$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best mom
Family
Birmingham England
Mar 15, 2013

My daughter Paige's 21st birthday treat

We arrived at the hotel and staff was very polite and welcoming, upgraded me and my daughter for free as she was 21 with a view of the Empire State from our room... Room was very clean with all that we needed.. Hotel lobby was amazing and we loved the stairs.. I have been to New York twice before and this was the best hotel I've stayed in... And will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family... Amazing stay and an amazing time as was close to all attractions.. Loved it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's... Empire State...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmydgreek
Couples
North carolina
Mar 9, 2012

Good location

Small room smallest bathroom I've ever seen hard mattress good coffee and muffins great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants on fifth ave and broadway great food venders on broadway 10 min walk to times squares

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigeastvisitor
Friends
DC
Mar 11, 2012

Location location

positive - old property, but clean and quiet. You cannot beat the location for MSG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ResMae
Couples
Orem, Utah
Apr 9, 2012

Nothing Extra

Location was great. Close to midtown locations. Bed was high in the middle and sounds from hall were very loud. Door in bedroom was next to the hall and people talking woke us up every morning. Tub surface was peeling. Room was clean, but no extra amenities. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bexx
Friends
UK
Apr 17, 2012

Take Ear Plugs!

The only complaint about this hotel is the noise at night. Lorries, cars, taxis, dust carts, and music until 3am from the bar down the street. Everything else about the hotel was absolutely fine - including the free hot drinks and muffins provided by the hotel each morning. My advice would be to take ear plugs, as the city that never sleeps, tries to make sure that you don't sleep either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Don't take the subway - you never know what you'll discover enroute to your destination.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claire1039
Couples
New york
May 27, 2012

Good value and good location

The hotel was an okay standard, perhaps a little bit tired. It was really clean and tidy and the staff were great. There is free coffee and muffins for breakfast which was a nice touch and unexpected. In terms of location it was great for a first trip- close to all of the sights - empire state building, times square & walk able distance to central park, however not great if you want to find somewhere good to go for a drink in the evening, we usually had to get a cab or the subway over to Greenwich. Overal though a really good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is really close to the empire state building. Try to get there as early in the morning as possible as it means beating the queue which can be up to 5 hours sometimes!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debby
Friends
Portsmouth England
Jun 27, 2012

good value

Staff were not really very welcoming or helpful. A smile costs nothing after all. The reception area is beautiful and worth popping in just for a look. We had a junior suite which was ideal for the three of us.The cleaning staff were very friendly and kept the room very tidy and clean, top marks to them. Some nice bars close by.Bit of a,walk to Times Square, so wear low heals. Penn station is only a short distance from the hotel so you can get the train any where and its very cheap. Overall I would stay there again, but please some one get the staff to smile and be more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frankvoice
Couples
Tampa, FL
Jun 18, 2012

Great location

This hotel was a bit above average, if a little pricey. Room was small. Enjoyed coffee and muffins in the morning. Concierge very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get lots of subway tickets.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2012 Anonymous
Single
Boston, MA
Nov 5, 2012

Old but good for the price

Fine, not the cleanest place but not too bad. Mainly outdated stuff. Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Ayrshire Scotland
Nov 19, 2012

Fab city location

I went with a friend we thoroghly enjoyed our stay staff were very helpfull with the exeption of the concierge who didnt seem to have a clue.. But think she was self employed anyway,room was clean and warm coffe and muffins in the morning were very welcome..location couldnt be better would stay there again happily..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ticket centre at times square very usefull also when walking around counting avenues before streets got quicker results.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Osprey
Single
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 5, 2012

Optimum location and friendly staff

The room appearance was clean and comfortable considerable the age of the hotel. There is a need for pest control with a few small roaches noted. New carpeting would help in the hotel's face lift. Overall, wonderful stay for a short getaway weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A guest is able to hop a ride on local bus tours, originating very close to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top