$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
362 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trey72
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fashion Exec
Business
DE
May 8, 2009

Okay stay at fair price in large room

Solid NYC Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 24, 2009

Very nice stay!

Overall, we had a nice stay here. The rooms were kind of small here. The ac unit was also a problem at times. The hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs
Dec 7, 2008

Cozy European Style

The hotel was very clean and updated for the age of the building. Bathroom was very clean. The Junior suite was comfortable for three. There were televisions in main bedroom and extended daybed/frontroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Empire State Building, Macy's and Madison Square Garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin
Nov 30, 2008

Great Location

The reason I picked the Wolcott Hotel was that I was there last year and in a great location. I wasn't as impressed with the room as I was last year. There was 3 adults in a junior suite. We were on 2nd floor, room very dark no daylight. The noise from the radiators was very noisy and loud compared to last year, we also had a coachroach in the bedroom which wasn't very pleasant. I found that the staff were'nt as friendly as last year, no hello's or good morning's. On the plus side the hotel provides free tea and muffins every morning and is within walking distance to all local attractions. If I was to stay here again I would try to get a room with a view at the front as the last 2 visits we were put in the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's just around the corner about 5 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dewitt
Nov 12, 2008

Very,very clean

The rooms are very well maintained and extremely clean which was important to us. If you are a walker-we are-the location is fine. There is dining in the area, not in the hotel. We did not realize we would have a separate sitting room. Staff was very helpful in getting us to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is very near 5th Avenue and all the big stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 22, 2008

You can't go wrong!!

Unless you plan on spending your time in New York lounging around in your hotel, the Wolcott is your best choice!! Friendly and helpful staff, perfect location, clean and well maintained premises! You couldn't ask for more! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many choices within short walking distance. Easy access to subway very close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apache Junction
Sep 16, 2008

Great location; clean and comfortable

The Wolcott Hotel is less than three blocks from the Empire State Building, and within easy walking distance of Times Square, Grand Central Station, and Central Park, with the inexpensive city bus and subway lines very nearby for travel greater distances. The hotel is charming, beautiful in an old-worldly style, clean and comfortable. The breakfast muffins and coffee/tea are a delighful way to start the day, with a chance to meet other guests from far-away places. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. When I developed an infection from a minor surgery I had before travelling, the desk clerk called a physician's assistant who makes house calls, and she was there to see me within an hour, after 10 pm on a Sunday night! I was able to obtain a prescription from an all night pharmacy and continue my tour uninterrupted the next day. The room was quite small, but adequate, and the bathroom was roomy and the beds comfortable. I would love to visit again some day soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the many attractions within easy walking distance, don't hesitate to use the inexpensive subway system and city buses, which run within a block or so of the hotel. They are fast and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scunthorpe
Sep 7, 2008

Great Location

This was my first trip to New York and America in fact. The location was the definately brilliant, not too far from anything and the fact that you're only 2 blocks from the Empire State Building where everyone gives you bus pass tours etc was fantastic. The hotel was reasonably priced for what they offered you and the rooms were comfortable and much bigger than I thought. Ok the views wasn't fantastic it was a brick wall but its a city what do you expect?! The fact that Madison Square Garden, 5th Ave, Macy's are all with 5 mins walk from the Hotel was just brilliant. There were some great restaurants near the hotel again only 5 mins away if you were tired and didn't want to go as far as Times Square/Broadway for a meal out. Would definately stay there again and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2008

Hotel staff just didn't care...

I was in NYC for the US Open and chose the Wolcott Hotel because of its close proximity to Penn Station. I stayed there for 4 days, 3 days too many. Upon arrival, the staff clearly didn't care to help you with anything. It wasn't so much that they were unfriendly, but more, they just didn't care about you or providing you with a good stay. I asked for directions and was given a map only, nothing verbal. I asked for 2 wake up calls and didn't get either one. When asked what happened, the desk person just shrugged his shoulders. Our room was not ready by 3pm, time of check in, and they made me feel like it was my fault for staying at the hotel. How dare I choose the Wolcott Hotel. Well, I won't be staying there every again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Great for the cost

The Wolcott was great for the price. Jr Suite had a nice separate bedroom with TV, and living area had sofa couch, TV, and desk. A lot more room for less than what you would expect for a New York hotel. Great location. Walking distance to Times Square and a block from the subway. Coffee and Muffins in the lobby every morning. Another thing you don't see too much in New York. It's not a luxury hotel, but if on a budge, I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, restaurants, shopping, Empire State building all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top