$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickskull
Cape Coral, Florida
Jul 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No problems with the reservation. The location is absolutely amazing. One of the corners is 5th Ave and to the other side is Broadway. 10 minutes to Times Square, 5 minutes to the nearest subway. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, they also cleaned the room each day, including sheets, towels and everything. They also have smoking rooms. Free breakfast (coffee + muffin) saves money and time, so that is a big plus! Don't go for the hotels with "big names" (Hilton, Marriot...), they are just overpriced and at worse locations. This is what you really want if you are going to visit New York for it's history, attractions, sightseeing etc. Great job, Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I know you all hear awe about Empire State, but honestly, the view from Top of the Rock is much much better and there are almost no queues compared to the Empire State Building. Go visit Top of the Rock!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lpointmpoint
Business
Amsterdam
Jul 13, 2007

solid value in Midtown

A small, clean room in Midtown for about 162 before taxes. Pretty good deal. The hotel is old. There is only one ice machine one floor below the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 5, 2007

Good for the money

For the location and money, great deal! Staff was very friendly, rooms CLEAN!!! Needs some upkeep work. Some quarks with the building being so old, but no big deal. Only thing that frustrated me was that the concierge had only been in the country for 2 weeks. Why did they give her that job? So she couldn't help us. Very comfy though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We could see the Empire State Building from our room. Close to everything!!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 20, 2007

1st trip to NY

My boyfriend and I were very happy with The Wolcott. The room was comfortable and very unique. Around the corner from the hotel was a place that would deliver all different kinds of food 24/7-better than room service because the prices were very reasonable and the food was great. The location of the hotel was perfect. We were close to the Empire State building, subways, and walking distance from Time Square. We will definatly stay at the Wilcott the next time we visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire Pizza-Only $2 for a huge slice of cheese pizza and it is yummy

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 20, 2007

Great Location

This hotel is in a great location for the typical tourist. The Empire State Building in just around the corner and our room had a great view of it. Perfect location for 5th avenue shoppers. Quiet location at night, so you should not have any problem with raod traffic while you try to sleep. Dunkin Donuts on the corner and a few other typical fast food joints. We ate at Maui Tacos (by the Empire State Bldg) a few times. Really good and prices not too bad. The hotel really is a great choice for travelers who are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 20, 2007

1st trip to NY

My boyfriend and I were very happy with The Wolcott. The room was comfortable and very unique. Around the corner from the hotel was a place that would deliver all different kinds of food 24/7-better than room service because the prices were very reasonable and the food was great. The location of the hotel was perfect. We were close to the Empire State building, subways, and walking distance from Time Square. We will definatly stay at the Wilcott the next time we visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire Pizza-Only $2 for a huge slice of cheese pizza and it is yummy

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2007

Good deal for NYC

The Wolcott Hotel was a good deal and a great price. We were in the junior suite which had 2 rooms, 1 with a daybed which was perfect for our 5 year old daughter and a queen bed in the other room. The rooms were clean as well as the bathroom and the shower worked well. The carpet was quite worn but it appeared they are in the process of replacing the carpets. The staff was very friendly and allowed us an early check in. The location of the hotel is ideal being only blocks from a subway station and 2 blocks from the Empire State building. I would recommend this hotel for the budget consious family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's Department store is just a couple blocks away.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 12, 2007

family friendly

The Wolcott Hotel was very well located for our needs. We felt safe and secure. As for the room, there was not a comfortable chair to sit on, there was only the desk chair and the sofa sleeper. Sometimes you don't want to lay down, you just want to relax and rest comfortably. Also the dining area, there was no place to eat the continental breakfast, chairs but no place to set our food. All in all the place was satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was very accessible to the subway, bus and taxi. Walking was also convenient as shopping was just a few blocks away.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2007

Nice place, very nice value

The Wolcott was the perfect choice for our first stay in Manhattan. It was clean, has a beautiful lobby, the room was larger than expect and the staff was helpful and friendly. Located only a block or two from both the Empire State Building and the subway system, and an easy walk to Times Square, the Wolcott was convenient for getting to just about anything. I would stay here again when we next visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2007

Nice place, very nice value

The Wolcott was the perfect choice for our first stay in Manhattan. It was clean, has a beautiful lobby, the room was larger than expect and the staff was helpful and friendly. Located only a block or two from both the Empire State Building and the subway system, and an easy walk to Times Square, the Wolcott was convenient for getting to just about anything. I would stay here again when we next visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Candace Barth
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2007

very small room

Regarding the hotel room: There was not even enough room to change your mind. We asked to upgrade to a larger room even if the price was more, and were told we HAD the largest room. O and the view two run down sky scrapers so no natural light. Just felt trapped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not a bad location right in the heart of Mid town Manhattan

Back to menu Return to top