$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
433 out of 433
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pusspuss
Cork, Ireland
Jan 23, 2013

You get what you pay for

I think anybody who would voice criticism about this hotel would be sadly lacking. If you want five star standard, then be prepared to pay five star rates. The hotel claims to be a 2 to 3 star and that is the standard it has set. In fact, in my opinion it is a 4 star standard. The foyer is impressive with old fashioned carpet complimenting the magnificent ceiling. The bedroom is small, but adequate. The bathroom is small, but again adequate. The bath is for bathing, not luxuriating in, in other words it is too small to lie within. The room is not sparkling clean, but is certainly acceptably clean. Travelling on my own, I felt safe in the hotel and the surrounding area. In fact I walked from Grand Central to the hotel at 11pm. on a Friday night. The two lifts are located directly beside reception, which gave me the feeling that nobody would have access to the lifts without being noticed. This helped me to feel secure. There are muffins and coffee/tea served in the foyer in the morning, for which there is no charge, so I certainly hope that nobody would have the nerve to be critical about any aspect of this service. There are two lifts, both are small, there is no dining room, the bedroom and bathroom are not big, but if you choose to stay in an inexpensive hotel, then you get inexpensive standards. I have stayed in other hotels in New York, one being THE LONDON HOTEL. Superb hotel with superbly high rates. You get what you pay for, please remember that. All in all, the Wolcott was superb value for New York and I most definitely would recommend it to anybody that isn't picky and silly about where they stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 26, 2007

Good value hotel.

This hotel is very much like an old European hotel. It is in an okay neighborhood, a thirty minute or so walk to Times Square. The hotel staff was pleasant except for the woman behind the activities desk. No personality! The rooms are clean, with TV. I would recommend it for a family who is not going to spend much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 5, 2007

Good for the money

For the location and money, great deal! Staff was very friendly, rooms CLEAN!!! Needs some upkeep work. Some quarks with the building being so old, but no big deal. Only thing that frustrated me was that the concierge had only been in the country for 2 weeks. Why did they give her that job? So she couldn't help us. Very comfy though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We could see the Empire State Building from our room. Close to everything!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kin
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

family friendly

The Hotel Wolcott was most notable for its elegant marble lobby where complimentary breakfast was served, which was convenient. The room was very large for three guests and was well-supplied. It was a close walk to Broadway and Bryant Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park and Times Square were just a few minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Close to all!

The hotel is centered perfectly to were you could walk or catch a taxi easily. it made a huge difference for me due to my disability and limited walking. The rooms were always clean thoroughly on a daily basis and the local delivery options were great! The size and closet/ storage space was perfect for our 7 day stay! I will be staying here on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Iatlian place 2 blocks down, Radisson cafe around the corner, and cute deli's everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 20, 2007

Great Location

The Wolcott Hotel was very conveniently located to sites of NYC. Shops were close, as were places to eat. Good neighborhood and explored at night safely. Room was laid out well for three adults (three single beds).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient to Empire State Bldg, Public Library and within walking distance to other main sites/subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Wide Wibs
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2007

What a location

As someone once said you don't go to New York to sit in a hotel room. The Wolcott provides a great basis to explore New York, the location is excellent. They provided coffee and muffins in the lobby every morning. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially as we needed to check in at 3am. The room was clean and basic, but the price was very good for the location. This is a hotel for anyone that wants to go to New York and have a safe place to sleep, if your looking for luxuary best try spending more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire state building is a short walk from the hotel up 5th avenue and flat iron building is a 5 minute walk in the oppersite direction. If you want a good martini, jump in a taxi and head for the pegu club on 77 west houston street. Take the late circle line cruise at 7pm to see the city lights and then head to little italy for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollister, Fl
Jun 22, 2010

Loved it

Beautiful... Staff very friendly and helpful.. Highly recommend this Hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sedrik
Business
Norfolk, VA
Aug 2, 2007

Midtown Manhattan

The Walcott Hotel is nestled in midtown Manhattan. Be prepared to go back in time and take in the early architecture when entering the lobby. The elevators are small, but it doesn?t take a long time for one to get to your floor. The rooms are perfect for having a place to sleep at night and spending the day in the city. The air conditioners worked, there?s hot water when you take a shower, and the beds are comfortable enough to make you fall asleep when your head hits the pillow. Room service does an excellent job keeping things in order while you?re out. Your pick of transportation (bus, trains, cabs) are just steps away. Macy?s, Times Square, Empire State Building on your itinerary? Walk there from the Walcott Hotel. Be adventurous and walk just a few blocks in any direction to find a favorite place to eat. I will definitely be going back to stay at the Walcott in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are neat hole in the wall shops all around the Walcott. Take the time to check them out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Thomas Island
Sep 20, 2007

Good value

the hotel has no bar or restaurant, but the room was nice with high ceilings, making it look larger. the bathroom was very large with agreat shower. The concierge could'nt have been more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building. two blocks Penn station, four blocks Grand central, eight blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut
Jul 7, 2009

a great place to relax

The wolcott was relaxing and a nice loction that was easy to get to aall major places in new york....It was quiet and the staff was very helpful....if you go to new york stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is like a block from the empire state building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top