$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jo124
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2013

Perfect Hotel for Convenience

Needed a hotel near Penn Station. Reviews on this said rooms were small but the room was just right. bed comfortable, spacious bathroom with nice bath products. friendly staff. even offered continental breakfast which I did not know about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regina-travel queen
Business
hallsboro nc
Nov 23, 2009

good

wonderful accomidations we shopped and went sight seeing. although the transportation to hotel and air port left something to be desired

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ameliajarz
Business
buffalo, new york
Nov 10, 2009

great trip

Try and request a room off the 31st street side. The trucks rolled through there all night friday night and kept us up until 3am. The next night was great and very quiet. Room was clean. staff was great. Dunkin Donuts accross the street. We would stay again. I liked that it was a half way point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Travel
Business
Prague
Nov 2, 2009

Adequate Hotel

An adequate hotel for 2-3 night stay on a budget. Very small rooms (even for NYC). English is a second language for nearly all staff. Very courteous staff. Beware the Wi-Fi charge despite the hotel claiming it is free. Free Wi-Fi signals not from the hotel were easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Travel
Business
Prague
Nov 2, 2009

Adequate Hotel

An adequate hotel for 2-3 night stay on a budget. Very small rooms (even for NYC). English is a second language for nearly all staff. Very courteous staff. Beware the Wi-Fi charge despite the hotel claiming it is free. Free Wi-Fi signals not from the hotel were easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Convenient location at the right price

Convenient location at an affordable price, not easy to find in NYC! Made this stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the excursion around the island for a new perspective of Manhattan!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, UK
Oct 31, 2009

Location, Location, Location....

I was in New York for a meeting and needed somewhere central at the last minute. This hotel is great. I was a female traveling alone and had my reservations about walking back to my hotel late at night. But this area is buzzing with tourists late into the evening, so that was never a problem. The hotel is fairly basic... but who go to New York to sit in a hotel room :) (p.s. the hotel does offer wi-fi at good rate)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Erm.... helpful hint, if you like a good french martini head for the pegu club at 77 West Houston St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pleased NYC Traveler
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2009

great location, great price, great stay

A decent hotel in NYC can cost a pretty penny, this hotel, on the other hand, was very well priced and exceded my expectations. The staff was very helpful. They allowed me to store my belongings safely before I was able to check in so that we did not miss our show. The room was very clean and the size was similar to a basic room at a Holiday Inn. I would aboslutely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 24, 2009

Great for the Price!

Were in New York just for the night for work event and just needed a place to stay. Didn't see much of hotel other than lobby and room, so I can't comment on that. Room was nice and was also quiet. Location is about 3 blocks from a metro station so very convenient to get around. Great value. It's not the Ritz, but for the price you can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baseballbabe
Business
Delta,B.C.Canada
Oct 13, 2009

We loved the hotel.

No Bell Boys but when the man at the desk realized that the room we had was not visible on the floor on which it was he immediately stepped out of the elevater and said "You'd never have found it and took us through several doors to get to it.It was delightful!! The only thing that went wrong was that the shuttle you had arranged to pick us up from LGR was not there and a VERY nice Van driver crowded us into his van and we got to the hotel.It was scary until he took pity on us-our first visit to New York and "what do we do now"His driving was incredibly good-why don't they have more accidents?-as a river of long standing,with no accidents, I was very impressed!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 5, 2009

Good Hotel but with a drawback

I chose to stay at the Wolcott because of the great price and location. The room was small, but housekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean and well stocked. We were only in the room to sleep, so the size wasn't really a factor. The biggest drawback to this hotel is that wireless internet is not free. The internet is $10 for 24 hours and there is a bit of a discount for multiple days of use. I might not have chosen this hotel if I had realized ahead of time that the internet was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk 8 blocks south on 5th Avenue to check out the Flatiron Building. Then have lunch in Madison Square Park at the Shake Shack. The burgers are excellent, I would say they are some of the best in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top