$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claus K.
Business
Dublin
Jul 9, 2015

Cheap budget stay

The Wolcott is an old style hotel with many interesting features. However since Miles Davis stayed here not much has changed. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit of renovation would be nice. Hot water in the bathrooms needs some 5 minutes to appear hot and the pipes are quite noisy. WIFI is not complimentary but $10 per 24h and if you want it for multiple devices you have to purchase for each device. Breakfast is not available at all but therefor free coffee and muffins are provided in the lobby from 6am. Staff was very friendly and provided a late-check-out for free and I could leave my luggage with them for another few hours before I had to take my the shuttle to the airport which could be booked for reasonable $30 in the reception. If you are not looking for a romantic weekend stay but rather for a budget hotel in midtown this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Famfun
Family
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Classic and beautiful look. Comfy. Delightful

The most beautiful hotel with a classic look. Devine. Staff were pleasant and courteous. My first choice hotel on my next trip into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dilia D.
Couples
N/A
Jul 7, 2015

Awesome weekend getaway

The hotel was quiet clean unique and perfect for someone on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kthom
Family
Philadelphia
Jul 7, 2015

Nice hotel in a great location!

I got this hotel for a deal and was a little concerned since I paid such a small amount but I couldn't of been happier when I arrived. I booked the twin bed room and it was spacious for New York standards. The room and the bathroom was spotless. The location is awesome! Close to Macy's, Empire State Building and loads of subway lines. The only thing I can really complain about is that the staff weren't super nice but they were helpful and that wouldn't deter me from staying there again. Lovely hotel and I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Single
basking ridge
Jul 7, 2015

High Value at Time Visited

Got very low rate on summer Fri night before July 4. Though not exciting location, safe and short walk to multiple subway lines. Within half mile walk to wide range of shopping, parks, entertainment etc. Few long blocks from Penn Sta. Walkable with luggage and beats long taxi lines or dragging luggage in and out of subways. Agree with others re: age but comfortable and there are some interesting room configurations - e.g. mini suite-type with trundle and queen bed in separate sleeping area, 2 TVs, 1 bath. Only ice machine requires elevator to lobby then walk down to sub level. Old ornate lobby fun to see and offers sofa and lounge chair seating. Newer low cost hotels often have minimal lobbies and no gathering space. Didn't pay to use internet (an irritant but just used cell phone). From hotel go south on 5th Av very short walk to EATALY. Very cool Italian marketplace with lots to sample.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie S.
Family
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Fantastic trip for my daughter grand-daughter and I

I have stayed at the Hotel Wolcott before so new it was very good. We had a triple room which was excellent for 3 adults (my grand-daughter is 18) It was very clean and had air-con. The bathroom was quite small but it wasn,t a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries. We were on the 10th floor looking out onto the street so the view was very good. Hotel very close to Broadway, Seventh Ave, so walking distance to Times Square, Macys and Empire States. My only 2 negative would be that there isn't any tea and coffee making facilities in the room although every morning in the Foyer they had coffee plus muffins for the guests. There is a Subway (Dunkin Doughnuts) nearly opposite the hotel which is ideal for breakfast. Also you have to pay for WiFi but Subway has it free. So I would recommend this hotel for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnnny G.
Friends
Kilrush
Jun 23, 2015

Great NYC trip

Lovely Hotel, beautifully kept. Room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff very efficient and helpful. The Wolcott is ideally located for train and subway stations and shopping etc. A great Manhattan Base. Would highly recommend and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michael b.
Friends
N/A
Jun 10, 2015

Good Hotel in centre of everything

Good Hotel at reasonable price with most amenities.Shop attached to Hotel poor though others nearby.Excellent breakfast/all day cafe 2 minutes walk away.Positioned conveniently for both subway and Fifth Avenue bus. Plenty of restaurants and bars within short walk.Staff friendly and accommodating.Busy street but asked and got quiet room on one of the higher floors.Could do with more ice machines only one on lower ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
natalie b.
Family
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

A brilliant hotel

The hotel met and exceeded my expectations- clean and comfortable plenty of muffins and coffee at breakfast- friendly helpful staff- they even took our baggage on the last day free of charge Perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chrisjohn
Couples
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

Good value great location

Stayed one night, got upgraded to a suite when we checked in. Clean comfortable rooms, although they are in need of upgrades. Overall a good stay and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top