$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RaySFO
San Francisco
Apr 23, 2013

Classic Hotel Find

The Wolcott Hotel is a delight. The staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean, bright and cheery, and its location is wonderful, only blocks from New York Penn Station, several restuarants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short cab ride from Broadway theatre district. Or, short walk to subway, or busses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

hard as a rock

So the price was reasonable. And usually people put if you are only going to sleep there than it is a good value. This is not one of those hotels. Check in was excellent, they had our room ready before check in time. The problem comes when it is time for bed. The bed was so hard. The people I stayed with, we actually fought over who was going to get to sleep on the couch! After spending all day walking around the city a comfy bed is all I wanted. The room itself was nice and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The only other big problem I had was that they do not hold your luggage for you. They have a place, a locker, that you can pay for, but they do not hold your luggage like all the other hotels in NYC do. For the same price, and usually less, you can stay somewhere else that has a much more comfortable bed and they hold yoor luggage until you are ready to leave the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Good jumping- off place if you can use pulic transport

To me the front lobby was worth a side trip just to see it. The staff was responsive to voiced needs, the room and furniture were small for the 6'3 and 6'7 guys with me but the hotel was good for access to public transit that got us everywhere we needed to go. The taxis were accessible and the dining within walking distance was quite good if you knew how to read a menue and judge the atmostphere by sight and smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian establishment a few blocks away. The food was very good, the wait staff very pleasant the atmosphere was quiet and we could talk with the staff cheerfully lowering the volumn of the music and we were not pressed to leave. We also found a couple small local places for breakfast with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Very beautiful lobby

The Wolcott Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel!! The staff was so friendly when we checked in (at 9:00 am) and was very gracious. The 2-twin bed room was clean and roomy. The location was perfect as it was the Empire State Building that we definitely wanted to experience on our short trip of only two days. I look forward to my next trip to NYC and will check into the availability of the Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Good location; clean,comfortable suite

The Hotel Wolcott has a great location. It was clean neat, quiet and felt safe in the hotel. The suite had a very small front room with a confortable single bed, TV ,closet and nightstand and window AC unit. The bedroom was very large with a queen bed desk work area and conversation area with 2 chairs and a window AC unit as well as a closet.The bathroom was comfortable size and very clean with no counter space at all and not air conditioned-Opening the window was just fine. There was an iron provided in the closet and also the suitcase stand was handy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel at first seemed strange but readily got used to it. The location to so many things was the plus. The view from the rooms was Westside Story brick walls with rusted fire escapes but I rather liked the textural almost artsy feel of the view. I would stay at the Wolcott again. Walk to: Empire State Building, Macy's; Madison Square Garden; Pennsylvania Station; Union Square; Herald Square; Madison Square Park (dog park too); St. Francis of Assisi Chapel and Meditation Garden;lots of good restaurants, Subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sedrik
Business
Norfolk, VA
Aug 2, 2007

Midtown Manhattan

The Walcott Hotel is nestled in midtown Manhattan. Be prepared to go back in time and take in the early architecture when entering the lobby. The elevators are small, but it doesn?t take a long time for one to get to your floor. The rooms are perfect for having a place to sleep at night and spending the day in the city. The air conditioners worked, there?s hot water when you take a shower, and the beds are comfortable enough to make you fall asleep when your head hits the pillow. Room service does an excellent job keeping things in order while you?re out. Your pick of transportation (bus, trains, cabs) are just steps away. Macy?s, Times Square, Empire State Building on your itinerary? Walk there from the Walcott Hotel. Be adventurous and walk just a few blocks in any direction to find a favorite place to eat. I will definitely be going back to stay at the Walcott in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are neat hole in the wall shops all around the Walcott. Take the time to check them out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 31, 2007

Classic Old Hotel

I loved tha ambiance of this beautiful old hotel. The lobby was the wonderful Victorian decor. The gilted wood trim was beautiful. The hotel was old but updated and nice. The location was off 5th Avenue and quiet. The room had a separate bedroom from the livingroom. The TV was new. The towels were fluffy. The free coffee and muffins were a nice surprise every morning in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I thought the souvenir stores around the corner were reasonable! I got I Love N.Y. T Shirts for $1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kin
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

family friendly

The Hotel Wolcott was most notable for its elegant marble lobby where complimentary breakfast was served, which was convenient. The room was very large for three guests and was well-supplied. It was a close walk to Broadway and Bryant Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park and Times Square were just a few minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 22, 2007

friendly

my husband was very dissatified where we are from a suite means a suite. This was a very confined room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was in a central place to the subway, food & Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Jul 20, 2007

Just to spend a nigth

The Wolcot has a excelent location, was comfortable but the rooms are to small for the price we pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The store next corner has a multiple options to eat, good taste.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 20, 2007

Great Location

The Wolcott Hotel was very conveniently located to sites of NYC. Shops were close, as were places to eat. Good neighborhood and explored at night safely. Room was laid out well for three adults (three single beds).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient to Empire State Bldg, Public Library and within walking distance to other main sites/subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top