$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best mom
Family
Birmingham England
Mar 15, 2013

My daughter Paige's 21st birthday treat

We arrived at the hotel and staff was very polite and welcoming, upgraded me and my daughter for free as she was 21 with a view of the Empire State from our room... Room was very clean with all that we needed.. Hotel lobby was amazing and we loved the stairs.. I have been to New York twice before and this was the best hotel I've stayed in... And will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family... Amazing stay and an amazing time as was close to all attractions.. Loved it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's... Empire State...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Close to all!

The hotel is centered perfectly to were you could walk or catch a taxi easily. it made a huge difference for me due to my disability and limited walking. The rooms were always clean thoroughly on a daily basis and the local delivery options were great! The size and closet/ storage space was perfect for our 7 day stay! I will be staying here on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Iatlian place 2 blocks down, Radisson cafe around the corner, and cute deli's everywhere.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 12, 2008

Good Tourist Hotel

While Hotel Wolcott provides a basic room in a good location, it is quite run down. The room I stayed in seemed clean but it, and the hotel, had an unpleasant smell hanging around. I would recommend Hotel Wolcott as a good value hotel, as it provided all the basic needs for a reasonable amount; however, please be aware that it is an very old hotel and is in much need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Penn Station, Madison Square and a LOT of good shopping - Aldo, Victoria's Secret, Express, Zara and more!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Oct 7, 2007

would recommend it

The wolcott was definitly a good place to stay & i would definity recommend it to others. In Manhattan it can be pricey to find a clean room with your own bathroom. The wolcott was in a good neighborhood just blocks from time square. The hotel room was clean & the beds were very comfortable. I will be staying there again next time i go to New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the heart of manhattan, just blocks from Times Square.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St Thomas Island
Sep 20, 2007

Good value

the hotel has no bar or restaurant, but the room was nice with high ceilings, making it look larger. the bathroom was very large with agreat shower. The concierge could'nt have been more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building. two blocks Penn station, four blocks Grand central, eight blocks

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great Neighborhood

The room at The Wolcott was decent. It was in a great neighborhood. The room was large for NY but it was a bit dingey. The carpet was ripped in certain areas and the wallpaper was a bit dirty. Our overall experience was good we just wished the room had been a bit cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from the Empire State Building

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Wide Wibs
Friends
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2007

What a location

As someone once said you don't go to New York to sit in a hotel room. The Wolcott provides a great basis to explore New York, the location is excellent. They provided coffee and muffins in the lobby every morning. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, especially as we needed to check in at 3am. The room was clean and basic, but the price was very good for the location. This is a hotel for anyone that wants to go to New York and have a safe place to sleep, if your looking for luxuary best try spending more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire state building is a short walk from the hotel up 5th avenue and flat iron building is a 5 minute walk in the oppersite direction. If you want a good martini, jump in a taxi and head for the pegu club on 77 west houston street. Take the late circle line cruise at 7pm to see the city lights and then head to little italy for food.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Sep 1, 2007

Not the best choice

The rooms were very small. The air conditioner worked very poorly. The hallway had a very unpleasant oder. The housekeeper was pleasant, but she knocked on the door a few times while we were still in the room. The front desk staff was not very friendly and did not greet us nicely upon arrival. The complementary breakfast of muffins and coffee was tasty, although there were only a few places to sit. I understand that this was only a two-star hotel and that I should not have expected too much in the way of amenities. The problem is, that everything in NYC is overpriced, especially the hotels. It is impossible to get a good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire State building is not far away. The hotel borders on Fifth Avenue, but in order to get to the good shopping areas one has to walk 15-20 blocks or take a taxi.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2007

hard as a rock

So the price was reasonable. And usually people put if you are only going to sleep there than it is a good value. This is not one of those hotels. Check in was excellent, they had our room ready before check in time. The problem comes when it is time for bed. The bed was so hard. The people I stayed with, we actually fought over who was going to get to sleep on the couch! After spending all day walking around the city a comfy bed is all I wanted. The room itself was nice and the hotel lobby was beautiful. The only other big problem I had was that they do not hold your luggage for you. They have a place, a locker, that you can pay for, but they do not hold your luggage like all the other hotels in NYC do. For the same price, and usually less, you can stay somewhere else that has a much more comfortable bed and they hold yoor luggage until you are ready to leave the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Good jumping- off place if you can use pulic transport

To me the front lobby was worth a side trip just to see it. The staff was responsive to voiced needs, the room and furniture were small for the 6'3 and 6'7 guys with me but the hotel was good for access to public transit that got us everywhere we needed to go. The taxis were accessible and the dining within walking distance was quite good if you knew how to read a menue and judge the atmostphere by sight and smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Italian establishment a few blocks away. The food was very good, the wait staff very pleasant the atmosphere was quiet and we could talk with the staff cheerfully lowering the volumn of the music and we were not pressed to leave. We also found a couple small local places for breakfast with reasonable prices.

Back to menu Return to top