$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge MA
Apr 23, 2010

very fair deal

Excellent midtown location, easy walking distance from most places I needed to go. All subway lines just blocks away. Rooms were very quiet, unusual in NY. I was near the elevator and had the window open but there was almost no noise from either, or from the hall or adjoining rooms. Room and bathroom were small and a bit cramped, but given the price I don't think it's fair to complain about the lack of luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

terrific accessory stores right down the block on Broadway -- very inexpensive jewelry and tons of it.l

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc travel
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 22, 2010

forgetable

Room was tiny with no desk and a barely functional bathroom. Tub dripped all night, the fitness center was even more of a drip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBODS
Business
DFW
Apr 7, 2010

Nice Place to Stay in NYC

Great location- clean room and freindly, helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLAMLA
Business
Northern, MN
Dec 17, 2009

WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN!

This hotel was perfect for our stay in NYC. It is centrally located, only about a 7 minute walk to subway entrances, priced right, beautiful lobby and clean rooms. I marked noisy for things I didn't like only because the streets of NYC are very noisy at all hours and you definitely hear traffic noise. I bring a fan whenever I travel anyway, so it did help muffle noises. The bathroom we had was small, but definitely functional. There aren't many dining options near the hotel - a few Irish Pubs and a bunch of Korean restaurants. This hotel was better than I thought it might be - I wondered how it would really be but we were pleasantly surprised! Why pay more to stay somewhere else when you really aren't in your room much at all? I would stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If time is important to you - ALWAYS reserve tickets for things early in the morning. You will find less crowds and be able to get on with other activities. During the holidays, visit displays, trees, etc. during the week and avoid those areas on weekends.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 14, 2009

decent location for decent price

We expected the room to be small, but we also were stuck with 2 twin beds, and the heater was very noisy at 4am! Bathroom was clean enough, concierge was helpful, and we were right off 5th avenue - easy to get a cab and close enough to walk to many different attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located between 5th and Avenue of the Americas, there is plenty of shopping within 10-15 minute walk. Easy walk to Empire State Building, Rockefeller Ctr, Times Square. 15-20 min walk to Central Park.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple Dude
Business
Bethesda, MD
Dec 14, 2009

Got what I paid for

Great location. The outside is impressive as well as the overall appearance. The staff is helpful. The bathroom is a bit small as I was expecting from other reviews, but the soaps had to be replaced as they were already open. The TV was still an old CRT TV (which might be seen as positive in the context of the environment and not throwing it out, but it did not set the right tone for my girl). Oh, the lighting in the room was an eerie fluorescent blue that also did not set the right tone. Overall, it was cool how everything felt old-timey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to metro. Take it to watch a Broadway musical. The price is worth the great shows here. This has to be true if it's coming from a guy like me.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 14, 2009

decent location for decent price

We expected the room to be small, but we also were stuck with 2 twin beds, and the heater was very noisy at 4am! Bathroom was clean enough, concierge was helpful, and we were right off 5th avenue - easy to get a cab and close enough to walk to many different attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located between 5th and Avenue of the Americas, there is plenty of shopping within 10-15 minute walk. Easy walk to Empire State Building, Rockefeller Ctr, Times Square. 15-20 min walk to Central Park.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
springwell
Business
Liverpool England
Dec 10, 2009

Would recomend to everyone!!!!!!!!

within walking distance of attractions and shops. Staff were extreamly helpful. Room was spotless. No view at the back but extreamly quiet. Free breakfast was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent mexican resturant across the street, cheep jugs of cocktails till 7pm.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
springwell
Business
Liverpool England
Dec 10, 2009

Would recomend to everyone!!!!!!!!

within walking distance of attractions and shops. Staff were extreamly helpful. Room was spotless. No view at the back but extreamly quiet. Free breakfast was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent mexican resturant across the street, cheep jugs of cocktails till 7pm.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2009

Felt like a favorite little Paris hotel

I was looking for a small hotel with character, close to my client near the Empire State Building, shortwalking distance to shopping on 34th St., for around $200. The Wolcott Hotel fit the bill perfectly. While the room and bathroom were compact (more like Europe), my non-smoking room was clean and quiet, staff was courteous, and a continental breakfast was included. Not plush, but perfect for my needs. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just three blocks away up 5th Avenue, you hit excellent shopping all the way up 34th Street to the Macy's "mother ship".

Back to menu Return to top