$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jo124
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2013

Perfect Hotel for Convenience

Needed a hotel near Penn Station. Reviews on this said rooms were small but the room was just right. bed comfortable, spacious bathroom with nice bath products. friendly staff. even offered continental breakfast which I did not know about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Historic Hotel
Business
Connecticut
Aug 28, 2014

Theater Lover

Our original room was quite small, but that was okay as we only needed a place to sleep. However, the non-smoking room but smelled like old smoke. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and were given another room that was twice the size of the first one and was updated. The location was excellent but we really missed having coffee either in room or lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Katie
Business
Bronx
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms!

My fiance and I stayed here for the weekend in order to be closer to Central Park for a big training run. As always, I was nervous about the cleanliness of a budget hotel in the city, but this place was fantastic. Amenities were very minimal, but with such a great location who needs them in-house anyway. There is a 24-hour grocery just on the next corner, a wonderful wine and chocolate bar just across the street, and only blocks from nearly anything else you could want. Our room was spotless, the bathroom seems to have been recently refurbished, and everything down to the paint on the walls was either new or very well kept. Staff was super helpful and friendly, and asked us how our race went and chatted a bit upon seeing us return in running gear and all sweaty. I was so relieved and happy with this place I'm almost ready to cancel my marathon weekend hotel and book here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ayza wine and chocolate bar right across the street, great atmosphere, cozy and friendly, and yummmm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin miles
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 18, 2014

Good hotel

Stayed here for one night while in NY. It's a short walk from Penn Station. The room was nice. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avanti2
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 15, 2014

A good noght

I was in NYC on business. The hotel is a nicely renovated turn-of-the-century building, fully updated with an attractive, well-appointed lobby. Staff is properly attired, courteous and efficient. The room was small but comfortable. No complaints; I plan to stay here again when I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meiwan
Business
West Lafayette, IN
Aug 14, 2014

A goold location

The location is perfect, but the rooms are old with average service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vale12
Business
College park, MD
Aug 12, 2014

Great Location

The location is the main strength point of the hotel. Very close to Time Square but in a quite street Good price for Manhattan. Helpful and warm staff. Defect: WiFi is not free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickster satisfied couple
Business
bronx, ny
Aug 3, 2014

Nice overnight

If you want a cheap overnight get away from your ordinary routine this is the place. They do not have free wifi as advertised. The rooms are small but that was expected. The staff is very accomdating and knowledgeable. You get free coffee and tea with a variety of muffins which is cool. I would go again cause I do not mind the small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickskull
Business
Cape Coral, Florida
Jul 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No problems with the reservation. The location is absolutely amazing. One of the corners is 5th Ave and to the other side is Broadway. 10 minutes to Times Square, 5 minutes to the nearest subway. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, they also cleaned the room each day, including sheets, towels and everything. They also have smoking rooms. Free breakfast (coffee + muffin) saves money and time, so that is a big plus! Don't go for the hotels with "big names" (Hilton, Marriot...), they are just overpriced and at worse locations. This is what you really want if you are going to visit New York for it's history, attractions, sightseeing etc. Great job, Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I know you all hear awe about Empire State, but honestly, the view from Top of the Rock is much much better and there are almost no queues compared to the Empire State Building. Go visit Top of the Rock!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrerra
Business
Virginia
Jul 21, 2014

Great value in NYC, right in the middle of everything

I was kind of skeptical about booking at this hotel, due to some reviews here and on other travel websites, but I just got to the conclusion that these people that rated the hotel terribly just have no idea of how NYC prices go, plain and simple. First of all, the hotel is in a GREAT location. If we hadn’t stayed at this hotel, the other option in the same price range would be all the way down Manhattan, in the financial district, so probably only with cab costs we would’ve spent our entire budget. Instead, from the hotel you can walk easily to Times Square, Empire State (is like next door to the hotel), and the area is surrounded by businesses – literary across the street there’s a Subway and a coffee shop, couple of businesses up on 5th avenue there’s a pizza place and a bunch of pharmacies, so we could buy stuff everyday back to the hotel. The hotel itself you can tell is old, but very well kept. The lobby is beautiful, the corridors look outdated but very clean and well kept, and the rooms are very clean. You do get an air conditioning unit (not central air), but that worked well for us, and the only “complain” I would have was about the shower curtain/bath space that was very small that the curtain would be touching you while you’re having a shower. Other than that, the hotel was GREAT. They even serve a little breakfast in the morning, with coffee, milk, tea and delicious muffins. In my opinion, if you want better than that in Manhattan on the same location, you gotta drop the money for it. But for the value, the Wolcott is the greatest deal we possibly have found and I’m definitely staying there again next time I’m in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State building is only 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Times Square is only couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maverick Flynn
Business
Troy, mi
Jul 17, 2014

Nice location for sightseeing

Very clean and awesome location. Most places are walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top