$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
617 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Proudly celebrating its 110th anniversary in March 2014, The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York; three blocks south of the Empire State Building on 31st Street between 5th Ave. & Broadway. Walkable to many attractions including the United Nations, Macy's, Chelsea, Circle Line Boat Cruise, Flatiron, Meatpacking and Highline neighborhoods, Broadway theater district, Times Square and all public transportation. The Wolcott has been offering clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices since 1904. In fact the lobby and many of the guest rooms still retain their original architectural detailing. The Hotel has been written about in many domestic and international guides.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (617)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
617 out of 617
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bintang Oka
Boston, ma
Dec 15, 2013

Couples getaway

Owh I really recommend this hotel to others and I'm going back to this hotel for sure coz naim the name of the staff who is helping me is very nice and helpful and the other staff to nice information while they give. I love this place. I would like to get a special price when I'm staying so I can stay any longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place for shopping sightseeing tour and a lot of activities you can do it and to know the area that you have never know. The price you pay the service you get

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruthie7777
Southern California
Dec 12, 2013

Amazing Location and Great Staff!

The price is great for what you get. The rooms aren't amazing but you're in the middle of everything. Walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Empire State Building. It doesn't get any better than that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Eataly! It is an amazing Italian restaurant!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqui jo
N Ireland
Dec 11, 2013

Great hotel in ideal location

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel in an excellent location midway between both downtown and Times Square and just round the corner from macys and penn station. It is also just two streets from the Empire State Building. Staff were all helpful and the room cleaned and towels changed daily. The muffins and coffee for breakfast were yummy too and saved us time in the mornings as they could be eaten in the large foyer en route out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of 5th ave shopping, Times Square and also macys.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler 1
Business
Boston
Dec 11, 2013

Only OK experience

The hotel is well located - has a very nice lobby and common areas. Rooms themselves are a little bit shabby. My experience ended up OK but took a while to get there. Initially placed non smoker into a smoking room - staff corrected immediately. Second room's shower was not able working. Staff initially indicated there was no other room to place me in. Eventually got me into an upgraded room type with a working shower. All in all a very nice location with small dated rooms. But also less expensive than most 3 stars in that same area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woking Kay 53
Surrey, UK
Dec 10, 2013

GOOD BUDGET MID TOWN MANHATTAN

FRIENDLY, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND GREAT LOCATION. A BIT DATED AND WOULD HAVE PREFERRED TEA MAKING FACILITIES BUT IT HAD AN IRON, HAIRDRYER AND FREE SAFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrismd
Uk
Dec 8, 2013

Awesome central hotel

Stayed here from the 1st December for four nights. The location is perfect. Smack bang in the middle of manhattan. Five min walk to The Empire State Building, Time Square and Macy's. Room was fine. Fantastic shower. Decor not easy on the eye but it added to the faded glamour. Only downside was a searingly hot radiator which whistled like a boiling kettle through the night. Also the room had a fabulous view of the Empire State Building and loved the addition of muffins and coffee for breakfast. Staff where great. Had a problem with wi fi which was switly felt with and ordered a cab for the journey back to JFK and was greeted by a white stretch limo playing Xmas songs for the same money. All in all a great little hotel in a perfect location. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geordie Wench
North Lincolnshire England
Dec 5, 2013

Just round corner from Empire State and Macy's

Nice hotel great location, relaxed breakfast of fresh muffins tea or coffee in lobby . We had a twin smoking room for my niece who is a smoker but even as a non smoker it did not smell strongly of smoke. Good size twin and large bathroom, no view but also no noise. Shower was a little temperamental on temperature. Free luggage storage on last day.. Naomi was helpful when I emailed her prior to our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heartland brewery bar right next door to Empire State good place to eat and drink. The taxi drivers do not know where they are going half the time unless you tell them the full address e.g. We wanted planet Hollywood in Times Square but he could only take us to Times Square as we didn't know the cross street number so we had to walk last bit and ask where it was. As a stranger to London, I know this would never happen to me with a London Cab driver.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeorgeVienna
Vienna
Dec 5, 2013

Good Middle Class Hotel in perfect location

Rooms are rather large, convenient, coffee/tea is offered for breakfast, staff very nice. One can really recommend this hotel. At time of our reservation junior suites were nearly same price as double bed room so its a good idea to book the suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two days as new yorker
Madison, WI
Dec 2, 2013

Better than I expected

Stayed in a junior suite and it was great. Free muffins in the morning were delicious. The only thing was we need to pay $10 for 24 hr wifi access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee dee
Dublin
Dec 1, 2013

A great find

Loved this hotel ,great location for shopping and There is a subway nearby. Staff are very friendly, the rooms have comfy beds and are very clean. I must say the tea/ coffee and muffins are a delicious treat every morning. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'The organiser'
manchester UK
Nov 27, 2013

Great Location and cleanliness

My first trip to NY, girls shopping and sightseeing, Hotel isJust off 5th Ave and 2 mins from the Empire state building. Great Location. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are a good size, but very warm when the heating is on, which we couldnt turn down , although there is a small air con unit. The reception staff were very helpful, The concierage was patronising and unhelpful We had a fantastic time, and Would definitely stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state 2 mins Main Shopping 5 - 10 mins Times Sq 10 - 15 mins walk Taxis are not expensive

Back to menu Return to top

Change search