$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandra and james
westmeath ireland
Mar 22, 2014

great hotel.great location.great price

The hotel was a very enjoyable stay.the bed was so comfortable to sleep in.quiet location but only mins away from all the hussle of 34th st and 10 mins from times sq.the tea and muffins were great every morning.only downside was no free wifi.would defo stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buba gumps in times square.excellent food and service not to be missed.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple Dude
Business
Bethesda, MD
Dec 14, 2009

Got what I paid for

Great location. The outside is impressive as well as the overall appearance. The staff is helpful. The bathroom is a bit small as I was expecting from other reviews, but the soaps had to be replaced as they were already open. The TV was still an old CRT TV (which might be seen as positive in the context of the environment and not throwing it out, but it did not set the right tone for my girl). Oh, the lighting in the room was an eerie fluorescent blue that also did not set the right tone. Overall, it was cool how everything felt old-timey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to metro. Take it to watch a Broadway musical. The price is worth the great shows here. This has to be true if it's coming from a guy like me.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
springwell
Business
Liverpool England
Dec 10, 2009

Would recomend to everyone!!!!!!!!

within walking distance of attractions and shops. Staff were extreamly helpful. Room was spotless. No view at the back but extreamly quiet. Free breakfast was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent mexican resturant across the street, cheep jugs of cocktails till 7pm.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
springwell
Business
Liverpool England
Dec 10, 2009

Would recomend to everyone!!!!!!!!

within walking distance of attractions and shops. Staff were extreamly helpful. Room was spotless. No view at the back but extreamly quiet. Free breakfast was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent mexican resturant across the street, cheep jugs of cocktails till 7pm.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2009

Felt like a favorite little Paris hotel

I was looking for a small hotel with character, close to my client near the Empire State Building, shortwalking distance to shopping on 34th St., for around $200. The Wolcott Hotel fit the bill perfectly. While the room and bathroom were compact (more like Europe), my non-smoking room was clean and quiet, staff was courteous, and a continental breakfast was included. Not plush, but perfect for my needs. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just three blocks away up 5th Avenue, you hit excellent shopping all the way up 34th Street to the Macy's "mother ship".

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regina-travel queen
Business
hallsboro nc
Nov 23, 2009

good

wonderful accomidations we shopped and went sight seeing. although the transportation to hotel and air port left something to be desired

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ameliajarz
Business
buffalo, new york
Nov 10, 2009

great trip

Try and request a room off the 31st street side. The trucks rolled through there all night friday night and kept us up until 3am. The next night was great and very quiet. Room was clean. staff was great. Dunkin Donuts accross the street. We would stay again. I liked that it was a half way point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Convenient location at the right price

Convenient location at an affordable price, not easy to find in NYC! Made this stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the excursion around the island for a new perspective of Manhattan!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, UK
Oct 31, 2009

Location, Location, Location....

I was in New York for a meeting and needed somewhere central at the last minute. This hotel is great. I was a female traveling alone and had my reservations about walking back to my hotel late at night. But this area is buzzing with tourists late into the evening, so that was never a problem. The hotel is fairly basic... but who go to New York to sit in a hotel room :) (p.s. the hotel does offer wi-fi at good rate)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Erm.... helpful hint, if you like a good french martini head for the pegu club at 77 West Houston St.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pleased NYC Traveler
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2009

great location, great price, great stay

A decent hotel in NYC can cost a pretty penny, this hotel, on the other hand, was very well priced and exceded my expectations. The staff was very helpful. They allowed me to store my belongings safely before I was able to check in so that we did not miss our show. The room was very clean and the size was similar to a basic room at a Holiday Inn. I would aboslutely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 24, 2009

Great for the Price!

Were in New York just for the night for work event and just needed a place to stay. Didn't see much of hotel other than lobby and room, so I can't comment on that. Room was nice and was also quiet. Location is about 3 blocks from a metro station so very convenient to get around. Great value. It's not the Ritz, but for the price you can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top