$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
470 reviews
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Re mouse in lobby

On my last nights stay I was sitting in lobby at approx midnight when I noticed a mouse running... See full review

  • He sepoy
  • Jun 6, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqui jo
N Ireland
Dec 11, 2013

Great hotel in ideal location

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel in an excellent location midway between both downtown and Times Square and just round the corner from macys and penn station. It is also just two streets from the Empire State Building. Staff were all helpful and the room cleaned and towels changed daily. The muffins and coffee for breakfast were yummy too and saved us time in the mornings as they could be eaten in the large foyer en route out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of 5th ave shopping, Times Square and also macys.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exhausted NY Tourist
New Orleans, LA
Aug 12, 2012

Not your typical hotel

The hotel is in a great location. It's only 4 blocks away from the 4,5,6 Subway. And just 2 or 3 away from the Empire State Building. It was a good base ground for doing all those tourist things in New York, becasue it was right in the middle of it all. But the area was never loud. It was very clean, great maid service, and much bigger than I expected it to be. I stayed with two of my friends in a Junior suite (one queen bed and one single bed) and we were very comfortable. Also, the hotel is old and the lobby is beautiful. It's charming. My only complaint is that some of the staff members were a bit rude to us, but it seems like that's New York for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast mum
New York
Sep 6, 2012

August in New York

We had lovely stay at Wolcott Hotel, close to Empire State building and Times Square. We were surprised by free tea/coffee and lovely muffins every morning as weren't expecting breakfast. Lovely start to the day. Rooms were clean and staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of food stalls around Manhattan offering good value warm fast food.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdMex
Mex
Aug 16, 2013

Good Place in Great City

Great Place to stay, its an old one but it just what you pay for. Not the most kindest front desk, but a real good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spen
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 9, 2012

Good location

it locates at an excellent area! only about 10 mins walk to Empire state building. but no free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMWC
WI
Aug 11, 2012

Old World Charm; Modern World Amenities

Walking into the 1907 Rococo style lobby is an enchanting trip back in time! The host was gracious and informative. We had a junior suite, which served our needs well. It allowed one of us to nap in the bedroom while the other read or watched TV on the sofa bed in the small annex. The bedroom was spacious; the bathroom was compact! In fact, anyone severly overweight would not be able to fit between the sink and the wall to face the mirror over the sink. However, that being said, the modern shower was superb! The hot water came on immediately (we were on the 3rd floor) and the water pressure was strong and steady. The morning coffee and generous and tasty rolls were a nice way to start the day, along with complimentary New York Times to read in the lobby. Since we were close to major Avenues, it was relatively easy to hail a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chez Josephine has great ambiance (dedicated to Josephine Baker) and the food and service were excellent. (short drive) Chelsea Market has numerous great places for breakfast or lunch and is a fun place to explore and a good starting point for the High Line Park.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin
Nov 30, 2008

Great Location

The reason I picked the Wolcott Hotel was that I was there last year and in a great location. I wasn't as impressed with the room as I was last year. There was 3 adults in a junior suite. We were on 2nd floor, room very dark no daylight. The noise from the radiators was very noisy and loud compared to last year, we also had a coachroach in the bedroom which wasn't very pleasant. I found that the staff were'nt as friendly as last year, no hello's or good morning's. On the plus side the hotel provides free tea and muffins every morning and is within walking distance to all local attractions. If I was to stay here again I would try to get a room with a view at the front as the last 2 visits we were put in the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's just around the corner about 5 min walk

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Feb 24, 2009

Very nice stay!

Overall, we had a nice stay here. The rooms were kind of small here. The ac unit was also a problem at times. The hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelerluv
Berkeley, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Great bargain hotel!

We were apprehensive of what we would be getting for such a low rate in NYC in such a nice, central neighborhood. What a great surprise! It's a classy old hotel within walking distance to Penn Station and around the corner from the Empire State building. Lots of great walking, buses and subways very nearby. We don't do shopping, but if you do, the great Macy's is a couple of blocks away. It's a great location for long or short sightseeing walks all around. The hotel staff was very friendly and nice,and there's a workout room. It's quiet despite the location. The entire hotel is air conditioned (thank goodness!! It was almost 100 degrees when we were there!). Our room was very small,had no window view of anything at all, but this is NYC ...We were hungry when we arrived at 10pm and there was a great little restaurant right across the street. The hotel breakfast consists of muffins and coffee, that's it. Another nice convenience: lockers to rent for a mere 50cents! (Penn Station no longer has lockers.) Check out is 12:30, which is nice, but you can leave your luggage in the locker and go out sight seeing. We would definitely go back to the Hotel Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Though the view from the Empire State building is really great, as is the interior of the building, it is really, really crowded when you finally get to the top after waiting forever on a long line. It's so crowded on the observation deck that it kind of ruins the experience. I bet if you go really early in the am it's alot better...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washburn
Boston, MA
Apr 1, 2013

Week-end on the town

We thought this was good value. The staff was VERY accommodating and helpful. We liked the parking arrangement which did not cost an arm and a leg. Good muffins in the morning. And, yes, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top