Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jo124
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2013

Perfect Hotel for Convenience

Needed a hotel near Penn Station. Reviews on this said rooms were small but the room was just right. bed comfortable, spacious bathroom with nice bath products. friendly staff. even offered continental breakfast which I did not know about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scunthorpe
Sep 7, 2008

Great Location

This was my first trip to New York and America in fact. The location was the definately brilliant, not too far from anything and the fact that you're only 2 blocks from the Empire State Building where everyone gives you bus pass tours etc was fantastic. The hotel was reasonably priced for what they offered you and the rooms were comfortable and much bigger than I thought. Ok the views wasn't fantastic it was a brick wall but its a city what do you expect?! The fact that Madison Square Garden, 5th Ave, Macy's are all with 5 mins walk from the Hotel was just brilliant. There were some great restaurants near the hotel again only 5 mins away if you were tired and didn't want to go as far as Times Square/Broadway for a meal out. Would definately stay there again and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2008

Hotel staff just didn't care...

I was in NYC for the US Open and chose the Wolcott Hotel because of its close proximity to Penn Station. I stayed there for 4 days, 3 days too many. Upon arrival, the staff clearly didn't care to help you with anything. It wasn't so much that they were unfriendly, but more, they just didn't care about you or providing you with a good stay. I asked for directions and was given a map only, nothing verbal. I asked for 2 wake up calls and didn't get either one. When asked what happened, the desk person just shrugged his shoulders. Our room was not ready by 3pm, time of check in, and they made me feel like it was my fault for staying at the hotel. How dare I choose the Wolcott Hotel. Well, I won't be staying there every again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Great for the cost

The Wolcott was great for the price. Jr Suite had a nice separate bedroom with TV, and living area had sofa couch, TV, and desk. A lot more room for less than what you would expect for a New York hotel. Great location. Walking distance to Times Square and a block from the subway. Coffee and Muffins in the lobby every morning. Another thing you don't see too much in New York. It's not a luxury hotel, but if on a budge, I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, restaurants, shopping, Empire State building all within walking distance.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lutherville, MD
Aug 5, 2008

Decent value for the money

The Wolcott Hotel is a good value for the money when one considers that this is New York. The bathroom was very clean and in very good condition. The beds were reasonably comfortable. While the hotel did not offer any restaurant or shop amenities, they were very nearby. The Empire State Building is two blocks away, and shopping is three blocks. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Close to all!

The hotel is centered perfectly to were you could walk or catch a taxi easily. it made a huge difference for me due to my disability and limited walking. The rooms were always clean thoroughly on a daily basis and the local delivery options were great! The size and closet/ storage space was perfect for our 7 day stay! I will be staying here on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Iatlian place 2 blocks down, Radisson cafe around the corner, and cute deli's everywhere.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 12, 2008

Good Tourist Hotel

While Hotel Wolcott provides a basic room in a good location, it is quite run down. The room I stayed in seemed clean but it, and the hotel, had an unpleasant smell hanging around. I would recommend Hotel Wolcott as a good value hotel, as it provided all the basic needs for a reasonable amount; however, please be aware that it is an very old hotel and is in much need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Penn Station, Madison Square and a LOT of good shopping - Aldo, Victoria's Secret, Express, Zara and more!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 7, 2007

would recommend it

The wolcott was definitly a good place to stay & i would definity recommend it to others. In Manhattan it can be pricey to find a clean room with your own bathroom. The wolcott was in a good neighborhood just blocks from time square. The hotel room was clean & the beds were very comfortable. I will be staying there again next time i go to New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the heart of manhattan, just blocks from Times Square.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Thomas Island
Sep 20, 2007

Good value

the hotel has no bar or restaurant, but the room was nice with high ceilings, making it look larger. the bathroom was very large with agreat shower. The concierge could'nt have been more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building. two blocks Penn station, four blocks Grand central, eight blocks

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great Neighborhood

The room at The Wolcott was decent. It was in a great neighborhood. The room was large for NY but it was a bit dingey. The carpet was ripped in certain areas and the wallpaper was a bit dirty. Our overall experience was good we just wished the room had been a bit cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from the Empire State Building

Back to menu Return to top