$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trey72
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmw819
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2014

Classic NYC hotel

My mother and I spent one night in this hotel during a quick NYC getaway. This place could not have been more perfect. The hotel lobby is absolutely gorgeous. They have information on the history of the hotel and it made us appreciate it even more. They've been able to maintain this over 100 year old hotel very well and have been true to the history of it. We stayed in a twin bed room - there were actually 3 beds because there was a sitting room with a twin bed set up as a sitting area, so we were able to sleep in separate rooms. There were lots of original details, like the beautiful crown moulding on the ceiling. They had muffins and coffee in the morning. They also had an area to store your bags if you arrive early or have time to spare between check out and when your are leaving NYC. The staff was friendly. Location was very convenient to Penn Station. Will definitely stay again if have the opportunity!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inferno
Business
San Antonio
May 16, 2014

Great Location

Great location and great staff. The bathroom was little bit small but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mk1977
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
May 13, 2014

Small, but cozy rooms in a great location

The room was much smaller than I anticipated from the pictures, but they were still comfortable and meet our needs (a place to sleep, shower and change clothes.) The thing I was must concerned about staying in Manhattan was not being able to sleep with all the noise in the streets. This was not an issue at The Wolcott. It was quiet. We had an interior facing room, so not a lot of light coming through the windows. This, plus the quiet was nice for sleeping in! The location was great. Not a lot of traffic in front of the hotel, but close to several Subway stations, which made it great to get to different attractions. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Although hotel has that antique look and feel, the bedding and furnishings were nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast here was ok if you are in hurry (muffins and coffee.) At the end of the block, across the street is a great deli (bread and butter) that has great prepared, made-to-order and buffet style food. We ate there every morning for a reasonable price. Lots of options, healthy or otherwise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little dutch girl
Business
The Netherlands
May 11, 2014

Great location, very central!

Our room was a perfect New York size room. Enough room to open a suitcase, and enough room to move around. The room was clean and the cleaning staff was friendly. The man at the front desk was friendly. The location is ideal to get around to all the popular sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ground zero /Memorial Currently you can go for free (donations highly recommended) to see the new "Twin Towers" and the memorial fountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paloss
Business
Ecuador
May 5, 2014

Amazing location

The hotel is very close to two subway stations, 2 blocks away from the empire state, lots of restaurates around. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, the room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Owen super dad
Business
Long Island NY
May 5, 2014

Nice midtown NYC hotel

This hotel is in a fantastic location in midtown but the room was very dated and the bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irvioooo
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2014

Great for Price/Location

This was a a decent hotel. It was very affordable and close to everything in Midtown. You are a block behind the Empire State Building. The rooms were a little small. The staff was friendly. The hotel does have a vintage feel to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jasongn
Business
NYC
Apr 21, 2014

great value and location

clean rooms, friendly staff, fantastic location and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trey72
Business
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colette super woman
Business
Dublin , Ire
Mar 26, 2014

couples get away

ideal location , 2 blocks from statue of liberty and just off 5th ave.we up graded to a junior suite and well worth the extra. staff always very friendly and helpful. the free muffins and tea or coffee in the morning were a treat. we stayed in N.Y last summer in an apartment but further downtown, here we found you were no more than 10 to 15 mins walk to all main attractions, we really enjoyed walk over Brooklyn bridge and the highline, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try " rattle and Hum" on 33rd or oReillys on 35th for great food and drinks.!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top