$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meditating on Margins
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2014

One Night In New York

I was only in NYC for a Saturday evening, and all I needed was a place to sleep. I prepaid for my room, so I wouldn't have a wait at check-in. When I checked in at 3pm, there was a line and a wait, even though there were 3 people on duty at the desk. After check-in, I went up to my room on the 6th floor and the hallway smelled like raw sewage. My room smelled fine, but the hallway was almost unbearable. The twin beds were something out of "Leave it to Beaver", so my 6'4" frame didn't get any rest that night. The toilet in the bathroom was so close to the wall, I had to sit on it almost sideways. The sink was like one in an army barracks; there was no room for any toiletries. Oh, and if you want ice or a vending machine, you have to take the elevator back to the lobby and descend stairs to the basement for the lone ice machine. ESPN didn't work on the tv. And they charge you $20 for 24 hours of internet. The sale price for this flop house was $130 for the night. I've stayed at a Motel 6 for $40 that was waaaaay better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigmoose1981
Business
Albany ny
Nov 18, 2014

Nice location

Location was good but bed were small and room decor was outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PAcajun
Business
Allentown, PA
Oct 26, 2014

Nice but dated!

The Wolcott was very pleasant but dated. Staff were friendly and attentive! I found the room to be clean(although the bath tile could have used a bit more attention) which is always my main concern. Amenities were sparse but ok. In NYC, rooms are always on the small side - this was a suite so we had a small separate room as well. Had we not had that, it would have been too cramped. This was a quick one night stay and usually in NYC you dont spend a lot of time in your room anyway. Location was good(parking across the street - Pricey but close).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newly retirees
Business
Falls Church, VA
Oct 9, 2014

Short getaway

We didn't stay in our room that much. So much to do, so little time. Like our past trips to NYC, we only used the hotel to rest and shower between our excursions. We had 2 twin beds and a study with a day bed that we didn't use. The location is excellent to see NYC, within walking distance to major attractions and many many restaurants near by. Also it was very quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bread & Butter right across from the hotel. Got everything from grocery to sushi. We got fruits and yogurt to go on many occasions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
driftingtraveler
Business
Syracuse, New York
Sep 2, 2014

Great!

I booked this hotel because it was the cheapest on the list -- staying in NYC can be really really pricey. I actually really liked the room! It was clean, water pressure was good, and the bed was comfortable. It was a 5 minute walk away from the Empire State building and 5th Ave. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Historic Hotel
Business
Connecticut
Aug 28, 2014

Theater Lover

Our original room was quite small, but that was okay as we only needed a place to sleep. However, the non-smoking room but smelled like old smoke. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and were given another room that was twice the size of the first one and was updated. The location was excellent but we really missed having coffee either in room or lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Katie
Business
Bronx
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms!

My fiance and I stayed here for the weekend in order to be closer to Central Park for a big training run. As always, I was nervous about the cleanliness of a budget hotel in the city, but this place was fantastic. Amenities were very minimal, but with such a great location who needs them in-house anyway. There is a 24-hour grocery just on the next corner, a wonderful wine and chocolate bar just across the street, and only blocks from nearly anything else you could want. Our room was spotless, the bathroom seems to have been recently refurbished, and everything down to the paint on the walls was either new or very well kept. Staff was super helpful and friendly, and asked us how our race went and chatted a bit upon seeing us return in running gear and all sweaty. I was so relieved and happy with this place I'm almost ready to cancel my marathon weekend hotel and book here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ayza wine and chocolate bar right across the street, great atmosphere, cozy and friendly, and yummmm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin miles
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 18, 2014

Good hotel

Stayed here for one night while in NY. It's a short walk from Penn Station. The room was nice. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avanti2
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 15, 2014

A good noght

I was in NYC on business. The hotel is a nicely renovated turn-of-the-century building, fully updated with an attractive, well-appointed lobby. Staff is properly attired, courteous and efficient. The room was small but comfortable. No complaints; I plan to stay here again when I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meiwan
Business
West Lafayette, IN
Aug 14, 2014

A goold location

The location is perfect, but the rooms are old with average service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top