$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pusspuss
Cork, Ireland
Jan 23, 2013

You get what you pay for

I think anybody who would voice criticism about this hotel would be sadly lacking. If you want five star standard, then be prepared to pay five star rates. The hotel claims to be a 2 to 3 star and that is the standard it has set. In fact, in my opinion it is a 4 star standard. The foyer is impressive with old fashioned carpet complimenting the magnificent ceiling. The bedroom is small, but adequate. The bathroom is small, but again adequate. The bath is for bathing, not luxuriating in, in other words it is too small to lie within. The room is not sparkling clean, but is certainly acceptably clean. Travelling on my own, I felt safe in the hotel and the surrounding area. In fact I walked from Grand Central to the hotel at 11pm. on a Friday night. The two lifts are located directly beside reception, which gave me the feeling that nobody would have access to the lifts without being noticed. This helped me to feel secure. There are muffins and coffee/tea served in the foyer in the morning, for which there is no charge, so I certainly hope that nobody would have the nerve to be critical about any aspect of this service. There are two lifts, both are small, there is no dining room, the bedroom and bathroom are not big, but if you choose to stay in an inexpensive hotel, then you get inexpensive standards. I have stayed in other hotels in New York, one being THE LONDON HOTEL. Superb hotel with superbly high rates. You get what you pay for, please remember that. All in all, the Wolcott was superb value for New York and I most definitely would recommend it to anybody that isn't picky and silly about where they stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dewitt
Nov 12, 2008

Very,very clean

The rooms are very well maintained and extremely clean which was important to us. If you are a walker-we are-the location is fine. There is dining in the area, not in the hotel. We did not realize we would have a separate sitting room. Staff was very helpful in getting us to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is very near 5th Avenue and all the big stores.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apache Junction
Sep 16, 2008

Great location; clean and comfortable

The Wolcott Hotel is less than three blocks from the Empire State Building, and within easy walking distance of Times Square, Grand Central Station, and Central Park, with the inexpensive city bus and subway lines very nearby for travel greater distances. The hotel is charming, beautiful in an old-worldly style, clean and comfortable. The breakfast muffins and coffee/tea are a delighful way to start the day, with a chance to meet other guests from far-away places. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. When I developed an infection from a minor surgery I had before travelling, the desk clerk called a physician's assistant who makes house calls, and she was there to see me within an hour, after 10 pm on a Sunday night! I was able to obtain a prescription from an all night pharmacy and continue my tour uninterrupted the next day. The room was quite small, but adequate, and the bathroom was roomy and the beds comfortable. I would love to visit again some day soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the many attractions within easy walking distance, don't hesitate to use the inexpensive subway system and city buses, which run within a block or so of the hotel. They are fast and fun!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
May 13, 2007

great location with atmosphere

The Wolcott Hotel has one of those superb/beautiful lobbies that you can spend time in without pressure. It has a very classic feel to it and the hotel guests were quite diverse, with many languages spoken. If you're looking for a hotel, for entertainment, I cannot speak to that, but the location is excellent for seeing all of NYC and having a great place to relax after a long day. After one day I felt like a resident New Yorker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the Empire State Building and just off 5th Avenue. A few blocks to Grand Central Station for many choices for dining. Very accessable to subway & buses for short ride to Times Square, FAO Schwartz, and just about anywhere in Manhattan in under 20 minutes.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scunthorpe
Sep 7, 2008

Great Location

This was my first trip to New York and America in fact. The location was the definately brilliant, not too far from anything and the fact that you're only 2 blocks from the Empire State Building where everyone gives you bus pass tours etc was fantastic. The hotel was reasonably priced for what they offered you and the rooms were comfortable and much bigger than I thought. Ok the views wasn't fantastic it was a brick wall but its a city what do you expect?! The fact that Madison Square Garden, 5th Ave, Macy's are all with 5 mins walk from the Hotel was just brilliant. There were some great restaurants near the hotel again only 5 mins away if you were tired and didn't want to go as far as Times Square/Broadway for a meal out. Would definately stay there again and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 31, 2007

Classic Old Hotel

I loved tha ambiance of this beautiful old hotel. The lobby was the wonderful Victorian decor. The gilted wood trim was beautiful. The hotel was old but updated and nice. The location was off 5th Avenue and quiet. The room had a separate bedroom from the livingroom. The TV was new. The towels were fluffy. The free coffee and muffins were a nice surprise every morning in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I thought the souvenir stores around the corner were reasonable! I got I Love N.Y. T Shirts for $1.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Very beautiful lobby

The Wolcott Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel!! The staff was so friendly when we checked in (at 9:00 am) and was very gracious. The 2-twin bed room was clean and roomy. The location was perfect as it was the Empire State Building that we definitely wanted to experience on our short trip of only two days. I look forward to my next trip to NYC and will check into the availability of the Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 26, 2007

Good value hotel.

This hotel is very much like an old European hotel. It is in an okay neighborhood, a thirty minute or so walk to Times Square. The hotel staff was pleasant except for the woman behind the activities desk. No personality! The rooms are clean, with TV. I would recommend it for a family who is not going to spend much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 5, 2007

Good for the money

For the location and money, great deal! Staff was very friendly, rooms CLEAN!!! Needs some upkeep work. Some quarks with the building being so old, but no big deal. Only thing that frustrated me was that the concierge had only been in the country for 2 weeks. Why did they give her that job? So she couldn't help us. Very comfy though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We could see the Empire State Building from our room. Close to everything!!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kin
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

family friendly

The Hotel Wolcott was most notable for its elegant marble lobby where complimentary breakfast was served, which was convenient. The room was very large for three guests and was well-supplied. It was a close walk to Broadway and Bryant Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park and Times Square were just a few minutes away.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Close to all!

The hotel is centered perfectly to were you could walk or catch a taxi easily. it made a huge difference for me due to my disability and limited walking. The rooms were always clean thoroughly on a daily basis and the local delivery options were great! The size and closet/ storage space was perfect for our 7 day stay! I will be staying here on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Iatlian place 2 blocks down, Radisson cafe around the corner, and cute deli's everywhere.

Back to menu Return to top