$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCB
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2010

Very Nice Hotel in Great Location of NYC

My Overall experience staying at the Wolcott Hotel was great - didn't really stay in the room that much, though! The Hotel location was only a few blocks from NYC Penn Station, so you saved money from having to catch cab and could avoid lugging bags too much on the subway (with NO escalators and A/C). The Hotel itself was VERY CLEAN and NEAT with all the signs of being well-kept, with great scenery and artisics inside the Wolcott Hotel building. The carpets were clean, in-and-out of the rooms - which is important to me... Filthly carpet flooring creeps me out!! The bathroom wasn't that big, but it was clean and decent, and the towels were soft, plush and clean. The Bed and pillows (in a separate room with a TV) were comfortable as well; also, had mini sleeper sofa with TV in a separate room - which was nice, too!!! Great Hotel!! IT WAS NICE NOT HAVING TO LEAVE THE ROOM TO UTILIZE THE BATHROOM - DON'T CARE FOR SHARED-BATH HOTELS!!! I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend the Wolcott Hotel, and would stay there again - IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 34th and 7th Ave (Penn Sta.) subway. to catch the Red #1 train downtown to Clubs/discos, Dinining/restaurants, etc... Subway right only $2.25 each way, so you save money on Cab fares taking the subway - just gets a little HOT, since there is NO Air Condition - Only on the Actual Train Car.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 29, 2010

In a pinch when you're pinching

When my first hotel didn't meet my expectations and I needed to move, I found this hotel. It was classic in its period style, the only complaint I had was that there was an odor in the hallways. Smelled like someone was cooking a bad meal.. The location and cost couldn't compare to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 29, 2010

Wolcott June 2010

Very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jackndc
Business
washington, DC
Jun 25, 2010

dated but they block some cable news

I called this hotel to see if they carried FoxNews and they said they did so I made a reservation. When i checked in, they had blocked all but the local Fox broadcast station and when i asked about it, they said their management didn't want to carry non-liberal news so they blocked Foxnews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollister, Fl
Jun 22, 2010

Loved it

Beautiful... Staff very friendly and helpful.. Highly recommend this Hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st timers
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 22, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was situated in a great location, within walking distance to Times Square, Macys, etc., PC Penney, eateries etc. Would have liked a microwave and fridge in room. Would definitely stay there again. Staff extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

A pleasant stroll to Times Square, Macys, Empire State, etc. Take comfortable walking shoes.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 20, 2010

Great location

We were visting NY for two days and looking for an affordable hotel in a decent location. Wolcott is superbly located right in the heart of Manhattan, close to Empire State and Times Square. Also very close to the subway stations. But certainly not for those looking for a luxurious stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highlandrose
Business
Glasgow
Jun 13, 2010

Great Location and great price

We visited New York for a girly weekend and this hotel is ideal for a base as it is just off 5th Avenue. Can't fault it really, there are more expensive hotels but we did'nt spend to much time in the room to much to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 13, 2010

It works~

Location was a block or so from the Empire State Building and a short mile from Times Square. The people working there were friendly and helpful...the only downfall was that our room was a corner (adorable and a suite for the price of a regular room) but one of our two doors (only one was used for entry/exit) was between two hallway doors that slammed open and shut....we turned up the AC to high and it pretty much drowned out the noise (otherwise we'd have requested a change). The continental breakfast was a nice surprise too. We'd stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is only 1.5 blocks away! It was a good location~

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highlandrose
Business
Glasgow
Jun 13, 2010

Great Location and great price

We visited New York for a girly weekend and this hotel is ideal for a base as it is just off 5th Avenue. Can't fault it really, there are more expensive hotels but we did'nt spend to much time in the room to much to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top