$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lou50
Business
New York City
May 14, 2014

Great trip to NYC

The Wolcott lived up to the reviews! From the minute we walked into the beautiful foyer we felt welcomed. The staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The complimentary muffins and tea & coffee every morning were greatly appreciated. The room (a Queen suite) was clean and comfortable and met our needs completely. The location was Midtown and within wlaking distance of shops, subway and just round the corner was the Empire State Building (could even see it from the front of the hotel!) I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to people who prefer ambience to amenities, although it did have a small gym. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Most things within walking distance - wear comfortable shoes!! Would recommend cycling round Central Park - walking is pretty tough going!!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 7, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

After researching many different hotels online, I found the Wolcott Hotel to be the best fit with regard to price and location. I made reservations for a room with a queen-size bed, and I figured it would be a small and cramped room, considering it's NYC. Surprisingly, there was an actual living room, in addition to the bedroom. All together, there were two TVs, a desk, a sofa, two room air conditioners, and of course, the bed. The room was very clean and tidy. Additionally, the hotel provides muffins, tea, and coffee from 6:30-10:30 am, everyday. My only complaint has to do with the noise--from doors slamming in the middle of the night and the room air conditioners. The room air conditioners looked antiquated, and made a whole lot of noise without providing cool relief. Besides that, I would stay at the Wolcott again. It's reasonably priced, and the location is great...you can literally walk to the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
starwar mom
Business
san juan, Puerto Rico
Sep 21, 2010

great arquitecture

it was realy quiet.clean, friendly, great location,great arquitecture. it would been better if the breakfast was fresher and had more variety.overall i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block away from fifth avenue

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne Beach, FL
Jun 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Staff was very helpful. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great shower. Older a/c so might be hot in the heat of the summer but great hotel for the price. Would recommend and stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 5, 2009

Good Hotel but with a drawback

I chose to stay at the Wolcott because of the great price and location. The room was small, but housekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean and well stocked. We were only in the room to sleep, so the size wasn't really a factor. The biggest drawback to this hotel is that wireless internet is not free. The internet is $10 for 24 hours and there is a bit of a discount for multiple days of use. I might not have chosen this hotel if I had realized ahead of time that the internet was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk 8 blocks south on 5th Avenue to check out the Flatiron Building. Then have lunch in Madison Square Park at the Shake Shack. The burgers are excellent, I would say they are some of the best in the city.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rogerd
Business
Oslo, Norway
Jul 11, 2009

centrally located hotel

as a weekend hotel this is good for the price. No luxury but what you need for a weekend hotel. We had room in to the backyard which was quiet. Empire state is just around the corner and the Time Square is only 15-20 minutes walk so it is very central. We actually walked to the 5th avenue to central park in about 30 minutes. The fitness room is not big but there is some basic equiement available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 10, 2009

Great Breakfast

The room facing the backstreet is much quiet than the room facing 31st street. Ask the front dest give you the room in back. The free breakfast was great. The rooms are not sound insulation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of fast food within 2 blocks.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wedding Guest
Business
San Mateo, California
Sep 21, 2009

Location, Location, Location

Hotel is in a great location. Could walk to many of the top places in New York City. The staff was friendly but not instrusive. Rooms were very old but adequate. We used the day bed and the separate bedroom. It would of been more private had the bathroom not been attached to the separate bedroom and if there was a door to separate the "living room/daybed area" from the bedroom. But very reasonably priced for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 3, 2008

great old manhattan hotel

This hotel has wonderful ambience, super location, and is a real bargain compared to similar hotels close by. Would definately stay there again, and have no reservations about recommending it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Empire State Building and subway entrance. Lots of restaurants within a couple blocks

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
Jun 25, 2010

Greta Location for the Price

This hotel is in a great location. It is within walking distance to many New York attractions. The neighborhood felt safe even when walking home from the theatre late at night. The rooms were clean. Many of the staff were not very friendly but if you can get past that, it is a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top