$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
May 9, 2010

Great location

Great value and central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great vegetarian restaurant nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love to Laugh
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Quiet, clean, comfortable

When in Manhattan, we're only in our room when we sleep and shower. Therefore, we want a clean, quiet, comfortable room. We got that at the Hotel Wolcott. It's a basic place with basic service. The only ding is that we had ordered a room fridge a week before we arrived, and they didn't have any available when we checked in. But it turned out we didn't need it anyway. If you want a romantic getaway, this isn't the place. But it met our purposes, and we'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jun 19, 2009

Good Location

I wanted a place really just to sleep! I came for NYC, and all what it offered, so I looked for something not so expensive, safe, and good location. I found it all here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square 42nd and Broadway! And all the attractions, from Broadway shows, to Radio City, to dinner at Planet Hollywwod, or Hard Rock Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fashion Exec
Business
DE
May 8, 2009

Okay stay at fair price in large room

Solid NYC Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Froxgirl
Business
MA
May 15, 2010

Meh

I vastly prefer the Pod or Roger Smith.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 20, 2010

Great location

We were visting NY for two days and looking for an affordable hotel in a decent location. Wolcott is superbly located right in the heart of Manhattan, close to Empire State and Times Square. Also very close to the subway stations. But certainly not for those looking for a luxurious stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Rude clerk dampered my stay

I had to get up at 3:15 a.m. to make my 6:00 a.m. flight. When I arrived at the hotel around 10:15 a.m., I was eager to check in. The[...]hotel clerk was exceedingly rude. He told me there were no rooms and the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. I was very upset, for no review or Orbitz stated the check-in time was 3 p.m. I had to put my bags in a locker for 50 cents. I asked the [...]concierge for information, the rude clerk yells out she can't help you. Then, he must have felt remorse, he decides to help me with the locker.I had to kill a few hours. I came back at 12:30 and saw people checking in. I spoke to the other clerk, there was a room available, he was friendly, and told me about the breakfast that was available every day.I kept a do not disturb sign, and no one bothered me.I did speak to the general manager about the clerk, he apologized and agreed with me.The hotel is clean. Centrally located--near the subway, restaurants galore for every type of food tastes.I enjoyed my stay. However, they must be honest about the late check in time and need to have nice hotel clerks. There were many foreigners staying at the hotel, and they had people who could speak their language. All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple Dude
Business
Bethesda, MD
Dec 14, 2009

Got what I paid for

Great location. The outside is impressive as well as the overall appearance. The staff is helpful. The bathroom is a bit small as I was expecting from other reviews, but the soaps had to be replaced as they were already open. The TV was still an old CRT TV (which might be seen as positive in the context of the environment and not throwing it out, but it did not set the right tone for my girl). Oh, the lighting in the room was an eerie fluorescent blue that also did not set the right tone. Overall, it was cool how everything felt old-timey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to metro. Take it to watch a Broadway musical. The price is worth the great shows here. This has to be true if it's coming from a guy like me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boulder CO
Jul 20, 2009

Good location for the price

I could visit the city, location is near the subway. The room was small and the air conditioning system very noisy. The staff was quite cold. Breakfast, 6/10. Good location, clean room and sufficient overall rate for the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top