$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
433 out of 433
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HHHRC3
Business
Chicago
Mar 27, 2012

Make sure you don't get the handicap accessible room

Without being told ahead of time I was given a room with a handicap accessible bathtub/shower. It was very annoying to have to hold the shower nozzle that sprayed water while I was showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy in NYC
Business
Denver
Dec 10, 2012

Needs a freshining up

We reserved a non-smoking room, however, upon checkin were told that "non-smoking" was merely a REQUEST and not a given. We were placed in a smoking room and the lingering stale tobacco got to be just too much. We were then placed in another smoking room (they didn't have any non-smoking rooms available) which didn't smell as bad. Unfortunately at 6 am we smelled aweful, ethnic food odors wafting up the central air shaft and permeating our room. I went down to the front desk and was informed that not only were about half the floors in the hotel dedicated to smokers, but they also had permanent residents and it was likely one of them cooking. They did eventually change our room to a non-smoking room, facing 31st. Despite the significant street noise (we slept with the TV on) and the difficulty regulating the temperature in the room, we were so elated to have a room which was palatable. I would be hard pressed to stay there again tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stampede
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 6, 2012

Last resort

I'm a business traveller. stayed here to save money during the busy holiday rush when the typical room was 2X what I typically pay. Room was tiny, but clean. bathroom was almost too small to stand in, and I'm not a big guy. I was on the top floor, but the street sounds make it seem like I was on the 2nd floor. location is OK. near the subway but not walkable to mid-town offices. walkable to penn station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bizz Traveller
Business
Sweden
Dec 8, 2012

5.12.2012

Worn down hotel in small side road of 6thAve. Has certainly seen better times - maybe 70 years ago. Room micro small. Bath room at least warm water but sink was made for dwarfs. Heater in the room was a one hot iron piece from 1930's that started to make music with 10 knocks every 1 hour. Good night sleep guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
holiday travelor
Business
PA
Jan 18, 2013

quick stay in NYC

I was ready to take a shower after 13-hour-flight; however, I couldn't get hot water right away. it took for a couple of minutes. The location is very good but I won't stay it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World Travel Bug
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2013

Budget-friendly but missing key perks

Staff were nice and liked they offer coffee and muffins each morning. You cannot beat this location - it is perfect and allows you to walk everywhere. My disappointments were that the room was out of date and felt musty and old, there were crumbs in one corner of the room. Also didn't like that wifi is an extra charge when so many hotels in the same neighborhood offer for free. Surprised that upon checkout they don't keep your bags free of charge but instead you have to pay for a locker - first time I've ever seen this in any hotel. My room also faced inside so no nice view or natural light. Won't go back because I like my perks and for the same price I can get a much cleaner room with a nice city view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tinat
Business
herts uk
Mar 7, 2013

long weekend

Hotel in good location just round the corner from empire building and Macys. Hotel needs updating, But we had a good stay. we had a twin room which was a good size, but bathroom needs updating. Hotel ok for long weekend. I would stay again for long weekend but no longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spartacus
Business
Chester U.K
Jul 10, 2013

Weekend in New york

Hotel is ok. Rooms are gloomy. The Hotel over charge for everything. e.g $5 for 30min wi-fi conection. 50c for luggage locker very time you open the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wardys
Business
Surrey, UK
Oct 27, 2013

Girls 4 night break in NY

Good location to walk to most tourist places. Very nice muffins and coffee every morning. The room was very small and dated with old heating system which banged at night and got too hot. It couldn't be turned down so ended up sleeping with air con on in October! The staff at concierge desk were not at all friendly and would not put themselves out to give that extra piece of information. Would not choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellens Stardust Diner on Broadway. Highly recommend for fantastic entertainment while eating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2011

Definitely not modern

Had trouble finding the place due to all the scaffolding obscuring the front of the building. The lobby is really nice, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time there. The room was tiny, just slightly larger than the double bed in the room. Everything in the room... bed, carpet, furniture, curtains, wallpaper, was quite worn and shabby. The bathroom didn't look like it had been updated since at least the 1960s. For the price and the amount of time I was staying (1 night), it met my minimum requirements, but I doubt if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top