$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrismd
Uk
Dec 8, 2013

Awesome central hotel

Stayed here from the 1st December for four nights. The location is perfect. Smack bang in the middle of manhattan. Five min walk to The Empire State Building, Time Square and Macy's. Room was fine. Fantastic shower. Decor not easy on the eye but it added to the faded glamour. Only downside was a searingly hot radiator which whistled like a boiling kettle through the night. Also the room had a fabulous view of the Empire State Building and loved the addition of muffins and coffee for breakfast. Staff where great. Had a problem with wi fi which was switly felt with and ordered a cab for the journey back to JFK and was greeted by a white stretch limo playing Xmas songs for the same money. All in all a great little hotel in a perfect location. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
michael d.
Business
Melrose
Jan 14, 2015

OK Hotel - some amenities lacking

The Wolcott Hotel is a nice older hotel. We had a large room with three twin beds at the back of the hotel. It was quiet which was a nice surprise for NYC. The hotel offers coffee and muffins in the morning. One odd thing- they only offered skim milk with the coffee. Things I would have liked - coffee offered afternoon and evening. I would have liked free internet. I think it was a little expensive for what we got. That said, I would recommend it & would consider coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jameson C.
Business
Massena
Jan 14, 2015

Business Trip

Great for what I needed... I was a short walk from Penn Station , I had a layover and needed to be at the station early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher C.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

great experience

Grear service for affordable price...not far from different tourist attractions and many shopping and food areas accessible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Accessible to trains...low traffic area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
louie
Business
manchester england
Jan 9, 2015

Great hotel & Location

The Wolcott Hotel was fanatastic a few reasons. Firstly: Great location. me and my fiancé was suprised at just how many places were within walkable distances from the hotel. As the hotel was 3 minutes away from the empire state building, if you got lost you were able to use the empire state building as a go to. Secondly: The hotel was clean and tidy. Coffee and muffins every morning around 6:30 till 10am. The hotel staff left us to ourselves and eventually it felt like an apartment as it was so quiet. The shower was amazing and the bed was comfy. The hotel served it's purpose it wasn't ultra fancy nor was it shabby. We spent most of the day exploring and using it for a resting spot and for sleep. Really recommend the wolcott hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building if you go early in the morning you will miss the queue. Every wants a night picture try and get there just before dark. Usually queues around the block of up to 3 hours waiting times

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldies
Business
Ireland
Jan 9, 2015

Sight-seeing 'Oldies'

Had three nights to spend sight-seeing: ideal location beside the Empire State Building. Staff very helpful & room spacious & clean. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For 'Oldies' like us take the sight-seeing tour buses: even for just getting from one area to another.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynnet
Business
Leicestershire
Jan 2, 2015

Brilliant hotel

Don't listen to any negative reviews on this 'budget' hotel. The location is fantastic you step out the front entrance and have a glorious view of the Empire State building. Keep left and you will find a fantastic Irish bar great staff, drinks and food!! (One crossing then past car park). Beds so comfortable temperature in room and whole hotel just right, and quiet night (there was building work happening elsewhere by I didn't hear it! ) Staff on 24/7 and so helpful. Any problems ( I locked myself out of safe!!) instantly dealt with. Decor is fantastic everywhere immaculately clean. Coffee excellent and muffins set you up for a fantastic day in New York. On a previous visit stayed in Hyatt hotel which was amazing but pricey. If we are lucky enough to return to NY would choose Wolcott!! Don't twice book it. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irish bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry P.
Business
Chelsea
Dec 29, 2014

Son Visit

Great location and an interesting historic hotel. Rooms are a good size though dated in some areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidder
Business
Stoke- On- Trent, England.
Dec 7, 2014

Another WOW holiday in NYC

This is our fifth visit to New York and the second time we have stayed at the Wolcott Hotel. Recommend this hotel for its great location. Beautiful lobby area and good clean rooms. It is no more than a 3 star but does everything you should require. If we do go to NYC again we would definitely think of revisiting the Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick Tock diner at the New Yorker. Lovely retro American diner . Very good value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrsH
Business
Hastings, UK
Dec 3, 2014

Great Location

The location is great, walking distance of Time Square and the loads of shops! Empire State building round the corner, bus stop for sightseeing buses (definitely recommend). Muffins and coffee in the morning very nice. Love the original features of the old building but some parts a little shabby. We booked a junior suite, bed super comfy, room clean, BUT the wall paper was very green and overwhelming and we didn't realise we had booked a room with no view apart from a flat roof at the back. So the room seemed dark, however we were out most of the time. Had to pay for wifi, and not much TV channel choice. thought the concierge could have been a little bit more helpful New York is a great city though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a round trip bus tour to get your bearings of New York - its smaller than you realise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mew12
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 24, 2014

Great location

Within walking distance of Penn Station, Macys, Empire State Building and so much more. Hotel is quaint with beautiful detailing. Room was clean and comfortable, nice touch was complimentary coffee and muffins for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top