Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
617 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (617)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
617 out of 617
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scunthorpe
Sep 7, 2008

Great Location

This was my first trip to New York and America in fact. The location was the definately brilliant, not too far from anything and the fact that you're only 2 blocks from the Empire State Building where everyone gives you bus pass tours etc was fantastic. The hotel was reasonably priced for what they offered you and the rooms were comfortable and much bigger than I thought. Ok the views wasn't fantastic it was a brick wall but its a city what do you expect?! The fact that Madison Square Garden, 5th Ave, Macy's are all with 5 mins walk from the Hotel was just brilliant. There were some great restaurants near the hotel again only 5 mins away if you were tired and didn't want to go as far as Times Square/Broadway for a meal out. Would definately stay there again and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 3, 2008

Hotel staff just didn't care...

I was in NYC for the US Open and chose the Wolcott Hotel because of its close proximity to Penn Station. I stayed there for 4 days, 3 days too many. Upon arrival, the staff clearly didn't care to help you with anything. It wasn't so much that they were unfriendly, but more, they just didn't care about you or providing you with a good stay. I asked for directions and was given a map only, nothing verbal. I asked for 2 wake up calls and didn't get either one. When asked what happened, the desk person just shrugged his shoulders. Our room was not ready by 3pm, time of check in, and they made me feel like it was my fault for staying at the hotel. How dare I choose the Wolcott Hotel. Well, I won't be staying there every again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Great for the cost

The Wolcott was great for the price. Jr Suite had a nice separate bedroom with TV, and living area had sofa couch, TV, and desk. A lot more room for less than what you would expect for a New York hotel. Great location. Walking distance to Times Square and a block from the subway. Coffee and Muffins in the lobby every morning. Another thing you don't see too much in New York. It's not a luxury hotel, but if on a budge, I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, restaurants, shopping, Empire State building all within walking distance.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lutherville, MD
Aug 5, 2008

Decent value for the money

The Wolcott Hotel is a good value for the money when one considers that this is New York. The bathroom was very clean and in very good condition. The beds were reasonably comfortable. While the hotel did not offer any restaurant or shop amenities, they were very nearby. The Empire State Building is two blocks away, and shopping is three blocks. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Close to all!

The hotel is centered perfectly to were you could walk or catch a taxi easily. it made a huge difference for me due to my disability and limited walking. The rooms were always clean thoroughly on a daily basis and the local delivery options were great! The size and closet/ storage space was perfect for our 7 day stay! I will be staying here on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Iatlian place 2 blocks down, Radisson cafe around the corner, and cute deli's everywhere.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 12, 2008

Good Tourist Hotel

While Hotel Wolcott provides a basic room in a good location, it is quite run down. The room I stayed in seemed clean but it, and the hotel, had an unpleasant smell hanging around. I would recommend Hotel Wolcott as a good value hotel, as it provided all the basic needs for a reasonable amount; however, please be aware that it is an very old hotel and is in much need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Penn Station, Madison Square and a LOT of good shopping - Aldo, Victoria's Secret, Express, Zara and more!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 3, 2008

great old manhattan hotel

This hotel has wonderful ambience, super location, and is a real bargain compared to similar hotels close by. Would definately stay there again, and have no reservations about recommending it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Empire State Building and subway entrance. Lots of restaurants within a couple blocks

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 7, 2007

would recommend it

The wolcott was definitly a good place to stay & i would definity recommend it to others. In Manhattan it can be pricey to find a clean room with your own bathroom. The wolcott was in a good neighborhood just blocks from time square. The hotel room was clean & the beds were very comfortable. I will be staying there again next time i go to New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the heart of manhattan, just blocks from Times Square.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Thomas Island
Sep 20, 2007

Good value

the hotel has no bar or restaurant, but the room was nice with high ceilings, making it look larger. the bathroom was very large with agreat shower. The concierge could'nt have been more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building. two blocks Penn station, four blocks Grand central, eight blocks

Back to menu Return to top