$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunty Melvina
Single
new Zealand
Aug 17, 2013

an oasis of calm and Olde worlde charm

From the first moment I walked in the door I felt comfortable. Fantastic foyer, friendly helpful staff and on site information desk where you can book discounted shows and various sightseeing options. The room was lovely;spacious, clean and homely. No fridge or coffee machine however. But that is minor. Complimentary muffins and coffee served in the morning. Location top notch, right on 5th Avenue and close to many attractions and subway. Would thoroughly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Oct 7, 2007

would recommend it

The wolcott was definitly a good place to stay & i would definity recommend it to others. In Manhattan it can be pricey to find a clean room with your own bathroom. The wolcott was in a good neighborhood just blocks from time square. The hotel room was clean & the beds were very comfortable. I will be staying there again next time i go to New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the heart of manhattan, just blocks from Times Square.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St Thomas Island
Sep 20, 2007

Good value

the hotel has no bar or restaurant, but the room was nice with high ceilings, making it look larger. the bathroom was very large with agreat shower. The concierge could'nt have been more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building. two blocks Penn station, four blocks Grand central, eight blocks

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great Neighborhood

The room at The Wolcott was decent. It was in a great neighborhood. The room was large for NY but it was a bit dingey. The carpet was ripped in certain areas and the wallpaper was a bit dirty. Our overall experience was good we just wished the room had been a bit cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from the Empire State Building

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Wide Wibs
Friends
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2007

What a location

As someone once said you don't go to New York to sit in a hotel room. The Wolcott provides a great basis to explore New York, the location is excellent. They provided coffee and muffins in the lobby every morning. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially as we needed to check in at 3am. The room was clean and basic, but the price was very good for the location. This is a hotel for anyone that wants to go to New York and have a safe place to sleep, if your looking for luxuary best try spending more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire state building is a short walk from the hotel up 5th avenue and flat iron building is a 5 minute walk in the oppersite direction. If you want a good martini, jump in a taxi and head for the pegu club on 77 west houston street. Take the late circle line cruise at 7pm to see the city lights and then head to little italy for food.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Sep 1, 2007

Not the best choice

The rooms were very small. The air conditioner worked very poorly. The hallway had a very unpleasant oder. The housekeeper was pleasant, but she knocked on the door a few times while we were still in the room. The front desk staff was not very friendly and did not greet us nicely upon arrival. The complementary breakfast of muffins and coffee was tasty, although there were only a few places to sit. I understand that this was only a two-star hotel and that I should not have expected too much in the way of amenities. The problem is, that everything in NYC is overpriced, especially the hotels. It is impossible to get a good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire State building is not far away. The hotel borders on Fifth Avenue, but in order to get to the good shopping areas one has to walk 15-20 blocks or take a taxi.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

hard as a rock

So the price was reasonable. And usually people put if you are only going to sleep there than it is a good value. This is not one of those hotels. Check in was excellent, they had our room ready before check in time. The problem comes when it is time for bed. The bed was so hard. The people I stayed with, we actually fought over who was going to get to sleep on the couch! After spending all day walking around the city a comfy bed is all I wanted. The room itself was nice and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The only other big problem I had was that they do not hold your luggage for you. They have a place, a locker, that you can pay for, but they do not hold your luggage like all the other hotels in NYC do. For the same price, and usually less, you can stay somewhere else that has a much more comfortable bed and they hold yoor luggage until you are ready to leave the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Good jumping- off place if you can use pulic transport

To me the front lobby was worth a side trip just to see it. The staff was responsive to voiced needs, the room and furniture were small for the 6'3 and 6'7 guys with me but the hotel was good for access to public transit that got us everywhere we needed to go. The taxis were accessible and the dining within walking distance was quite good if you knew how to read a menue and judge the atmostphere by sight and smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian establishment a few blocks away. The food was very good, the wait staff very pleasant the atmosphere was quiet and we could talk with the staff cheerfully lowering the volumn of the music and we were not pressed to leave. We also found a couple small local places for breakfast with reasonable prices.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Very beautiful lobby

The Wolcott Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel!! The staff was so friendly when we checked in (at 9:00 am) and was very gracious. The 2-twin bed room was clean and roomy. The location was perfect as it was the Empire State Building that we definitely wanted to experience on our short trip of only two days. I look forward to my next trip to NYC and will check into the availability of the Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Good location; clean,comfortable suite

The Hotel Wolcott has a great location. It was clean neat, quiet and felt safe in the hotel. The suite had a very small front room with a confortable single bed, TV ,closet and nightstand and window AC unit. The bedroom was very large with a queen bed desk work area and conversation area with 2 chairs and a window AC unit as well as a closet.The bathroom was comfortable size and very clean with no counter space at all and not air conditioned-Opening the window was just fine. There was an iron provided in the closet and also the suitcase stand was handy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel at first seemed strange but readily got used to it. The location to so many things was the plus. The view from the rooms was Westside Story brick walls with rusted fire escapes but I rather liked the textural almost artsy feel of the view. I would stay at the Wolcott again. Walk to: Empire State Building, Macy's; Madison Square Garden; Pennsylvania Station; Union Square; Herald Square; Madison Square Park (dog park too); St. Francis of Assisi Chapel and Meditation Garden;lots of good restaurants, Subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top