$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
358 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (358)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
358 out of 358
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Lis
Business
MA
Dec 16, 2013

Weekend Away

It was an old hotel. The room was clean and warm. Subway was near by but it was not far to walk to several attractions. There were several types of muffins, coffee and tea for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John goes to NYC
Business
Baltimore
Dec 16, 2013

Great find

Friendly staff, nice size room for Manhattan and great location add up to a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the High Line elevated park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaxFaz
Business
York UK
Dec 16, 2013

Fab location

This hotel in a great location, the staff are very friendly, the complimentary coffee and muffins were very welcome too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks up on 33rd st or 34 great shops, with great discounts, heading towards Maceys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cryd
Business
Austin tx
Dec 16, 2013

Good but could have been great

The hotel is a beautiful old ornate hotel that was a good buy for the money for NYC. The staff was helpful though businesslike. Location was good very near Madison Squ Garden and Empire State Bldg. We felt very safe there. The things that detracted from our experience were: hotel rooms were uncomfortably warm even when the maintenance men turned off the radiator, which knocked loudly at times making it difficult to sleep. We slept with the air conditioner on though the highs were below freezing and it was snowing. However, it blows right on your head at night so we had to put a chair in front of the window a/c to divert the blowing air at night. There is not much insulation between rooms so we heard doors slam all night. We were close to the cleaning closet and elevators as all junior suites are in the middle of the hotel so we would recommend a room further from the center hallway. Showers went from scalding hot to cold when another guest must have flushed or run water, so we took tub baths. Free coffee tea and muffins each morning was nice though they were exactly the same muffins every day of five, which we wondered why they couldn't rotate another choice occasionally. No cream for coffee, just weak skim milk, so that could easily be fixed too at little cost to the hotel. And one of our guests didn't drink tea or coffee so juice or better milk would have been welcome. Beds slept well, towels were nice and fluffy. If the hotel can fix these items, I would have rated them 4 or 4 1/2. Even just whole milk or cream for coffee, more variety of muffins, and maybe a juice choice would have made a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Martinique on Broadway was a great experience. Good value, variety and excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christmas Traveler
Business
Phoenix
Dec 16, 2013

Wolcott Hotel is great

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately impressed with the decor. It is fabulous. Thenight staff greeted us enthusiastically. The rooms have twin beds, but for us, it was just right. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are big and clean. The location is good - it is just 3 blocks from the Empire State Building and 1 long block and 4 or 5 short blocks to Macy's.. It would be good to know ahead of time where the restaurants are located, but we did find some good pizza places. And there is a Dunkin Doughnuts and Subway just across the street. There was coffee and muffins in the morning. I would stay here again. Note, if it rains, ask the staff to put a towel on the A/C unit outside the window to deaden the sound of water dripping. Again, good hotel, good price, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bintang Oka
Business
Boston, ma
Dec 15, 2013

Couples getaway

Owh I really recommend this hotel to others and I'm going back to this hotel for sure coz naim the name of the staff who is helping me is very nice and helpful and the other staff to nice information while they give. I love this place. I would like to get a special price when I'm staying so I can stay any longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place for shopping sightseeing tour and a lot of activities you can do it and to know the area that you have never know. The price you pay the service you get

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
briblack
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 14, 2013

ultimate crash pad

Stayed one night after the office party. Woke up had the free coffee muffin walked to work. Perfect. What a lobby! Like a walk back to the 20th c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charuchan
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 14, 2013

Great hotel

Love muffin they served in the morning :) staff is very kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidder
Business
Stoke- On- Trent, England.
Dec 13, 2013

Brilliant Christmas getaway.

The Wolcott Hotel is in a fantastic location just off fifth avenue. It is ideally situated for all midtown places of interest. With the Empire State Building and Macys only 3 streets away. Times Square and the fantastic Christmas tree at Rockerfeller just a short stroll away. The hotel itself is small and cosy and you are made to feel welcome. We had the junior suite which was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were coffee and muffins in the foyer for breakfast which were very tasty and set you up for the morning. We would definitely go back to the Wolcott if we visit New York again. We have previously stayed in the Waldorf Astoria but felt cosier in the Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick Tock Diner on 35th /8th avenue( under New Yorker hotel). Very good value meals. Set you up for the day. Portions are massive. Used it 3 times during our 5 day stay and each time it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFWS
Business
Glenelg, MD
Dec 13, 2013

Older but great staff

Hotel a bit South but close to Herald Square and subway. Staff wonderful . Brought us a refrig.when we asked for a place to store our doggie bags. Asked for extra washcloths and they brought us eight. Yummy complimentary gourmet style muffins in AM. Old but clean and worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Love Carmine's....must make reservation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top