$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
472 reviews
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (472)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kerem
Turkey
May 28, 2010

A Fair Stay

The location of the hotel is very good. Rooms are quite old and small but hotel is overally fair. Complementary muffin service in the morning is also a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Rude clerk dampered my stay

I had to get up at 3:15 a.m. to make my 6:00 a.m. flight. When I arrived at the hotel around 10:15 a.m., I was eager to check in. The[...]hotel clerk was exceedingly rude. He told me there were no rooms and the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. I was very upset, for no review or Orbitz stated the check-in time was 3 p.m. I had to put my bags in a locker for 50 cents. I asked the [...]concierge for information, the rude clerk yells out she can't help you. Then, he must have felt remorse, he decides to help me with the locker.I had to kill a few hours. I came back at 12:30 and saw people checking in. I spoke to the other clerk, there was a room available, he was friendly, and told me about the breakfast that was available every day.I kept a do not disturb sign, and no one bothered me.I did speak to the general manager about the clerk, he apologized and agreed with me.The hotel is clean. Centrally located--near the subway, restaurants galore for every type of food tastes.I enjoyed my stay. However, they must be honest about the late check in time and need to have nice hotel clerks. There were many foreigners staying at the hotel, and they had people who could speak their language. All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan, KS
May 24, 2010

Great location but serious water problem

The water temperature in the shower is VERY dangerous as it goes from ice cold to scalding hot (without changing the setting) - hot enough to cause serious burns! The hot temperature could cause serious injury to someone unable to move out of the shower spray such as an elderly person or child. The hotel staff were less than receptive when we voiced our concerns. The bathroom sink is about the size of a sink in an airplane lavatory so it is very difficult to use without getting water everywhere. That said, this hotel is in a great location, it is clean and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A walking food tour of Greenwich village was a highlight and although it is a long walk from this hotel, we did it in about 30 minutes.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
May 30, 2010

Comfortable and a good value

This hotel is a good value for the money. You get a clean, comfortable room. After having no luck booking a moderately-priced NYC hotel for 3 people at the last minute (most hotels only offered 1 queen bed), I booked a triple room at the Wolcott with 3 twin beds (which was like a mini-suite), which was surprisingly roomy, especially when compared to the standard 2 double rooms in most NYC hotels. We were able to check in early and they offer good sized lockers to store bags after you check out for only 50 cents. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate for our needs. Some of the windows did not lock, which may be a safety issue on the lower floors. The hotel offered muffins and coffee in the morning; we found the muffins dry. The hotel is only a few blocks from the subway, close to the Empire State Building, and one block from Korea Town. The hotel offered discounted parking (saving 50%) at the parking garage on the next block. While here, we visited Chinatown, Soho, Herald Square and saw a Broadway show. This is the second time I have stayed at the Wolcott. It's not a fancy hotel and it doesn't have things like an in-house restaurant or bar (although there are many restaurants and bars within walking distance), pool, or lounge. But, for the traveler looking for a moderately priced room not too far from the action, this hotel is a great find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea Miami
Miami, FL
Jul 5, 2010

Great location in the heart of Manhattan

The hotel is located in the heart of manhattan, just a few steps from the Empire State Building and is conveniently located close to several subway stations. The room was nice and clean, however the bathroom was really too small!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Rude clerk dampered my stay

I had to get up at 3:15 a.m. to make my 6:00 a.m. flight. When I arrived at the hotel around 10:15 a.m., I was eager to check in. The[...]hotel clerk was exceedingly rude. He told me there were no rooms and the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. I was very upset, for no review or Orbitz stated the check-in time was 3 p.m. I had to put my bags in a locker for 50 cents. I asked the [...]concierge for information, the rude clerk yells out she can't help you. Then, he must have felt remorse, he decides to help me with the locker.I had to kill a few hours. I came back at 12:30 and saw people checking in. I spoke to the other clerk, there was a room available, he was friendly, and told me about the breakfast that was available every day.I kept a do not disturb sign, and no one bothered me.I did speak to the general manager about the clerk, he apologized and agreed with me.The hotel is clean. Centrally located--near the subway, restaurants galore for every type of food tastes.I enjoyed my stay. However, they must be honest about the late check in time and need to have nice hotel clerks. There were many foreigners staying at the hotel, and they had people who could speak their language. All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 28, 2008

Best bang for the buck!

Overall the Wolcott Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. Based on the prices of various name brand hotels around the area, I thought it was a great deal. I felt the room had adequate space and average comfort beds. The room did however have a roller coaster of a ride with the constant change in water temperature. Besides that, the room was average and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to popular shops on 5th Ave.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Male in Southeast PA
Swarthmore, PA
Nov 16, 2011

Location, Location, Location

Old style hotel. Nicely maintained. Impressive and beautiful lobby. Room was very small but had high ceiling. Clean. Room was too warm so we slept with windows open which meant sirens and honking horns all night. Morning coffee and muffins in the lobby. However, served skim milk only for coffee, which made it undrinkable for us. What makes this hotel is its location. In midtown, off 5th Avenue, between the Empire State and Flatiron buildings. Not a bad experience but not good enough to seek this hotel specifically next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Prague, 2 W 19th St just off 5th Avenue. Coffee and snacks, deliciously prepared.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palo Alto, CA
May 9, 2010

Great location

Great value and central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great vegetarian restaurant nearby.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple Dude
Bethesda, MD
Dec 14, 2009

Got what I paid for

Great location. The outside is impressive as well as the overall appearance. The staff is helpful. The bathroom is a bit small as I was expecting from other reviews, but the soaps had to be replaced as they were already open. The TV was still an old CRT TV (which might be seen as positive in the context of the environment and not throwing it out, but it did not set the right tone for my girl). Oh, the lighting in the room was an eerie fluorescent blue that also did not set the right tone. Overall, it was cool how everything felt old-timey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to metro. Take it to watch a Broadway musical. The price is worth the great shows here. This has to be true if it's coming from a guy like me.

Back to menu Return to top