$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
362 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge MA
Apr 23, 2010

very fair deal

Excellent midtown location, easy walking distance from most places I needed to go. All subway lines just blocks away. Rooms were very quiet, unusual in NY. I was near the elevator and had the window open but there was almost no noise from either, or from the hall or adjoining rooms. Room and bathroom were small and a bit cramped, but given the price I don't think it's fair to complain about the lack of luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

terrific accessory stores right down the block on Broadway -- very inexpensive jewelry and tons of it.l

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 5, 2010

Great location for the price

We did not have the complimentary breakfast as it had unhealthy muffins. We would have prefered New York bagels. The room was very large for New York City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macsk
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 4, 2010

Nice hotel with great service

After reading some awful reviews about the state of the rooms and the service, I must say that I was a bit apprehensive about booking the hotel. But being on a budget, we could not pass on the special price of $115 for a junior suite (1 queen and 1 sofa-bed) in such a great location.The 3 of us arrived at the hotel at 7:00 a.m after a long bus ride from Toronto. We thought we could just leave our luggage somewhere in the hotel and then come back to check in later in the afternoon. To our surprise, the extremely helpful front desk person (thank you, [...]) let us check in. He even invited us to have some breakfast in the lobby. The suite was small but clean as was the bathroom. We did not expect anything fancy and therefore were not disappointed with it. We did not spend any time in the room except to take a shower and sleep anyway. The suite had a t.v in each room but I have no idea whether they worked because we never switched them on. It also had a rollaway bed under the sofa-bed (no mention of it in the room description). We did not find out until just before we left when we were checking under the beds to make sure we did not leave anything behind.I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone on a budget and needing a place close to the Penn Station. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2010

Nice room, good location

This was a vacation with my girlfriend. The location was great because it was 1 mile from Time Square, 3 blocks from Empire State building, 4 blocks from the Museum of Sex, and 3 blocks from a subway station entrance. It is located in the middel of Korean Town and next to a drug store (CVS). Due to the fact that it's not in Time Square, the price is much lower. Not all rooms come with a fridge, but you can request and see if you get lucky. Room cleaning is good and front desk respond fast too. It must be a NY thing, but the front desk person at night was not too friendly or talkative. He just gave one word answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a City Pass which will include tickets to Statue of Libery, Ellis Island, Empire State Building, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Metropolitan Museum (MET), Cloister Museum, Guggenheim Museum, a buy one get one free ticket to Manhattan Island boat tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCB
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2010

Very Nice Hotel in Great Location of NYC

My Overall experience staying at the Wolcott Hotel was great - didn't really stay in the room that much, though! The Hotel location was only a few blocks from NYC Penn Station, so you saved money from having to catch cab and could avoid lugging bags too much on the subway (with NO escalators and A/C). The Hotel itself was VERY CLEAN and NEAT with all the signs of being well-kept, with great scenery and artisics inside the Wolcott Hotel building. The carpets were clean, in-and-out of the rooms - which is important to me... Filthly carpet flooring creeps me out!! The bathroom wasn't that big, but it was clean and decent, and the towels were soft, plush and clean. The Bed and pillows (in a separate room with a TV) were comfortable as well; also, had mini sleeper sofa with TV in a separate room - which was nice, too!!! Great Hotel!! IT WAS NICE NOT HAVING TO LEAVE THE ROOM TO UTILIZE THE BATHROOM - DON'T CARE FOR SHARED-BATH HOTELS!!! I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend the Wolcott Hotel, and would stay there again - IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 34th and 7th Ave (Penn Sta.) subway. to catch the Red #1 train downtown to Clubs/discos, Dinining/restaurants, etc... Subway right only $2.25 each way, so you save money on Cab fares taking the subway - just gets a little HOT, since there is NO Air Condition - Only on the Actual Train Car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBODS
Business
DFW
Apr 7, 2010

Nice Place to Stay in NYC

Great location- clean room and freindly, helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Jul 2, 2010

NYC

Good location and safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Jul 20, 2007

Just to spend a nigth

The Wolcot has a excelent location, was comfortable but the rooms are to small for the price we pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The store next corner has a multiple options to eat, good taste.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great Neighborhood

The room at The Wolcott was decent. It was in a great neighborhood. The room was large for NY but it was a bit dingey. The carpet was ripped in certain areas and the wallpaper was a bit dirty. Our overall experience was good we just wished the room had been a bit cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from the Empire State Building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2007

Good deal for NYC

The Wolcott Hotel was a good deal and a great price. We were in the junior suite which had 2 rooms, 1 with a daybed which was perfect for our 5 year old daughter and a queen bed in the other room. The rooms were clean as well as the bathroom and the shower worked well. The carpet was quite worn but it appeared they are in the process of replacing the carpets. The staff was very friendly and allowed us an early check in. The location of the hotel is ideal being only blocks from a subway station and 2 blocks from the Empire State building. I would recommend this hotel for the budget consious family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's Department store is just a couple blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top