$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
360 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best mom
Birmingham England
Mar 15, 2013

My daughter Paige's 21st birthday treat

We arrived at the hotel and staff was very polite and welcoming, upgraded me and my daughter for free as she was 21 with a view of the Empire State from our room... Room was very clean with all that we needed.. Hotel lobby was amazing and we loved the stairs.. I have been to New York twice before and this was the best hotel I've stayed in... And will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family... Amazing stay and an amazing time as was close to all attractions.. Loved it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's... Empire State...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

hard as a rock

So the price was reasonable. And usually people put if you are only going to sleep there than it is a good value. This is not one of those hotels. Check in was excellent, they had our room ready before check in time. The problem comes when it is time for bed. The bed was so hard. The people I stayed with, we actually fought over who was going to get to sleep on the couch! After spending all day walking around the city a comfy bed is all I wanted. The room itself was nice and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The only other big problem I had was that they do not hold your luggage for you. They have a place, a locker, that you can pay for, but they do not hold your luggage like all the other hotels in NYC do. For the same price, and usually less, you can stay somewhere else that has a much more comfortable bed and they hold yoor luggage until you are ready to leave the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meditating on Margins
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2014

One Night In New York

I was only in NYC for a Saturday evening, and all I needed was a place to sleep. I prepaid for my room, so I wouldn't have a wait at check-in. When I checked in at 3pm, there was a line and a wait, even though there were 3 people on duty at the desk. After check-in, I went up to my room on the 6th floor and the hallway smelled like raw sewage. My room smelled fine, but the hallway was almost unbearable. The twin beds were something out of "Leave it to Beaver", so my 6'4" frame didn't get any rest that night. The toilet in the bathroom was so close to the wall, I had to sit on it almost sideways. The sink was like one in an army barracks; there was no room for any toiletries. Oh, and if you want ice or a vending machine, you have to take the elevator back to the lobby and descend stairs to the basement for the lone ice machine. ESPN didn't work on the tv. And they charge you $20 for 24 hours of internet. The sale price for this flop house was $130 for the night. I've stayed at a Motel 6 for $40 that was waaaaay better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retirees
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 7, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

Our days were spent sightseeing and touring. The hotel room was perfect for a nice shower and a quiet restful sleep and fresh coffee and muffins in the morning. Good value for the price and a very convenient location for walking to and from the many "got to see N.Y sights" and famous shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building, Time Square, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Grayline Hop on and off bus, Intrepid, Pier 38 Harbor Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
He who loves.
Business
Chilliwack, British Columbia
Aug 29, 2009

The location was nice!

I ate like a prince! the restaurants were good, and so were the wine lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Travel
Business
Prague
Nov 2, 2009

Adequate Hotel

An adequate hotel for 2-3 night stay on a budget. Very small rooms (even for NYC). English is a second language for nearly all staff. Very courteous staff. Beware the Wi-Fi charge despite the hotel claiming it is free. Free Wi-Fi signals not from the hotel were easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 14, 2009

decent location for decent price

We expected the room to be small, but we also were stuck with 2 twin beds, and the heater was very noisy at 4am! Bathroom was clean enough, concierge was helpful, and we were right off 5th avenue - easy to get a cab and close enough to walk to many different attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located between 5th and Avenue of the Americas, there is plenty of shopping within 10-15 minute walk. Easy walk to Empire State Building, Rockefeller Ctr, Times Square. 15-20 min walk to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kerem
Business
Turkey
May 28, 2010

A Fair Stay

The location of the hotel is very good. Rooms are quite old and small but hotel is overally fair. Complementary muffin service in the morning is also a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebs
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 29, 2010

Good value

The price was right for a hotel in Manhatten. Close to everything. Some rooms small and air conditioners could be improved (window). I traveled with two other couples. Our air conditioner was noisy but very effective. Other couples air conditioners were not effective and their rooms were smaller than ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One and one-half blocks from Empire State building. Must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WHAT ABOUT BOB
Business
Lakewood Township, NJ, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Old Hotel with Charm

Dated hotel was charming. That said, the room near the elevator is smaller than the other rooms on the floor. Bathroom sink was the tiniest I've ever seen; difficult to use. Water temp. in shower hard to control (either boiling hot or fridged cold.). Maids were friendly. Front desk staff never asked how my room was; seems they do not care. The breakfast was charming.......get there early to avoid the crowds. Hotel centrally located. Easy walk to everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some lovely shops that you can get some real bargins at. Just know your prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Male in Southeast PA
Business
Swarthmore, PA
Nov 16, 2011

Location, Location, Location

Old style hotel. Nicely maintained. Impressive and beautiful lobby. Room was very small but had high ceiling. Clean. Room was too warm so we slept with windows open which meant sirens and honking horns all night. Morning coffee and muffins in the lobby. However, served skim milk only for coffee, which made it undrinkable for us. What makes this hotel is its location. In midtown, off 5th Avenue, between the Empire State and Flatiron buildings. Not a bad experience but not good enough to seek this hotel specifically next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Prague, 2 W 19th St just off 5th Avenue. Coffee and snacks, deliciously prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top