$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nia wyn
Llanfairfechan
Jan 24, 2014

Great hotel to enjoy my special birthday

Fantastic location and the free coffee/tea and muffins are a lovely extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the New York pass, great to access all main attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love to Laugh
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Quiet, clean, comfortable

When in Manhattan, we're only in our room when we sleep and shower. Therefore, we want a clean, quiet, comfortable room. We got that at the Hotel Wolcott. It's a basic place with basic service. The only ding is that we had ordered a room fridge a week before we arrived, and they didn't have any available when we checked in. But it turned out we didn't need it anyway. If you want a romantic getaway, this isn't the place. But it met our purposes, and we'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe-trotting
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 19, 2009

Not so good...

We booked two rooms with two separate beds in both. Our rooms were located on the other side of two doors that went to a stair case. First; it was hard to get the luggage through the self-closing doors that opened up onto each other. Second; the rooms looked very dingy and so did the bathrooms. We don't think that they had been renovated like the ones we peeked into next to the elevator. We tried to change rooms, but there were none available. After a couple of nights in NYC, we left town. When we returned to NYC for one more night, we stayed at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarion, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Clean, convenient, economical

Convenient location for both activities in Midtown and easy subway access for lower Manhattan and Greenwich Village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurants just a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie in the city
Business
Utah
Aug 16, 2009

Great location for the price.

Even though the rooms are a little small, they are clean and the hotel staff are friendly. I do wish our room comes furnished with a small microwave and a fridge though. Overall, we're happy with the service and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a weekly pass for the subway. It takes you to most attractions in the city and it's well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie in the city
Business
Utah
Aug 16, 2009

Great location for the price.

Even though the rooms are a little small, they are clean and the hotel staff are friendly. I do wish our room comes furnished with a small microwave and a fridge though. Overall, we're happy with the service and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a weekly pass for the subway. It takes you to most attractions in the city and it's well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speed Racer Ann
Business
California and Maryland
Aug 15, 2009

hotel wolcott

Our room was ready before check in time so we were able to put our stuff in as soon as we arrived in new york. Our rooms were clean and the maid even folded an article of clothing she/he found on the floor. The staff was helpful with subway directions and looked things up for us. I liked how they gave us the options to change the sheets or not in order to preserve water. It was a very environment friendly option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a subway restraunt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speed Racer Ann
Business
California and Maryland
Aug 15, 2009

hotel wolcott

Our room was ready before check in time so we were able to put our stuff in as soon as we arrived in new york. Our rooms were clean and the maid even folded an article of clothing she/he found on the floor. The staff was helpful with subway directions and looked things up for us. I liked how they gave us the options to change the sheets or not in order to preserve water. It was a very environment friendly option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a subway restraunt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holland, mi
Aug 14, 2009

great value

walk out the front door and look up to see the empire state building. very convenient to all subways and major attractions. great value for the money. no restraunt but nice muffins and coffee in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

madison between 30 and 31st nice little italian restraunt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Rude clerk dampered my stay

I had to get up at 3:15 a.m. to make my 6:00 a.m. flight. When I arrived at the hotel around 10:15 a.m., I was eager to check in. The[...]hotel clerk was exceedingly rude. He told me there were no rooms and the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. I was very upset, for no review or Orbitz stated the check-in time was 3 p.m. I had to put my bags in a locker for 50 cents. I asked the [...]concierge for information, the rude clerk yells out she can't help you. Then, he must have felt remorse, he decides to help me with the locker.I had to kill a few hours. I came back at 12:30 and saw people checking in. I spoke to the other clerk, there was a room available, he was friendly, and told me about the breakfast that was available every day.I kept a do not disturb sign, and no one bothered me.I did speak to the general manager about the clerk, he apologized and agreed with me.The hotel is clean. Centrally located--near the subway, restaurants galore for every type of food tastes.I enjoyed my stay. However, they must be honest about the late check in time and need to have nice hotel clerks. There were many foreigners staying at the hotel, and they had people who could speak their language. All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 25, 2009

What a treasure!

Walking distance from Penn Station, the Wolcott lobby took us swiftly across the ocean to grand hotels of European cities. Gracious room, wonderful light (3 windows, beautifully dressed), lovely linens, pleasant staff, yummy Continental breakfast served in splendor, all in a most convenient location in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top