$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry P.
Business
Chelsea
Dec 29, 2014

Son Visit

Great location and an interesting historic hotel. Rooms are a good size though dated in some areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidder
Business
Stoke- On- Trent, England.
Dec 7, 2014

Another WOW holiday in NYC

This is our fifth visit to New York and the second time we have stayed at the Wolcott Hotel. Recommend this hotel for its great location. Beautiful lobby area and good clean rooms. It is no more than a 3 star but does everything you should require. If we do go to NYC again we would definitely think of revisiting the Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick Tock diner at the New Yorker. Lovely retro American diner . Very good value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrsH
Business
Hastings, UK
Dec 3, 2014

Great Location

The location is great, walking distance of Time Square and the loads of shops! Empire State building round the corner, bus stop for sightseeing buses (definitely recommend). Muffins and coffee in the morning very nice. Love the original features of the old building but some parts a little shabby. We booked a junior suite, bed super comfy, room clean, BUT the wall paper was very green and overwhelming and we didn't realise we had booked a room with no view apart from a flat roof at the back. So the room seemed dark, however we were out most of the time. Had to pay for wifi, and not much TV channel choice. thought the concierge could have been a little bit more helpful New York is a great city though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a round trip bus tour to get your bearings of New York - its smaller than you realise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mew12
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 24, 2014

Great location

Within walking distance of Penn Station, Macys, Empire State Building and so much more. Hotel is quaint with beautiful detailing. Room was clean and comfortable, nice touch was complimentary coffee and muffins for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meditating on Margins
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2014

One Night In New York

I was only in NYC for a Saturday evening, and all I needed was a place to sleep. I prepaid for my room, so I wouldn't have a wait at check-in. When I checked in at 3pm, there was a line and a wait, even though there were 3 people on duty at the desk. After check-in, I went up to my room on the 6th floor and the hallway smelled like raw sewage. My room smelled fine, but the hallway was almost unbearable. The twin beds were something out of "Leave it to Beaver", so my 6'4" frame didn't get any rest that night. The toilet in the bathroom was so close to the wall, I had to sit on it almost sideways. The sink was like one in an army barracks; there was no room for any toiletries. Oh, and if you want ice or a vending machine, you have to take the elevator back to the lobby and descend stairs to the basement for the lone ice machine. ESPN didn't work on the tv. And they charge you $20 for 24 hours of internet. The sale price for this flop house was $130 for the night. I've stayed at a Motel 6 for $40 that was waaaaay better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigmoose1981
Business
Albany ny
Nov 18, 2014

Nice location

Location was good but bed were small and room decor was outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bhell c
Business
scotland
Nov 17, 2014

second time here

Second time at the wolcott and will definetly be back next year !! Spotless rooms and comfy beds .great location for buses and subway and also tour buses. Have stayed at 2 other midtown hotels and payed almost double the price .really cannot imagine staying anywhere else in new york.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Metro card cost $30 for a weeks unlimited bus and subway travel ,excellent value and the fastest way to get around. 34 th subway station is only 5 minutes away where you can reach just about anywhere in the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PAcajun
Business
Allentown, PA
Oct 26, 2014

Nice but dated!

The Wolcott was very pleasant but dated. Staff were friendly and attentive! I found the room to be clean(although the bath tile could have used a bit more attention) which is always my main concern. Amenities were sparse but ok. In NYC, rooms are always on the small side - this was a suite so we had a small separate room as well. Had we not had that, it would have been too cramped. This was a quick one night stay and usually in NYC you dont spend a lot of time in your room anyway. Location was good(parking across the street - Pricey but close).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newly retirees
Business
Falls Church, VA
Oct 9, 2014

Short getaway

We didn't stay in our room that much. So much to do, so little time. Like our past trips to NYC, we only used the hotel to rest and shower between our excursions. We had 2 twin beds and a study with a day bed that we didn't use. The location is excellent to see NYC, within walking distance to major attractions and many many restaurants near by. Also it was very quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bread & Butter right across from the hotel. Got everything from grocery to sushi. We got fruits and yogurt to go on many occasions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lady capone
Business
Colorado
Sep 29, 2014

great stay

Staff was friendly professional hotel was beautiful housekeeping was great wonderful hotel close to time square mostly everything. I would go bk to this hotel everytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top