$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
378 reviews
Business Trip

Great for what I needed... I was a short walk from Penn Station , I had a layover and needed to be... See full review

  • Jameson C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
great experience

Grear service for affordable price...not far from different tourist attractions and many shopping... See full review

  • Christopher C.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffy D.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Excellent

The staff was friendly and helpful. Although it was an older hotel, their service wasn't bad at all. Our shower was a little bit jankie, but everything else was good. I love the location of the hotel, it's in the center of everything and I was able to cab everywhere under $7 from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little dutch girl
Business
The Netherlands
May 11, 2014

Great location, very central!

Our room was a perfect New York size room. Enough room to open a suitcase, and enough room to move around. The room was clean and the cleaning staff was friendly. The man at the front desk was friendly. The location is ideal to get around to all the popular sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ground zero /Memorial Currently you can go for free (donations highly recommended) to see the new "Twin Towers" and the memorial fountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, UK
Oct 31, 2009

Location, Location, Location....

I was in New York for a meeting and needed somewhere central at the last minute. This hotel is great. I was a female traveling alone and had my reservations about walking back to my hotel late at night. But this area is buzzing with tourists late into the evening, so that was never a problem. The hotel is fairly basic... but who go to New York to sit in a hotel room :) (p.s. the hotel does offer wi-fi at good rate)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Erm.... helpful hint, if you like a good french martini head for the pegu club at 77 West Houston St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Convenient location at the right price

Convenient location at an affordable price, not easy to find in NYC! Made this stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the excursion around the island for a new perspective of Manhattan!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLAMLA
Business
Northern, MN
Dec 17, 2009

WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN!

This hotel was perfect for our stay in NYC. It is centrally located, only about a 7 minute walk to subway entrances, priced right, beautiful lobby and clean rooms. I marked noisy for things I didn't like only because the streets of NYC are very noisy at all hours and you definitely hear traffic noise. I bring a fan whenever I travel anyway, so it did help muffle noises. The bathroom we had was small, but definitely functional. There aren't many dining options near the hotel - a few Irish Pubs and a bunch of Korean restaurants. This hotel was better than I thought it might be - I wondered how it would really be but we were pleasantly surprised! Why pay more to stay somewhere else when you really aren't in your room much at all? I would stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If time is important to you - ALWAYS reserve tickets for things early in the morning. You will find less crowds and be able to get on with other activities. During the holidays, visit displays, trees, etc. during the week and avoid those areas on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge MA
Apr 23, 2010

very fair deal

Excellent midtown location, easy walking distance from most places I needed to go. All subway lines just blocks away. Rooms were very quiet, unusual in NY. I was near the elevator and had the window open but there was almost no noise from either, or from the hall or adjoining rooms. Room and bathroom were small and a bit cramped, but given the price I don't think it's fair to complain about the lack of luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

terrific accessory stores right down the block on Broadway -- very inexpensive jewelry and tons of it.l

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 5, 2010

Great location for the price

We did not have the complimentary breakfast as it had unhealthy muffins. We would have prefered New York bagels. The room was very large for New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macsk
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 4, 2010

Nice hotel with great service

After reading some awful reviews about the state of the rooms and the service, I must say that I was a bit apprehensive about booking the hotel. But being on a budget, we could not pass on the special price of $115 for a junior suite (1 queen and 1 sofa-bed) in such a great location.The 3 of us arrived at the hotel at 7:00 a.m after a long bus ride from Toronto. We thought we could just leave our luggage somewhere in the hotel and then come back to check in later in the afternoon. To our surprise, the extremely helpful front desk person (thank you, [...]) let us check in. He even invited us to have some breakfast in the lobby. The suite was small but clean as was the bathroom. We did not expect anything fancy and therefore were not disappointed with it. We did not spend any time in the room except to take a shower and sleep anyway. The suite had a t.v in each room but I have no idea whether they worked because we never switched them on. It also had a rollaway bed under the sofa-bed (no mention of it in the room description). We did not find out until just before we left when we were checking under the beds to make sure we did not leave anything behind.I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone on a budget and needing a place close to the Penn Station. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2010

Nice room, good location

This was a vacation with my girlfriend. The location was great because it was 1 mile from Time Square, 3 blocks from Empire State building, 4 blocks from the Museum of Sex, and 3 blocks from a subway station entrance. It is located in the middel of Korean Town and next to a drug store (CVS). Due to the fact that it's not in Time Square, the price is much lower. Not all rooms come with a fridge, but you can request and see if you get lucky. Room cleaning is good and front desk respond fast too. It must be a NY thing, but the front desk person at night was not too friendly or talkative. He just gave one word answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a City Pass which will include tickets to Statue of Libery, Ellis Island, Empire State Building, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Metropolitan Museum (MET), Cloister Museum, Guggenheim Museum, a buy one get one free ticket to Manhattan Island boat tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCB
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2010

Very Nice Hotel in Great Location of NYC

My Overall experience staying at the Wolcott Hotel was great - didn't really stay in the room that much, though! The Hotel location was only a few blocks from NYC Penn Station, so you saved money from having to catch cab and could avoid lugging bags too much on the subway (with NO escalators and A/C). The Hotel itself was VERY CLEAN and NEAT with all the signs of being well-kept, with great scenery and artisics inside the Wolcott Hotel building. The carpets were clean, in-and-out of the rooms - which is important to me... Filthly carpet flooring creeps me out!! The bathroom wasn't that big, but it was clean and decent, and the towels were soft, plush and clean. The Bed and pillows (in a separate room with a TV) were comfortable as well; also, had mini sleeper sofa with TV in a separate room - which was nice, too!!! Great Hotel!! IT WAS NICE NOT HAVING TO LEAVE THE ROOM TO UTILIZE THE BATHROOM - DON'T CARE FOR SHARED-BATH HOTELS!!! I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend the Wolcott Hotel, and would stay there again - IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 34th and 7th Ave (Penn Sta.) subway. to catch the Red #1 train downtown to Clubs/discos, Dinining/restaurants, etc... Subway right only $2.25 each way, so you save money on Cab fares taking the subway - just gets a little HOT, since there is NO Air Condition - Only on the Actual Train Car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top