep anyway. The suite had a t.v in each room but I have no idea whether they worked because we never switched them on. It also had a rollaway bed under the sofa-bed (no mention of it in the room description). We did not find out until just before we left when we were checking under the beds to make sure we did not leave anything behind.I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone on a budget and needing a place close to the Penn Station. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin
Nov 30, 2008

Great Location

The reason I picked the Wolcott Hotel was that I was there last year and in a great location. I wasn't as impressed with the room as I was last year. There was 3 adults in a junior suite. We were on 2nd floor, room very dark no daylight. The noise from the radiators was very noisy and loud compared to last year, we also had a coachroach in the bedroom which wasn't very pleasant. I found that the staff were'nt as friendly as last year, no hello's or good morning's. On the plus side the hotel provides free tea and muffins every morning and is within walking distance to all local attractions. If I was to stay here again I would try to get a room with a view at the front as the last 2 visits we were put in the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's just around the corner about 5 min walk

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Passanezi
Ribeirao Preto, Brasil
Nov 21, 2013

Comments

The hotel is very good, great location, confortable, clean, attentive staff. Negative point: no free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

from macys

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
starwar mom
san juan, Puerto Rico
Sep 21, 2010

great arquitecture

it was realy quiet.clean, friendly, great location,great arquitecture. it would been better if the breakfast was fresher and had more variety.overall i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block away from fifth avenue

Back to menu Return to top