$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 5, 2010

Great location for the price

We did not have the complimentary breakfast as it had unhealthy muffins. We would have prefered New York bagels. The room was very large for New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Jul 2, 2010

NYC

Good location and safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fashionably LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Did What It Needed To

My brother and I got the junior suite because we thought it would give us each a bit of private space, until we entered and realized that there was no door in between the two rooms and that you could see directly into the other person's room. Therefor it made dressing just a difficult as if we had shared 1 room. The walls are paper thin and my room was just off of the elevator so the children in the hallway were my alarm clock every morning. Then, when I needed to print my boarding pass at the end of the trip their computer ate my money and the very unfriendly staff finally showed me where the free computer was (that didn't work). When I needed a cab to the airport they kept pushing me to use this van, so I did. The van did not have working seat belts, was dirty, made way too many stops, had a very unsafe driver and blared very religious music at me the whole ride there. Overall, the hotel's location was in a good spot and provided a somewhat clean room and a bed to sleep in, but nothing more then a hostel does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCB
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2010

Very Nice Hotel in Great Location of NYC

My Overall experience staying at the Wolcott Hotel was great - didn't really stay in the room that much, though! The Hotel location was only a few blocks from NYC Penn Station, so you saved money from having to catch cab and could avoid lugging bags too much on the subway (with NO escalators and A/C). The Hotel itself was VERY CLEAN and NEAT with all the signs of being well-kept, with great scenery and artisics inside the Wolcott Hotel building. The carpets were clean, in-and-out of the rooms - which is important to me... Filthly carpet flooring creeps me out!! The bathroom wasn't that big, but it was clean and decent, and the towels were soft, plush and clean. The Bed and pillows (in a separate room with a TV) were comfortable as well; also, had mini sleeper sofa with TV in a separate room - which was nice, too!!! Great Hotel!! IT WAS NICE NOT HAVING TO LEAVE THE ROOM TO UTILIZE THE BATHROOM - DON'T CARE FOR SHARED-BATH HOTELS!!! I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend the Wolcott Hotel, and would stay there again - IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 34th and 7th Ave (Penn Sta.) subway. to catch the Red #1 train downtown to Clubs/discos, Dinining/restaurants, etc... Subway right only $2.25 each way, so you save money on Cab fares taking the subway - just gets a little HOT, since there is NO Air Condition - Only on the Actual Train Car.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebs
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 29, 2010

Good value

The price was right for a hotel in Manhatten. Close to everything. Some rooms small and air conditioners could be improved (window). I traveled with two other couples. Our air conditioner was noisy but very effective. Other couples air conditioners were not effective and their rooms were smaller than ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One and one-half blocks from Empire State building. Must see.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 29, 2010

In a pinch when you're pinching

When my first hotel didn't meet my expectations and I needed to move, I found this hotel. It was classic in its period style, the only complaint I had was that there was an odor in the hallways. Smelled like someone was cooking a bad meal.. The location and cost couldn't compare to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 29, 2010

Wolcott June 2010

Very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebs
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 29, 2010

Good value

The price was right for a hotel in Manhatten. Close to everything. Some rooms small and air conditioners could be improved (window). I traveled with two other couples. Our air conditioner was noisy but very effective. Other couples air conditioners were not effective and their rooms were smaller than ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One and one-half blocks from Empire State building. Must see.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
Jun 25, 2010

Greta Location for the Price

This hotel is in a great location. It is within walking distance to many New York attractions. The neighborhood felt safe even when walking home from the theatre late at night. The rooms were clean. Many of the staff were not very friendly but if you can get past that, it is a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jackndc
Business
washington, DC
Jun 25, 2010

dated but they block some cable news

I called this hotel to see if they carried FoxNews and they said they did so I made a reservation. When i checked in, they had blocked all but the local Fox broadcast station and when i asked about it, they said their management didn't want to carry non-liberal news so they blocked Foxnews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top