$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
617 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (617)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
617 out of 617
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bintang Oka
Boston, ma
Dec 15, 2013

Couples getaway

Owh I really recommend this hotel to others and I'm going back to this hotel for sure coz naim the name of the staff who is helping me is very nice and helpful and the other staff to nice information while they give. I love this place. I would like to get a special price when I'm staying so I can stay any longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place for shopping sightseeing tour and a lot of activities you can do it and to know the area that you have never know. The price you pay the service you get

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarion, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Clean, convenient, economical

Convenient location for both activities in Midtown and easy subway access for lower Manhattan and Greenwich Village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurants just a block away

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg
Not Provided
Aug 17, 2009

Very handy hotel, great location

Very handy hotel, great location and we got rooms with views of Empire State Building. Rooms are small but for the price it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie in the city
Utah
Aug 16, 2009

Great location for the price.

Even though the rooms are a little small, they are clean and the hotel staff are friendly. I do wish our room comes furnished with a small microwave and a fridge though. Overall, we're happy with the service and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a weekly pass for the subway. It takes you to most attractions in the city and it's well worth the cost.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speed Racer Ann
California and Maryland
Aug 15, 2009

hotel wolcott

Our room was ready before check in time so we were able to put our stuff in as soon as we arrived in new york. Our rooms were clean and the maid even folded an article of clothing she/he found on the floor. The staff was helpful with subway directions and looked things up for us. I liked how they gave us the options to change the sheets or not in order to preserve water. It was a very environment friendly option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a subway restraunt.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
holland, mi
Aug 14, 2009

great value

walk out the front door and look up to see the empire state building. very convenient to all subways and major attractions. great value for the money. no restraunt but nice muffins and coffee in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

madison between 30 and 31st nice little italian restraunt

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Rude clerk dampered my stay

I had to get up at 3:15 a.m. to make my 6:00 a.m. flight. When I arrived at the hotel around 10:15 a.m., I was eager to check in. The[...]hotel clerk was exceedingly rude. He told me there were no rooms and the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. I was very upset, for no review or Orbitz stated the check-in time was 3 p.m. I had to put my bags in a locker for 50 cents. I asked the [...]concierge for information, the rude clerk yells out she can't help you. Then, he must have felt remorse, he decides to help me with the locker.I had to kill a few hours. I came back at 12:30 and saw people checking in. I spoke to the other clerk, there was a room available, he was friendly, and told me about the breakfast that was available every day.I kept a do not disturb sign, and no one bothered me.I did speak to the general manager about the clerk, he apologized and agreed with me.The hotel is clean. Centrally located--near the subway, restaurants galore for every type of food tastes.I enjoyed my stay. However, they must be honest about the late check in time and need to have nice hotel clerks. There were many foreigners staying at the hotel, and they had people who could speak their language. All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
Jul 25, 2009

What a treasure!

Walking distance from Penn Station, the Wolcott lobby took us swiftly across the ocean to grand hotels of European cities. Gracious room, wonderful light (3 windows, beautifully dressed), lovely linens, pleasant staff, yummy Continental breakfast served in splendor, all in a most convenient location in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
boulder CO
Jul 20, 2009

Good location for the price

I could visit the city, location is near the subway. The room was small and the air conditioning system very noisy. The staff was quite cold. Breakfast, 6/10. Good location, clean room and sufficient overall rate for the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbine, New Jersey
Jul 17, 2009

Great resonably priced hotel

The location is convenient, rooms were clean - bathroom spotless - pleasantly surprised actually, because the cost was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, Ont. Canada
Jul 13, 2009

Nice and cozy

Great rooms. Locations next to perfect. Loved the coffee and muffins. Would definitely book the Wolcott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure and walk up 5th ave. to Central Park.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search