$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
433 out of 433
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schlaumeier
Business
Munich, Germany
May 13, 2010

Great place for the price

It is a great place to stay considering the price. Our room was small but very tidy. It is pretty central and it is easy to reach various subway stations. Good location for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Korea street (32nd street) with good asian restaurants is just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catmandoodoo
Business
NY, NY
May 12, 2010

"THE SHINING" IN REAL LIFE

My wife and I spent a night there after a concert in the city. Where do I begin? First, the guy at the reception desk was stoned-faced and kept minimum eye contact. Way to welcome your guests! The women were friendlier but seemed out of it. The room was cold, depressing with really thin blankets. In the early morn a weird noise emanating from somewhere woke us up along with the cold room temperature. The original molding on the ceiling was perhaps once beautiful but now it was covered with so many layers of paint that it looked like it was constructed by a mentally-challenged ape out of play-doh. The bathroom is big enough for two wheelchairs and there's a bench in the bathtub. My wife discovered that one of the wrapped soap was wet and used. The general vibe of this place is that of a retirement home. Definitely not recommended for anyone under 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
May 9, 2010

Great location

Great value and central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great vegetarian restaurant nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 7, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

After researching many different hotels online, I found the Wolcott Hotel to be the best fit with regard to price and location. I made reservations for a room with a queen-size bed, and I figured it would be a small and cramped room, considering it's NYC. Surprisingly, there was an actual living room, in addition to the bedroom. All together, there were two TVs, a desk, a sofa, two room air conditioners, and of course, the bed. The room was very clean and tidy. Additionally, the hotel provides muffins, tea, and coffee from 6:30-10:30 am, everyday. My only complaint has to do with the noise--from doors slamming in the middle of the night and the room air conditioners. The room air conditioners looked antiquated, and made a whole lot of noise without providing cool relief. Besides that, I would stay at the Wolcott again. It's reasonably priced, and the location is great...you can literally walk to the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
May 7, 2010

Not bad for the money

Small but nice ornate lobby, though the room felt like it was last updated in the 1940's. Still, it was clean, the bed was comfy and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 7, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

After researching many different hotels online, I found the Wolcott Hotel to be the best fit with regard to price and location. I made reservations for a room with a queen-size bed, and I figured it would be a small and cramped room, considering it's NYC. Surprisingly, there was an actual living room, in addition to the bedroom. All together, there were two TVs, a desk, a sofa, two room air conditioners, and of course, the bed. The room was very clean and tidy. Additionally, the hotel provides muffins, tea, and coffee from 6:30-10:30 am, everyday. My only complaint has to do with the noise--from doors slamming in the middle of the night and the room air conditioners. The room air conditioners looked antiquated, and made a whole lot of noise without providing cool relief. Besides that, I would stay at the Wolcott again. It's reasonably priced, and the location is great...you can literally walk to the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
May 3, 2010

Wolcott

Better breakfast aside from only muffins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Apr 26, 2010

Great place to stay when visiting NY

Great location with all required amenities for staying in New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, Pa
Apr 25, 2010

3 day stay at Hotel Wolcott

Quite a nice surprise. Great value for location, staff attention, size of room, comfort. Discount on parking was nice. Quiet location and safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Gotta have a drink at historic Sardi's in the theatre district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge MA
Apr 23, 2010

very fair deal

Excellent midtown location, easy walking distance from most places I needed to go. All subway lines just blocks away. Rooms were very quiet, unusual in NY. I was near the elevator and had the window open but there was almost no noise from either, or from the hall or adjoining rooms. Room and bathroom were small and a bit cramped, but given the price I don't think it's fair to complain about the lack of luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

terrific accessory stores right down the block on Broadway -- very inexpensive jewelry and tons of it.l

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top