$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
474 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (474)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
474 out of 474
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Good location; clean,comfortable suite

The Hotel Wolcott has a great location. It was clean neat, quiet and felt safe in the hotel. The suite had a very small front room with a confortable single bed, TV ,closet and nightstand and window AC unit. The bedroom was very large with a queen bed desk work area and conversation area with 2 chairs and a window AC unit as well as a closet.The bathroom was comfortable size and very clean with no counter space at all and not air conditioned-Opening the window was just fine. There was an iron provided in the closet and also the suitcase stand was handy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel at first seemed strange but readily got used to it. The location to so many things was the plus. The view from the rooms was Westside Story brick walls with rusted fire escapes but I rather liked the textural almost artsy feel of the view. I would stay at the Wolcott again. Walk to: Empire State Building, Macy's; Madison Square Garden; Pennsylvania Station; Union Square; Herald Square; Madison Square Park (dog park too); St. Francis of Assisi Chapel and Meditation Garden;lots of good restaurants, Subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbinmpls
Minneaspolis
Sep 26, 2011

Great NY Hotel

Located two blocks from the Empire State building and walking distance to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and even Central Park ( Hotel is about 1.5 miles south of the Park.) We even walked to Times Square! The Junior Suite was just like the pictures. Pleanty of space in the bathroom and clean. Bed was comfortable and air conditioners worked great. No problem with noise. Staff were very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Lion King completely lived up to expectations. The Wollcott is located about a mile away from Times Square- not too far to walk! No need for dinner reservation after the show on a weeknight- fantastic!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andysj
Aberdeen, Scotland
Nov 5, 2012

Sandy Visit in NYC

I don't normally write reviews but we enjoyed our stay at the hotel so much I just wanted to write a few words for anyone worried about staying at this "budget" hotel. We definately will be back next year. The beds are the comfiest I have ever slept on. The rooms are clean, well maintained and very comfortable and just perfect for a city break. The staff friendly and helpful and given the hurricance that hit during our visit, and no doubt concerns for their homes etc, professional and courteous. Nothing appeared to be a problem. Complimentary teas, coffees and stunning muffins were amazing and the concierge in the hotel made booking travel arrangement for our return to the airport effortless and stress free. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for some of the major attractions and sights and in closing I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Many thanks to all the staff, front desk and housekeeping who were there during our stay for making our holiday a fantastic time in what was a difficult week for them and the city as a whole. Andrew, Stuart and Callum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast just round the corner on W 32.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orrn
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 4, 2012

Good Value if you get the Right Room

Went to NY with my fiance for 4 days. We were satisfied with the Wolcott primarily, I think, b/c we were able to book a junior suite. The suite, while not large, was roomy enough for two people to occupy comfortably. Anything smaller would have tested our patience. The hotel room was clean and stayed clean, which is not always a given in NYC. The TVs in the room were from the early `90s, and only one of them actually worked (and about half the channels at that). Still, we didn´t end up spending much time in the room, and if you´re watching TV in your hotel room when NYC is in front of the door, you probably deserve a lousy TV from the `90s. Front desk personnel weren´t unfriendly and were helpful when given a request. Overall, a good experience in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarge´s Deli on 3rd Ave at 36th Street. Homemade pastrami or lox, fresh corned beef, and large portions. Great for breakfast or lunch.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Convenient location at the right price

Convenient location at an affordable price, not easy to find in NYC! Made this stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the excursion around the island for a new perspective of Manhattan!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, UK
Oct 31, 2009

Location, Location, Location....

I was in New York for a meeting and needed somewhere central at the last minute. This hotel is great. I was a female traveling alone and had my reservations about walking back to my hotel late at night. But this area is buzzing with tourists late into the evening, so that was never a problem. The hotel is fairly basic... but who go to New York to sit in a hotel room :) (p.s. the hotel does offer wi-fi at good rate)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Erm.... helpful hint, if you like a good french martini head for the pegu club at 77 West Houston St.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 14, 2009

NYC Graduation Trip

Great place to sleep. A little noisy. Great location. To a place to "relax", but who come to NYC to do that anyways?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ayza's

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish girls
Ireland
Mar 24, 2014

location, location, location

3 blocks from the empire state building and very close to Penn station which made exploring the city so simple and cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

"Bread and butter" located just over 5th ave for great value range for food and drinks 24/7. City pass is good value if you are ready to pack the sight seeing into a short time. We got a 3 day pass but its can be hard to fit enough to cover the cost price. The Century 21 store on Broadway and cortlandt st is great value for shopping in Manhattan

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellen0512
Detroit, Michigan
Sep 4, 2013

Inexpensive, good stay

This hotel is the perfect place to sleep, shower, and keep your clothes. It's clean, the staff is friendly, and it's conveniently located. We really enjoyed our stay here and would easily go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annielaura
West Midlands
Oct 11, 2012

Girlie weekend away

Great location, within walking distance of Times Square and Broadway. We had view of someones fire escape, but kept blinds closed and meant that we had no noise from traffic! Foyer is very impressive, rooms however are basic, but very clean and comfortable. Lovely clean towels everyday! Staff were very friendly and always ready to help. The muffins served in the foyer at breakfast time were delicious and lasted us through to lunch. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top