$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, Pa
Apr 25, 2010

3 day stay at Hotel Wolcott

Quite a nice surprise. Great value for location, staff attention, size of room, comfort. Discount on parking was nice. Quiet location and safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Gotta have a drink at historic Sardi's in the theatre district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Apr 26, 2010

Great place to stay when visiting NY

Great location with all required amenities for staying in New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffy D.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Excellent

The staff was friendly and helpful. Although it was an older hotel, their service wasn't bad at all. Our shower was a little bit jankie, but everything else was good. I love the location of the hotel, it's in the center of everything and I was able to cab everywhere under $7 from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little dutch girl
Business
The Netherlands
May 11, 2014

Great location, very central!

Our room was a perfect New York size room. Enough room to open a suitcase, and enough room to move around. The room was clean and the cleaning staff was friendly. The man at the front desk was friendly. The location is ideal to get around to all the popular sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ground zero /Memorial Currently you can go for free (donations highly recommended) to see the new "Twin Towers" and the memorial fountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joyfull traveler
Business
DC
Jun 23, 2014

very nice stay

I was in the city for conference, the hotel was perfect in any way, location, comfort and service. The only improvement would be free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulusLondinium
Business
London, UK
Jul 3, 2014

Good value basic hotel

My room was clean and spacious. Staff were courteous and the location great. Good air conditioning. Shame that wifi is not free. A mini fridge and some tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have made this perfect. That said this represents value for money and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good for Macy's and Bloomingdales

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanits
Business
Fairhaven, MA
Jul 15, 2014

3 NIght Stay

My daughter stayed at the Wolcott for 3 nights. She said the room was nice, clean but small. The only downside to the room was there wasnt a refrigerator. It was an inconvenience to constantly get ice to keep drinks cold and any food she brought back to room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrerra
Business
Virginia
Jul 21, 2014

Great value in NYC, right in the middle of everything

I was kind of skeptical about booking at this hotel, due to some reviews here and on other travel websites, but I just got to the conclusion that these people that rated the hotel terribly just have no idea of how NYC prices go, plain and simple. First of all, the hotel is in a GREAT location. If we hadn’t stayed at this hotel, the other option in the same price range would be all the way down Manhattan, in the financial district, so probably only with cab costs we would’ve spent our entire budget. Instead, from the hotel you can walk easily to Times Square, Empire State (is like next door to the hotel), and the area is surrounded by businesses – literary across the street there’s a Subway and a coffee shop, couple of businesses up on 5th avenue there’s a pizza place and a bunch of pharmacies, so we could buy stuff everyday back to the hotel. The hotel itself you can tell is old, but very well kept. The lobby is beautiful, the corridors look outdated but very clean and well kept, and the rooms are very clean. You do get an air conditioning unit (not central air), but that worked well for us, and the only “complain” I would have was about the shower curtain/bath space that was very small that the curtain would be touching you while you’re having a shower. Other than that, the hotel was GREAT. They even serve a little breakfast in the morning, with coffee, milk, tea and delicious muffins. In my opinion, if you want better than that in Manhattan on the same location, you gotta drop the money for it. But for the value, the Wolcott is the greatest deal we possibly have found and I’m definitely staying there again next time I’m in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State building is only 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Times Square is only couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin miles
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 18, 2014

Good hotel

Stayed here for one night while in NY. It's a short walk from Penn Station. The room was nice. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avanti2
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 15, 2014

A good noght

I was in NYC on business. The hotel is a nicely renovated turn-of-the-century building, fully updated with an attractive, well-appointed lobby. Staff is properly attired, courteous and efficient. The room was small but comfortable. No complaints; I plan to stay here again when I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top