$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palakkattils
Business
Fremont,CA
Sep 21, 2009

Beautiful, wonderful hotel!

We had the most wonderful stay at this hotel. Great architecture....lovely building!!! Staff at the reception desk very helpful and upon request,gave us a room with a breathtaking view of the Empire State Building ! Room was very cozy....Three single beds...Two T.V sets....Muffins and coffee for breakfast.....And the best part was....ABSOLUTELY NO ....BEDBUGS !!!!!!!We would definitely stay there again....Palakkattil family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to major attractions....Good restaurants nearby...Time and money saver!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 7, 2009

Not the best, not the worst.

The good news is that it is walking distance to the Mid-town sights and theatre district. The bad news is that it is on the edge of a tougher neighborhood. It is a very old hotel, which has its charm, but its problems as well. Small rooms with very old bathrooms. The window AC unit was so loud it made normal conversation difficult. On the other hand, it drowned out street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is nice, go up the Empire State Building at night- really spectacular and only 2 short blocks from hotel.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikita
Business
London
Sep 4, 2009

Happy with the hotel

I was very happy with the service and extremely happy with the location - I think the hotel is value for money as it is based centrally but doesn't put your bank account on fire! My room was cleaned every day and I found the staff helpfull and polite. Maybe one thing - the hotel is aging a little bit but then again I would always stay there next time in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue with ESB, Times Square

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikita
Business
London
Sep 4, 2009

Happy with the hotel

I was very happy with the service and extremely happy with the location - I think the hotel is value for money as it is based centrally but doesn't put your bank account on fire! My room was cleaned every day and I found the staff helpfull and polite. Maybe one thing - the hotel is aging a little bit but then again I would always stay there next time in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue with ESB, Times Square

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love to Laugh
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Quiet, clean, comfortable

When in Manhattan, we're only in our room when we sleep and shower. Therefore, we want a clean, quiet, comfortable room. We got that at the Hotel Wolcott. It's a basic place with basic service. The only ding is that we had ordered a room fridge a week before we arrived, and they didn't have any available when we checked in. But it turned out we didn't need it anyway. If you want a romantic getaway, this isn't the place. But it met our purposes, and we'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe-trotting
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 19, 2009

Not so good...

We booked two rooms with two separate beds in both. Our rooms were located on the other side of two doors that went to a stair case. First; it was hard to get the luggage through the self-closing doors that opened up onto each other. Second; the rooms looked very dingy and so did the bathrooms. We don't think that they had been renovated like the ones we peeked into next to the elevator. We tried to change rooms, but there were none available. After a couple of nights in NYC, we left town. When we returned to NYC for one more night, we stayed at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarion, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Clean, convenient, economical

Convenient location for both activities in Midtown and easy subway access for lower Manhattan and Greenwich Village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurants just a block away

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holland, mi
Aug 14, 2009

great value

walk out the front door and look up to see the empire state building. very convenient to all subways and major attractions. great value for the money. no restraunt but nice muffins and coffee in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

madison between 30 and 31st nice little italian restraunt

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Rude clerk dampered my stay

I had to get up at 3:15 a.m. to make my 6:00 a.m. flight. When I arrived at the hotel around 10:15 a.m., I was eager to check in. The[...]hotel clerk was exceedingly rude. He told me there were no rooms and the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. I was very upset, for no review or Orbitz stated the check-in time was 3 p.m. I had to put my bags in a locker for 50 cents. I asked the [...]concierge for information, the rude clerk yells out she can't help you. Then, he must have felt remorse, he decides to help me with the locker.I had to kill a few hours. I came back at 12:30 and saw people checking in. I spoke to the other clerk, there was a room available, he was friendly, and told me about the breakfast that was available every day.I kept a do not disturb sign, and no one bothered me.I did speak to the general manager about the clerk, he apologized and agreed with me.The hotel is clean. Centrally located--near the subway, restaurants galore for every type of food tastes.I enjoyed my stay. However, they must be honest about the late check in time and need to have nice hotel clerks. There were many foreigners staying at the hotel, and they had people who could speak their language. All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 25, 2009

What a treasure!

Walking distance from Penn Station, the Wolcott lobby took us swiftly across the ocean to grand hotels of European cities. Gracious room, wonderful light (3 windows, beautifully dressed), lovely linens, pleasant staff, yummy Continental breakfast served in splendor, all in a most convenient location in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top