$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
470 reviews
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Re mouse in lobby

On my last nights stay I was sitting in lobby at approx midnight when I noticed a mouse running... See full review

  • He sepoy
  • Jun 6, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
briblack
Brooklyn
Jan 21, 2014

good old Wolcott

No frills, comfy bed, coffee and muffins for breakfast. Love the lobby. Stayed there twice, will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is three blocks away.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

hard as a rock

So the price was reasonable. And usually people put if you are only going to sleep there than it is a good value. This is not one of those hotels. Check in was excellent, they had our room ready before check in time. The problem comes when it is time for bed. The bed was so hard. The people I stayed with, we actually fought over who was going to get to sleep on the couch! After spending all day walking around the city a comfy bed is all I wanted. The room itself was nice and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The only other big problem I had was that they do not hold your luggage for you. They have a place, a locker, that you can pay for, but they do not hold your luggage like all the other hotels in NYC do. For the same price, and usually less, you can stay somewhere else that has a much more comfortable bed and they hold yoor luggage until you are ready to leave the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Good jumping- off place if you can use pulic transport

To me the front lobby was worth a side trip just to see it. The staff was responsive to voiced needs, the room and furniture were small for the 6'3 and 6'7 guys with me but the hotel was good for access to public transit that got us everywhere we needed to go. The taxis were accessible and the dining within walking distance was quite good if you knew how to read a menue and judge the atmostphere by sight and smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian establishment a few blocks away. The food was very good, the wait staff very pleasant the atmosphere was quiet and we could talk with the staff cheerfully lowering the volumn of the music and we were not pressed to leave. We also found a couple small local places for breakfast with reasonable prices.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Good jumping- off place if you can use pulic transport

To me the front lobby was worth a side trip just to see it. The staff was responsive to voiced needs, the room and furniture were small for the 6'3 and 6'7 guys with me but the hotel was good for access to public transit that got us everywhere we needed to go. The taxis were accessible and the dining within walking distance was quite good if you knew how to read a menue and judge the atmostphere by sight and smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian establishment a few blocks away. The food was very good, the wait staff very pleasant the atmosphere was quiet and we could talk with the staff cheerfully lowering the volumn of the music and we were not pressed to leave. We also found a couple small local places for breakfast with reasonable prices.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Very beautiful lobby

The Wolcott Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel!! The staff was so friendly when we checked in (at 9:00 am) and was very gracious. The 2-twin bed room was clean and roomy. The location was perfect as it was the Empire State Building that we definitely wanted to experience on our short trip of only two days. I look forward to my next trip to NYC and will check into the availability of the Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Very beautiful lobby

The Wolcott Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel!! The staff was so friendly when we checked in (at 9:00 am) and was very gracious. The 2-twin bed room was clean and roomy. The location was perfect as it was the Empire State Building that we definitely wanted to experience on our short trip of only two days. I look forward to my next trip to NYC and will check into the availability of the Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Good location; clean,comfortable suite

The Hotel Wolcott has a great location. It was clean neat, quiet and felt safe in the hotel. The suite had a very small front room with a confortable single bed, TV ,closet and nightstand and window AC unit. The bedroom was very large with a queen bed desk work area and conversation area with 2 chairs and a window AC unit as well as a closet.The bathroom was comfortable size and very clean with no counter space at all and not air conditioned-Opening the window was just fine. There was an iron provided in the closet and also the suitcase stand was handy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel at first seemed strange but readily got used to it. The location to so many things was the plus. The view from the rooms was Westside Story brick walls with rusted fire escapes but I rather liked the textural almost artsy feel of the view. I would stay at the Wolcott again. Walk to: Empire State Building, Macy's; Madison Square Garden; Pennsylvania Station; Union Square; Herald Square; Madison Square Park (dog park too); St. Francis of Assisi Chapel and Meditation Garden;lots of good restaurants, Subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Good location; clean,comfortable suite

The Hotel Wolcott has a great location. It was clean neat, quiet and felt safe in the hotel. The suite had a very small front room with a confortable single bed, TV ,closet and nightstand and window AC unit. The bedroom was very large with a queen bed desk work area and conversation area with 2 chairs and a window AC unit as well as a closet.The bathroom was comfortable size and very clean with no counter space at all and not air conditioned-Opening the window was just fine. There was an iron provided in the closet and also the suitcase stand was handy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel at first seemed strange but readily got used to it. The location to so many things was the plus. The view from the rooms was Westside Story brick walls with rusted fire escapes but I rather liked the textural almost artsy feel of the view. I would stay at the Wolcott again. Walk to: Empire State Building, Macy's; Madison Square Garden; Pennsylvania Station; Union Square; Herald Square; Madison Square Park (dog park too); St. Francis of Assisi Chapel and Meditation Garden;lots of good restaurants, Subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sedrik
Norfolk, VA
Aug 2, 2007

Midtown Manhattan

The Walcott Hotel is nestled in midtown Manhattan. Be prepared to go back in time and take in the early architecture when entering the lobby. The elevators are small, but it doesn?t take a long time for one to get to your floor. The rooms are perfect for having a place to sleep at night and spending the day in the city. The air conditioners worked, there?s hot water when you take a shower, and the beds are comfortable enough to make you fall asleep when your head hits the pillow. Room service does an excellent job keeping things in order while you?re out. Your pick of transportation (bus, trains, cabs) are just steps away. Macy?s, Times Square, Empire State Building on your itinerary? Walk there from the Walcott Hotel. Be adventurous and walk just a few blocks in any direction to find a favorite place to eat. I will definitely be going back to stay at the Walcott in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are neat hole in the wall shops all around the Walcott. Take the time to check them out!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sedrik
Norfolk, VA
Aug 2, 2007

Midtown Manhattan

The Walcott Hotel is nestled in midtown Manhattan. Be prepared to go back in time and take in the early architecture when entering the lobby. The elevators are small, but it doesn?t take a long time for one to get to your floor. The rooms are perfect for having a place to sleep at night and spending the day in the city. The air conditioners worked, there?s hot water when you take a shower, and the beds are comfortable enough to make you fall asleep when your head hits the pillow. Room service does an excellent job keeping things in order while you?re out. Your pick of transportation (bus, trains, cabs) are just steps away. Macy?s, Times Square, Empire State Building on your itinerary? Walk there from the Walcott Hotel. Be adventurous and walk just a few blocks in any direction to find a favorite place to eat. I will definitely be going back to stay at the Walcott in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are neat hole in the wall shops all around the Walcott. Take the time to check them out!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 31, 2007

Classic Old Hotel

I loved tha ambiance of this beautiful old hotel. The lobby was the wonderful Victorian decor. The gilted wood trim was beautiful. The hotel was old but updated and nice. The location was off 5th Avenue and quiet. The room had a separate bedroom from the livingroom. The TV was new. The towels were fluffy. The free coffee and muffins were a nice surprise every morning in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I thought the souvenir stores around the corner were reasonable! I got I Love N.Y. T Shirts for $1.

Back to menu Return to top